We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Easy Birthday Celebration”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Big Easy Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We celebrated a birthday in New Orleans the first weekend in October, 2009 and stayed at the Hotel Monteleone for 3 nights. It had been recommended to us by friends who had stayed there several times before. We'd both been to NOLA several times before, but we won't ever stay anywhere else again! The service was wonderful (we had iced Champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries waiting for us in the room when we checked in!) and the staff was very friendly and helpful. HM is located in the French Quarter, but not on Bourbon Street so you are away from the noise and crowds, yet close enough to be there in just minutes. The Carousel Bar was a fun treat as well. We didn't utilize the rooftop pool, but it was lovely. We did use the exercise room - it was great and looking out over the Mississippi River while walking on a treadmill was a great way to while the time away. They did, however, have several other types of exercise equipment, and there was access to TV on each piece. We also tried out the spa and got a nice massage! The room price was very reasonable - in fact it was quite a bargain. And even though the rooms are not big compared to some standards, it was plush and comfortable. The whole place is beautiful!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbailey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,662
    1,546
    471
    209
    117
See reviews for
1,172
2,645
220
1,439
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
palm city,fl
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Hotel Monteleone was a great hotel. The room was very nice and the service was excellent! You couldn't ask for a better location in the French Quarter. We were right in the
middle of everything, yet it was very quiet. I never heard any outside noise or any inside noise either.We went for my husband's 50th birthday and I mentioned that when I made my reservations on line. The afternoon of our first night they delivered champagne and chocolate covered strawberries with a Birthday card. I thought that was a really nice touch. The rooftop pool was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpseph172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ball Ground, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Was there for a user conference. Hotel was very nice. Architecture was beautiful. Food was good.

Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sstrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

This was my second trip staying at the Hotel Monteleone and was just as pleased this recent stay as I was on my stay there two years ago. The concierge is very helpful and entertaining woman, and the front desk staff are ever so professional and smiling. This hotel is close to Bourbon street, yet quiet and clean.

I was happy to see that New Orleans was busy with people and artists this time.....two years ago was very quiet. This is a great hotel and a great city....I will continue to patronage both as often as I can. LOVE the atmosphere, music, light-hearted nature of tourists and locals, and amazing architecture....definitely my favorite city in the USA!

Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CrazySpiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, TX
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I have stayed here for well over 40 years, since I was a child. Great memories. The entire hotel has been updated and is elegant and classy. The location in the French Quarter is perfect. The Carousel Bar is a must experience. Service was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlandrum78130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Steve,

It is rare that I would ever write a review of a hotel but I am doing just that now for my recent visit to your hotel. In short, my experience with your hotel from top to bottom was in one word “excellent”- From check in to check out the entire staff from the front desk folks, maid service, bell caps were all outstanding. I felt like a king at your place. Further, the breakfast buffet was “the best” buffet I have ever had, and I have a lot in my travels. The room was immaculate, quiet and the bed was better than Westin Heavenly bed (where I stay mostly) Now the work-out area... immacualtely clean and three words: WHAT A VIEW!

I never saw a ghost either… which was a big plus for me.. :)

I almost did not want to do this review as I don’t want word to get out as you may raise your rates.

Your hotel should be used as an example to others in your industry. Safe to say when I am back in NOLA you will see me again at your place.

Well done, sir.

Best regards,

Mark Gates

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Minkus40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opelousas, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

If anyone wants to stay in a wonderful hotel in the heart of New Orleans this is the hotel to stay at. It is in walking distance to all major attractions and nightlife. The staff treat everyone like they are special would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tissm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,388 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,118 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,391 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing