We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I loved this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

The four of us in our party all enjoyed our stay at the Monteleone. The location was perfect as well as our stay. It was on a nice quiet street which I was pleased with since I did consider the Royal Sonesta, which would have been too noisy and dirty (on Bourbon Street). I have never had such speedy service when calling for someone to come to our room (to deliver a refriderator,complementary, for the bellman, etc). It must have been a 2 minute wait for everything. The bellman, Ken, was very attentive and personable. The entire staff was enjoyable and they acknowledged us everytime we came in and out of the hotel. Our room although small (I knew that going in) was very clean. The rooftop pool was very enjoyable after a hot day sightseeing (there is no jacuzzi). The view from the top of the city is great. I liked looking at the lines at the Acme Oyster House. They offer a free mp3 player tour of the hotel at the gift shop. It was informative, but could have been done in 15 minutes instead of the 30 minutes. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Our room was $99 and parking for a Hummer (considered oversized) was $10 a night.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bongo1578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,544
    1,502
    453
    207
    113
See reviews for
1,140
2,556
214
1,411
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

I got a great rate with their summer get away rate and they offered a great parking rate too directly on the hotel's website. My room and the hotel are very clean and kept up well. There were a few things that bothered me a little though: the room hvac vent and the bath fan vent were covered with dust to the point of being clogged. There's a rice rooftop pool but the water was cloudy indicating that the filter was undersized or clogged.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metairie, LA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

The room was well appointed with an excellent view of the river. Details such as an extra towel, shampoo, mouth wash, etc. were in the bath. The staff was quite helpful and friendly. We did arrive early, but the hotel was able to accomdate our early arrival. We vised the bar/lounge which was a lot of fun as it revolved ever so slowly. Drinks were well made and the price was normal for the French quarter. We really did enjoy our one night stay. One last thing, the swiming pool was rather small on top of the roof, but the view of the city was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biguenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New orleans, LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at the hotel. We'll be back again as everything was perfect. The suite we had was clean and beautiful with its furnishings and decor and marble and granite bathroom with plush amenities. The staff members went out of their way to help us, and the front desk were especially helpful and courteous with easy check in and check out. Food and beverage were also fantastic, as they gave great service with a wonderful attitude. I could go on and on about how fantastic this hotel is... but let me end by saying ... We had a most memorable time and reccomend everyone to be sure to stay at the Hotel Monteleone in the French Quarter. By the way, the Spa is outstanding too !!!!
Barbara Decker

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

Maybe I'm easily impressed, but this was one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. I've been to New Orleans three times before this, but it has always been for Mardi Gras and I've stayed closer to the other side of the quarter. This hotel is conveniently located only a block away from Bourbon and Canal (very close to Jackson Square). I thought my room and bathroom were very cute and my view overlooking the city and the river was awesome. There was an in-room safe, and the maid left chocolates and a mini-weather forecast every night. The work out room was much bigger than expected, with multiple ellipticals, treadmills, stairsteppers, etc... all NEW and with individual TVs. They even had free apples in the exercise room. This hotel was an absolute steal at $100/night. I even got a free drink when I checked in... the bar is very cool with a "bar-go-round" that actually rotates. Anyway, the only two things I can complain about are: 1) my husband wasn't there and 2) the in-hotel restaurant was expensive and not worth it. Other than that, I really liked this place and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanitysvial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

First, about us. We're from the San Francisco Bay Area, we DON'T have an affinity for shopping malls or tract homes, and, we loved our 9 day stay at the Monteleone. We hesitated to make a reservation at the Monteleone because of some poor Trip Advisor reviews and after being at the hotel just don't get where those folks were coming from.

We booked a nicer double queen room, and since it was off-site (August) were upgraded to a larger room on an upper floor with a river view. The airconditioning was adjustable, comfortable and never loud. (Unlike the "W" where it didn't work very well -- for more than twice as much per night!) We never tired of watching barge and shipping traffic on the Mississippi, the only noises we heard from our room were from the steam calliope on a river boat.

The hotel is solid, elegant and charming. Not flashy and also not expensive. I can't imagine a more comfortable room for the price. Everything was in great repair (unlike the W were we stayed for 2 nights: everything there was chipped and shabby) and anything that could be was covered in marble (floors, bathrooms, baseboards) or walnut paneling (elevators).

The doormen were all friendly and knowledgable, the cafe charming and comfortable for breakfast and lunch. The exercise room overlooked the river and wonderful street music drifted up to the rooftop pool. The beds were comfortable, and triple-sheeted. Housekeeping did come late on weekends but we loved the turndown service. Overall, I think it is the service that was most remarkable. Everything worked smoothly and staff were gracious and warm.

The Carousel Bar and the bartenders there, are too wonderful. I don't know why it isn't tacky and awful but instead it is charming and relaxing.

My junior high aged kid loved the pool, the exercise room, the breakfast buffet, the enormous clock in the lobby, people-watching in the lobby and couldn't wait to get back to the hotel after sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandaceBritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

Absolutely wonderful experience here! We thought it might be noisy at night because it is only one block off Bourbon Street and has heavy pedestrian traffic around the clock. However, once we were in our room (Executive Suite) we couldn't hear a thing outside and slept soundly. Very comfortable bed and bedding, shower that never ran out of hot water, quick elevators. We only had two issues: the television in the sitting room was snowy (but the one in our bedroom was clear) and we felt that the internet access should have been free. Also, the refrigerator is not for snacks or drinks you want to bring in - it is stocked by the hotel with drinks, etc that are quite pricey. No microwave. We'll stay again!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,209 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,886 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,068 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing