We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Service lacking.”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #9 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This grand, old hotel is in a perfect location on the edge of the French Quarter. It's location makes it very convenient for walking around the Quarter and quiet enough for sleeping well at night. It is also home to the famous Carousel Bar.

Typical of hotels built in that era, though, the rooms and bathrooms are very small. Also, valet parking is a nightmare. We needed our car twice during our trip. Once it took 20 minutes, and the second time it took over a half hour. Also, The maids didn't get our rooms cleaned until almost 4 p.m., which was annoying since that was the time of day we wanted to come back to the hotel to freshen up for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MystoryAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks regarding parking and housekeeping are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,968 - 4,974 of 7,703 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

On a recent trip to New Orleans we decided to stay close to the French Quarter so we could walk everywhere, well the fabulous hotel was the perfect choice! This historic hotel is gorgeous, and the staff were very helpful giving us maps to get around. The carousel bar was a big treat, enjoyed our delicious drinks and meeting Marvin, also bought his awesome new book and had it autographed! Didn't get a chance to eat in the hotel restaurant, but heard we missed out, we'll catch it next time! We will certainly be back! Parking is no fun in New Orleans so you'll need to park your car in valet, parking is a little pricey but do it to save your sanity!

Room Tip: If you're flying into New Orleans just take a cab, the transportation is good and you can walk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank psmccants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you so much for all of your feedback. It sounds like you had the perfect trip! Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

5 star service throughout. Rooms are a bit small but designed well and decorated nicely. If at all possible, find somewhere else to park as the parking price is outrageous - but parking is a rare commodity in the French Quarter - so I wouldn't say it's a ripoff by any means. The roof top pool is fantastic - drinks were yummy and reasonably priced for a hotel. The hotel is in a great location - walking distance to all the French Quarter and Canal street attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tmsvan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate all your feedback and we hope to see you again soon in New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel was beautiful and comfortable, the staff was extraordinarily friendly and helpful, and the meeting rooms were comfortable with beautiful views. I loved the jazz band at The Carousel on Thurday evening, and the food at Criollo was excellent (try the turtle soup!) Very easy walk to Bourbon Street, and be sure to explore all the great little shops and boutiques in the vicinity.

Room Tip: I hear the 14th floor is haunted, and some of my fellow business travellers had some paranormal expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 509jenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

We are so glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the Turtle Soup at Criollo. It's one of our favorites too! We hope to see you again soon for another great stay in New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Carousel Bar & Lounge was a fun change of pace from Bourbon street noise and mess. Great bar with bartenders who can make a drink right. Time passes quickly at the carousel bar. go visit.Standard dress code for a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thanks for visiting us at the Carousel Bar & Lounge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel draws you back into the time of "Grand Hotels' of writers, and starlets, and evening rendezvous over great drinks in a perfect location - with food to live for and the murmuring undertones of New Orleans jazz it is the ultimate destination in the French Quarter. The pool side bar on the roof in the hazy, humid heat of a Lousiana August make you remember Old Havana - with Hemingway telling fishing stories over a Scotch and cigar - even though you've never been there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

We are so glad you have such fantastic memories with us! We would love to have you again soon for another great stay at our unforgettable hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel staff are VERY polite, professional, helpful, and always have a smile on their face! The restaurant (Criollo) staff are the Best in the business. They truly go out of their way to make sure you have the best dining experience possible. The food is out of this world amazing. I suggest the filet or the lamb. Both will make you melt the moment they touch your tongue! Ask for James for a server!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaSkipper564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and your meal at Criollo! Please come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,366 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,925 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,588 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,311 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £149 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing