We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Omni Royal Crescent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Ranked #88 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 29 May 2008

Reasonable rate with the best service I have ever encountered. Location could not be better for touring the Frech Quarter...we were able to walk to all resturants with in 5-15 minutes. Did not have to drive for 2 days. Room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Highly recommended. $30/ day parking extra but worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank abby152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2008

Your review of the Omni Royal Crescent is greatly appreciated. We are so glad that you enjoyed you stay with us. Please come back and stay with us again when you return to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,337 - 1,343 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2008

I stayed at the Omni for 4 nights while attending a conference. My jacuzzi room was tiny with a bed, dresser and TV. There was not enough space for a desk or chair. The floor to ceiling window faced about 3 feet of dead air space and then a brick wall. I was on the first floor and never saw sun light. The tv remote was missing as was the hair drier. The "pool" was a dirty hot tub with no jets. The resturant was closed for renovation.

The hotel was quiet during the week, but on Friday nights the drunks came singing through the halls every few hours. When I complained to the front desk about the noise, I was brushed off.

I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kgrejgeiprjerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2008

We are sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory. We do offer complimentary breakfast to our guests while we are working hard to complete our full-service restaurant. We apologize that your request for a quieter environment were not given full attention. We encourage all of our guests if they are unsatisfied with their accommodations to call guest services and we will make every effort to relocate you to a room that suits your needs. We hope when you return to New Orleans you will give us the chance to show you the great service that we can provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2008

First of all Hotwire describes this hotel as having a pool - NOT! It has a very dirty oversized hot tub on the sixth floor. Hotwire says it has a restaurant - NOT! It has a space with tables and chairs for a restaurant, but only offers a continental breakfast - with no utensils available, cereal but only chocolate milk, day old pastry and no service person. We had no air conditioning the day before we left, was finally fixed by bedtime - given it was a Sunday, some consideration, but were told by manager that we could have a 10% discount on return trip - like that would happen. Hotwire does not advertise that it is a non-smoking hotel. Surprise! In the hotels defense, the rooms are small but clean, beds comfortable, quality sheets and down comforter. Towels were nice, but two for two people in hot weather was not enough - especially when the air went out. Hotel staff at front desk were some of the best we have encountered anywhere. One man appeared to have worked two shifts since we saw him in the evening and then again in the late morning. Still pleasant and helpful. Staff aside,we will not be back - not at $209 a night nor at any price.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank butchiemoleed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2008

We apologize that amenities were advertised on Hotwire that we do not have. The problem has been resolved so we do not mislead any guests staying with us in the future. We are working hard to complete our full-service restaurant. We are glad that our staff was able to provide excellent service, but sorry that other elements of your stay were not up to our standards. We hope you will consider staying at the Omni Royal Crescent Hotel when your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2008

Just returned from a long weekend in NOLA and unfortunately stayed at the Omni RC. I used the bathroom at 5 am only to find a mouse frantically running loops around it trying to get out. I began yelling to my husband while putting my feet up on the toilet. He banged on the bathroom door, scaring the little guy, so I could escape to the bedroom. We figured we would call housekeeping at a more reasonable hour to have them take care of it. Well, DH has to use bathroom, so we decide to try to get mouse out of room ourselves. By now he was hidden in rolled towels that are in a basket on floor. Shake him out, hold bathroom and room door open - well, he decides it's too bright in hallway and scurries back under room door and ends up climbing the drapes. Call front desk to tell them situation; guy comes up w/sweeper thinking we meant dead mouse. He told us he would have mgr call when he got in at 7 am.

Of course, I cannot get back to sleep, diligently watching floor, see mouse exit room into hallway. 7 am comes and goes, no call from mgr. We called front desk at 8:30, told manager is busy. 9 am - hear from mgr, tell him situation (man w/sweeper must never have shared info) and he offers to move us, but it won't be for a few hours. Finally, after much discussion between DH and I, we decide to stay in this room (only had one more night) figuring mouse could be in any room at this point and where's there's one, well, you know, there's probably a pretty large contingent of them. We ask them to just please really, really clean room, especially bathroom where contained, freaked mouse left droppings.

We left and upon returning found droppings still on bathroom floor. Now, droppings were not numerous, but we knew they were there and we knew housekeeping did not sweep or wash floor. We went back down, spoke to manager, who was pleasant and did apologize and said he would see to it that housekeeping would take care of it. Left again, and returned only to find dirty bathroom floor still. I ended up cleaning it myself w/towel - yuck!!!

My big issue - manager never checked back in with us and did nothing to compensate us for problems. Also, upon checkout, no apologies, nothing from desk clerk - our situation should have been noted on our ressie! We did not make a big stink, tried to take it all in stride, but in hindsight, maybe we should have been a little less accomodating ourselves. I suspect mgmnt will post a response as they have other to other negative reviews. Looking forward to hearing from you now; however, you were given ample opportunity while we were "guests."

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sillysully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2008

Thank you for your review of the Omni Royal Crescent Hotel. While we do post responses to negative reviews, we also post comments to our positive reviews as well. We appreciate all comments because it lets us know what to focus on to make every guest’s stay wonderful. We are sorry that your stay was tarnished by the unwelcome intruder and sorrier that we did not offer a face-to-face apology upon checkout. Please accept our apology for having to deal with a mouse in your guest room. We know that this experience does not lead you to desire to stay with us again, but we hope you will give us a chance to show you a wonderful stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2008

Stayed here for the Sugar Bowl at a pretty high price - paid double what it normally goes for, I think, but to be expected due to the season. The property is conveniently located about 2 blocks off Canal by Sheraton. But OMG if you want consistent housekeeping service and sleep, don't stay here (or ask for higher floor)!
*Had the misfortune of being on the 2nd floor with really thin single-pane windows; you can hear everything going on in the street. Also gets cold/hot depending on the season.
*Walls are really thin too so can hear your neighbors in the other room - loudly.
*Did not get consistent housekeeping service - they kept forgetting soaps, cups, didn't clean or replace used items. DIDN'T CLEAN OUR ROOM ONE DAY.
*Front desk staff not very helpful.

The property also didn't have a restaurant but there is a little hole-in-the-wall diner right across the street that opens for breakfast and lunch.

Bottom line: go somewhere else if you want to enjoy your stay in NOLA.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fast_kar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2008

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Omni Royal Crescent Hotel. We are working hard to complete our renovation to the property after Hurricane Katrina. Our full-service restaurant will be open soon. Until then, please enjoy complimentary breakfast each morning. Our property does offer more peace and quiet than hotels located in the French Quarter. But, if the noise is irritating, please inform our guest services associates and they will do their best to move you to a quieter room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2007

I stayed 3 nights and I really like it. The bedroom was very modern and the bed very nice. The breakfast was very healthful.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Luciana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2007

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Omni Royal Crescent and for your complimentary review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms and breakfast and hope to welcome you back on your next trip to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2007

Don't worry about the mixed reviews, this is a great hotel.
The good: Great location just outside of the quarter. Newly remodeled rooms. Huge Bathroom and bathtub. Friendly and attentive staff.
The bad: No onsite parking. No onsite restaurant yet (coming soon)
We were looking for a romantic weekend getaway and found it at the Omni Royal Crescent. The front desk manager Frank was there to greet us when we arrived early and went to ensure our room was ready himself. This gave us a chance to speak with Cheryl and get the lowdown on the local restaurants etc... Both Frank and Cheryl were incredibly friendly and helpful every time we passed through the lobby Our room was wonderfully quiet and the bed was so comfortable it was hard to leave. The spa tub was deep enough to swim in and everything was clean and fresh. I also want to mention the young lady that works the front desk at night. Unfortunately I can't remember her name. When we called down at near midnight to get a resommendation on food delivery she actually brought some menus up to our room and made suggestions. Now that is service. The only 2 negative experiences were the parking that cost more than the rental car and a fourth desk clerk who obviously hates dealing with people and was openly hostile to hotel guests us included. I won't name her openly and I'm sure the staffing will work itself out as everyone else was so nice. In short I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lolaz&fadeintoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2007

Thank you for taking the time to review the Omni Royal Crescent. Our staff has dedicated themselves to providing our guests with an exceptional experience and we are delighted to find that reflected in your stay. We do hope that you will return on your next trip to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
International House Hotel
International House Hotel
#70 of 167 in New Orleans
1,178 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 167 in New Orleans
1,070 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,052 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#56 of 167 in New Orleans
2,701 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Address: 535 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £93 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Crescent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Royal Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing