We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, terrific value, would definitely stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Ranked #82 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Lovely smallish (approx. 90 rooms) hotel just a few blocks from the French Quarter. My room on the top (8th floor) had high ceilings, a king bed, a big TV and an expresso maker. In general I was really pleasantly surprised at how nice the room was for a very reasonable price. Only real downsides were the "pool" (really a big hot tub) and "sundeck" (pretty small - more a big patio.)

Finally - the staff here were FABULOUS. Just could not have been nicer. Got a hand written welcome note from the GM and warm welcomes from the front desk every time we passed. Really genuine and nice.

Highly recommended - would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Top floor has high ceilings, pool is a joke but you can go 6 blocks to the nicer pool at the bigger...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,316)
There are newer reviews for Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,063 - 1,069 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

The hotel is only a short stagger from the French Quarter and as such is ideal for anyone planning an assault in that area.
The foyer area is immaculate and the staff were very professional and made all aspects of check-in/ check-out very easy.
I used the valet parking which is expensive, but stress free.
The beds were excellent, although the blankets hide the oversized frame so I banged my shins a couple of times. The shower wasn't the most powerful, considering its 4-star status.
A good enough stay, no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottng15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Having never been to New Orleans before, I had no real idea what to expect after booking in to the Omni Royal Crescent. However I knew that I wasn't going to be disappointed, when one of the reception staff dropped what she was doing to appear at the main hotel door to welcome me, before I'd even paid the taxi driver. In fact the reception staff deserve special mention; never have I stayed at a hotel anywhere in the world where the whole group of reception staff were just so helpful and friendly. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them, and they proved this to me on many occasions.

The room was of an excellent size, the shower was particularly powerful, the place was perfectly air conditioned (a necessity in New Orleans), and the location was ideal in that it was just two blocks from the main Canal Street. The breakfast was spot on too, although I did miss it on one self-inflicted occasion due to overdoing it on the local alcoholic treat - the hurricane, the night before!

All in all, I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone, and when I return to New Orleans (perhaps and certainly hopefully as early as next year) I'll be straight back! As I type this up on a Monday morning, with work on Wednesday, I can think of nothing more than a week ago today when I first arrived in NOLA...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank McTavish_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

There are two Omni's within a few blocks. This is clearly the smaller, but it certainly maintains the service of the larger fancier brother. There is no pool or weight-room here, however there are lots of cardio machines and you are welcome to use the pool and machines at the other hotel. (Just a few blocks away.)

Unless you really need to every 5-star luxury of the big brother, I would stay here and enjoy the service and price.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor, you might be able to hear the road traffic on the lower floors.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chuckwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The room was small, but still had all the necessities. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank miseno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We loved this hotel! It was a great value and it was a very short walk to the French Quarter. The employees were all very friendly and helpful. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

First, I want to say that the service at this hotel is fantastic. However, my stay was rather mixed and I want to highlight both the good and the bad.

Good: the aforesaid fantastic service. The location is close to both the French Quarter, the Warehouse District, and only a block or so from the St. Charles Ave. streetcar line. My room was clean, with modern decor and a comfortable bed. The bathroom shower had lots of pressure.

Bad: No doorman or bellman that I could see, but i didn't need one. My room did not have a luggage rack, so I had to call the front desk. One was brought immediately. My door squeaked loudly, so I again called the desk and, again, it was taken care of immediately. The air conditioner controls are rather basic (low, medium, or high) and the air blows right on you when you're in bed. The bathroom layout is horrible and there is no way two people could be in there at one time. There is only a half glass panel for the shower, so my bathroom floor flooded every morning. My biggest complaint was the noise. The windows are not double paned and so I heard every car with a stereo that drove by. On Saturday night there was an insistent bass thump coming from somewhere so at midnight I finally had to put the earbuds in my ear and fall asleep to R.E.M. Yes, it's quieter than the French Quarter, but that's a rather low bar. I was looking forward to 4 nights of great sleep and didn't get much more than in my noisy apartment back home. My room was next to the ice machine and the linen closet so during the day it was non-stop door slamming by the cleaning staff, which seemed to start rather early and precluded any naps.

This is not a bad hotel by any stretch of the imagination, and has many advantages. If you're a sound sleeper, it's great. I unfortunately won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

We're sorry that the noise kept you awake at night and that the ice machine and linen closet noises were loud during the day. We can offer ear plugs and/or a room move to a quieter side of the building if we have those rooms available. We will talk with our housekeeping staff and remind them to be as quiet as possible while cleaning guest rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
International House Hotel
International House Hotel
#72 of 165 in New Orleans
1,128 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,718 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#34 of 165 in New Orleans
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 165 in New Orleans
2,383 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 165 in New Orleans
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Address: 535 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £92 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Crescent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Royal Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing