We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to sleep -- not the place...”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you want to sleep -- not the place...”
Reviewed 26 July 2006

Stayed here last weekend. Nice historic hotel. First room was OK, but sewage backing up into tub. Switched room, no problem. Getting sleep was another matter, very little sound-proofing into corridor. Noisy drunk revelers ALL night long -- front desk said "what do you expect, it's the French Quarter!"

  • Liked — Old style charm
  • Disliked — Noisy
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your earplugs
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,808
    1,590
    483
    213
    118
See reviews for
1,216
2,731
226
1,479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2006

My husband is coming to this hotel for a convention, so we took an early trip down to check it out. We had never been to New Orleans before, so this was an experience. For location, this hotel can't be beat! It's right in the middle of everything...Bourbon Street just a block away, and the Canal Shops and a host of other shops a short walk the other way.
We were given a room with a view of the adjoining rooftop, but since we were out most of the time, it didn't matter. The room was lovely, but small...and the adjoining bathroom is small, but a good use of space. Be advised...I am 5'2", and felt like I had to stand on my tiptoes to brush my teeth because the sink is tall...but on the other hand, I practically fell into the bathtub because it's set about 1 1/2 inches lower than the level of the floor! If you do it once, you won't do it again, but to let you know...the first time's a doozie! I don't know if all the rooms are like this, but I'll be sure to watch out next time!
We ate at both the Red-Fish Grille and the Bourbon House...both were excellent. The service was a little slow at the Bourbon House, but the food was served hot and was well-presented.
As another writer had stated, there is a Wal-greens practically next door, and it was very handy for any little thing you may have forgotten.
We went on the "Cajun Encounters" Swamp Tour. There were 10 of us on our particular excursion and we had a lot of fun...a very diverse group that was friendly and congenial. We had "Captain Ted" as our guide and he was knowledgeable and talkative and answered every question that was asked. We didn't see "Big AL" the male alligator, but there was another alligator that wanted to get on the boat with us, so that made the excursion a little more "interesting". I would recommend this tour to anyone I knew was coming to this area.
The people of New Orleans have been very friendly, and the cars let the pedestrians have the right of way with patience. That was something both my husband and I both noticed. They also blocked off part of Bourbon Street for a time period in the evening (I don't know if they do this all the time) so it is closed to vehicle traffic. That was great for just taking our time and wondering around and exploring.
Looking forward to coming back in the fall for the convention!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen Rene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2006

We were guest at the Monteleone on July 7-9. We had a suite and it was very nice. Service was great. We really enjoyed the great location. It is convenient to everything in the quarter. The only complaint we had was that the concierge did not seem to know the answers to questions we had. For example, the admission cost to the aquarium. She also told us to go straight down Canal St. and it was closer to go down Bienville St to acquarium. She did not seem to show much interest in assisting guests. However, we would stay at his grand ole hotel again. The bellman and bartenders were very polite.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank JWGoudeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2006

I stayed at the Monteleone for 5 nights with a colleague, and I absolutely loved it. The room was very spacious (2 doubles) with a high ceiling and great bathroom. I used the rooftop pool every day for quick dips to cool off after walking around the French Quarter. I found Bourbon St. too tacky, but really liked the shops on Royal and Chartres, and found that the hotel was in a great location for accessing both the Vieux Carre and the 'new city'. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, and I would love to go back next year!

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CanadianDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2006

My husband and I have stayed at the Monteleone 3 times in the last 2 years. We've stayed at countless other hotels in New Orleans and it is our favorite. Each time our stay has been superb, before and after Katrina. We always stay when there is a special price of $99 per night for the superior king room. And of course parking is about $30/day....

First, let me say....this is a very nice hotel... the history behind it is wonderful, and the carousel bar hard to beat.
Second, yes ... there may be nicer hotels in New Orleans, but if you can get the special price, why stay somewhere like the Wyndam and pay out of the nose? You can't get too much closer to the action of the French Quarter than the Monteleone ... EVERYTHING is in easy walking distance, and far enough from Bourbon to enjoy it, but not hear it!

If it is location, convenience, and nice comfortable beds you want... you won't be dissapointed with the Monteleone. Take it from someone who is from Louisiana and has been to New Orleans frequently!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank nurseLuvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2006

Jazz Fest 06 was our second trip to NOLA and second stay at the Monteleone. As everyone says, the location is the best! From what I had read regarding staffing problems, etc., post Katrina we had minimal expectations for housekeeping and ancillary services. Couldn't have been more wrong. If anything the service from everyone from the doormen to the housemaids was way, way better than last time we stayed.... or maybe last time it was a given and this time we were prepared to forego some services. Whatever, it was great!

Last time we were in a standard room which was tiny, so this time we paid the extra for a deluxe room ($283/night). Alas I'm a smoker so we were relegated to the 3rd floor in a room that was dingy, smelly and noisy to say the least. Not really complaining, it's the lot of a smoker, but I would despair if a non-smoker was ever in that room! The bathroom was clean, but unbelievably tiny and cramped (yet in the tiny room the bathroom was big) with nowhere to leave toiletries, etc. Quit smoking and request a room on a high floor.

For the trip we are planning next year, we'll be in the City for 10 days. Despite the Monteleone's fantastic location and staff, unless I could afford a suite I'm afraid we'll be looking for a hotel with roomier accommodations (and please, please a window you can open) or a better rate.

Regardless, if you are even considering a visit to New Orleans.... GO. It is so fantastic and they need and welcome tourists more than ever now. Tip big and enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tanyounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 July 2006

My husband and I recently stayed four nights at the Monteleone. We had a great experience. The hotel is beautiful. The room was small but very comfortable. It was probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. They are situated a block from Bourbon St. which keeps you away from the craziness, but it's still a short walk to visit!

The swimming pool, also small, was a must as it was very hot out.

The next time that we are in New Orleans we will not hesistate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,552 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 163 in New Orleans
4,118 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,720 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,159 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing