We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Ranked #84 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The room wasn't huge, but was very clean and nicely decorated. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great, within walking distance of everything. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mondaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,148 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

We were in New Orleans for a conference at a nearby hotel and the Omni Royal Crescent had a good price, so we booked it.
It's very conveniently located 2 blocks from the French Quarter, so you don't really need a car to experience everything.
A couple things we noticed:
1. The hotel staff is very friendly and always greets you.
2. The hotel is quite small and walls are kind of thin- we were woken up once in the middle of the night by people talking in a voice just above normal conversation volume.
3. Let me say a couple things about the bathroom:
a. The shower door is "European" we were told. This apparently means half of the door is missing. Therefore, the whole bathroom is wet after every time someone takes a shower.
b. There is no fan/vent in the bathroom
c. One day we were left a towel with what appeared to be dried blood (or some other red spots) on it.
d. It's quite a small bathroom
4. Housecleaning is okay (based on 3c above) and while they changed our sheets, they did leave a pillow case with some holes in it (could be due to moths or cigarette burns).
5. The water bottle in the hotel is $6, and there's no wireless but the staff was happy to let you use their computer in the back if you needed it.
6. The fitness center is just okay- 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals and 1 bike.

We weren't in our room that often so it wasn't too bad. It didn't make our vacation better or worse.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ari Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Lovely smallish (approx. 90 rooms) hotel just a few blocks from the French Quarter. My room on the top (8th floor) had high ceilings, a king bed, a big TV and an expresso maker. In general I was really pleasantly surprised at how nice the room was for a very reasonable price. Only real downsides were the "pool" (really a big hot tub) and "sundeck" (pretty small - more a big patio.)

Finally - the staff here were FABULOUS. Just could not have been nicer. Got a hand written welcome note from the GM and warm welcomes from the front desk every time we passed. Really genuine and nice.

Highly recommended - would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Top floor has high ceilings, pool is a joke but you can go 6 blocks to the nicer pool at the bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The hotel is only a short stagger from the French Quarter and as such is ideal for anyone planning an assault in that area.
The foyer area is immaculate and the staff were very professional and made all aspects of check-in/ check-out very easy.
I used the valet parking which is expensive, but stress free.
The beds were excellent, although the blankets hide the oversized frame so I banged my shins a couple of times. The shower wasn't the most powerful, considering its 4-star status.
A good enough stay, no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottng15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Having never been to New Orleans before, I had no real idea what to expect after booking in to the Omni Royal Crescent. However I knew that I wasn't going to be disappointed, when one of the reception staff dropped what she was doing to appear at the main hotel door to welcome me, before I'd even paid the taxi driver. In fact the reception staff deserve special mention; never have I stayed at a hotel anywhere in the world where the whole group of reception staff were just so helpful and friendly. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them, and they proved this to me on many occasions.

The room was of an excellent size, the shower was particularly powerful, the place was perfectly air conditioned (a necessity in New Orleans), and the location was ideal in that it was just two blocks from the main Canal Street. The breakfast was spot on too, although I did miss it on one self-inflicted occasion due to overdoing it on the local alcoholic treat - the hurricane, the night before!

All in all, I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone, and when I return to New Orleans (perhaps and certainly hopefully as early as next year) I'll be straight back! As I type this up on a Monday morning, with work on Wednesday, I can think of nothing more than a week ago today when I first arrived in NOLA...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank McTavish_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

There are two Omni's within a few blocks. This is clearly the smaller, but it certainly maintains the service of the larger fancier brother. There is no pool or weight-room here, however there are lots of cardio machines and you are welcome to use the pool and machines at the other hotel. (Just a few blocks away.)

Unless you really need to every 5-star luxury of the big brother, I would stay here and enjoy the service and price.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor, you might be able to hear the road traffic on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chuckwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The room was small, but still had all the necessities. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank miseno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
International House Hotel
International House Hotel
#67 of 167 in New Orleans
1,178 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 167 in New Orleans
1,070 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,052 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#55 of 167 in New Orleans
2,701 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Address: 535 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £92 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Crescent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Royal Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing