We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Ranked #79 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Shreveport
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“disappointing stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I do not recommend this property. It is not up to Omni standards. We had issues with the valet who was not dressed in an Omni uniform because he was a contract employee. There was no bellman. The room was tiny, dark with dirty, uneven carpet and no toilet paper. I could go on and on. We had reserved a mini suite for three of our nights which usually is an additional $80 per night . We were so disappointed in our stay the management comped us this . However this was also very small and dark. We booked through Omni and were told we had such a poor room because it was a promotional rate. This rate was still over $200 per night. Had we not been upgraded for free, I would ahve rated this a 1.
The redeeming part of the stay were a few friendly female employees and a great bed.
I do not recommend this hotelif you are looking for an Omni experience. .

Room Tip: Many of the rooms face cinderblocks. You may want to address this when booking your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFrancesShreveport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
We are sorry for the issues you had during your stay. First we apologize for the arrival experience with valet and no bellman. Second we should not have assigned you to a room with dirty carpet and no toilet paper. And third regardless of what rate you paid, promotional or otherwise, you should have received a clean, comfortable room of the type you specified when booking. As you can see from our many other positive reviews this many negative experiences during a stay are not normal, however we’re sorry that you had to experience them. While we don’t imagine you will be considering staying with us again, we hope you might consider our other hotel in the French Quarter as it’s been newly renovated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    438
    150
    69
    43
See reviews for
173
570
72
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Select Guest rewards were all honored including upgrade to Omni suite and a pre-check in call from Brandi to ensure we had everything on arrival. Staff was very friendly and room was comfortable and well appointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and had no problems. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Valet service available and much cheaper than most hotels in NOLA. Rooms were clean, not overly spacious but big enough. Just a few blocks from the French Quarter and Bourbon st. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smcabee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We have been in this hotel only for one night and it wasn't a great experience. To be honest we booked too late and there weren't any rooms available other than one with no windows. We wouldn't have taken it if we were informed about this. It really felt like being in a closet. The bathroom had a very nice dimension and everything was clean though. The guests next door were loud and kept screaming until 2 am.
The hotel is pretty much at walking distance from restaurants and night life. Valet parking is available.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
We’re sorry that you didn’t enjoy your experience with us. We do have a few rooms in the hotel that do not have windows, but despite the lack of natural light, the rooms are clean and comfortable. Next time you’re in New Orleans we hope that you’ll consider staying with us again, but in a room with more natural light. Also please let us know about any noisy guests so we can have security take care of the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pensacola ,florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Way too much to list about the terrible check-in and staff. Very rude, got things wrong, couldn't seem to be able to read my reservation correctly. The manager seems to think he's very clever to use overly polite sarcasm with guests that are angry and have legitimate complaints. Way overdone with all of that. He just makes himself look foolish. He's very poor with customer relations and needs some training. My son is a GM of major company and is very professional in comparison , so I know good from bad.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 881kennethr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very nice but must admit all of the doors in the room doors slam shut. It was horrible during late nights or early mornings! No quiet or peace! The rooms were clean & lovely to stay in.

One should note that there are TWO Omnis in New Orleans but only ONE is in the French Quarter! NOT this one. The Royal Crescent does have a nice hot tub & is a lot smaller & less fancy. The Omni Royal is the one IN the French Quarter...very elegant, larger & has a pool but no hot tub. The hot tub (which matters in the colder months)

The Staff at the Crescent were very helpful & kind.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mindprofessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
We are sorry that it was noisy in the hotel during your stay. One of our goals is to provide a quiet place for all our guests to enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep. With that in mind, please let us know if there are guests causing too much noise and we’ll have our security manager take care of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Totally enjoyed my stay at The Omni Royal Crescent. The staff is wonderful, Monique is great ,she helped out a lot. The valet guys are great Roy, Cedric and Troy ,natives of NOLA these guys were able to give information on everything :) I was able to bring my puppy, grateful for that. The visitors loved the pup Shih Tzu no problem when he barked in the room. MY room was nice, of course This hotel NEEDS to provide a refrigerator and microwave in each room .ASAP, OMG!! The room, I do think the doors should fit entirely in frame to block out noise in hallway. 7th floor room facing the street..cool .The Christmas décor was beautiful!!
Enjoy your stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DECEE305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#13 of 164 in New Orleans
4,625 reviews
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#38 of 164 in New Orleans
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#54 of 164 in New Orleans
2,319 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Property: Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Address: 535 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Crescent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Royal Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing