We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Reunion Stay Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Ranked #83 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel was absolutely perfect for my friends and I. Close to everything. We were upgraded to a corner suite with 2 bathrooms and ever girl loves multiple bathrooms. The hotel was spotless, beautiful and the staff was truly awesome. They bent over backwards to make us comfortable! Great job! We will be back :) oh and thanks Kendal!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Shimada H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

678 - 684 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel was clean, nice and the front desk and door staff were very friendly. We were happy with almost everything about the hotel. The first night we were in a small room that was very small and didn't even have a desk to work at. The next night we got upgraded, thankfully, to a room with a queen bed and a desk. It was more comfortable and spacious. I don't feel like it was worth the amount that we paid to stay there thought. It didn't have the amenities and luxuries for the price per night. That was my only negative thought for the entire stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Christie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We’re sorry you didn’t feel we were a value for the price. While we are a smaller hotel, we do have many of the amenities of hotels much larger than us. However if you are looking for a hotel with more amenities, we hope you will consider our sister property in the French Quarter. And if you are looking to stay in the business district, we hope that if you don’t find another hotel you prefer that you might consider trying us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

After trying many different New Orleans hotels for JazzFest, we have settled on the Omni Royal Crescent in the central business district. A decent rate and perfect service. Staff went out of their way to help. Great buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Excellent stay during a recent conference. The rate was extremely competitive for a weeknight in the CBD. The room and bathroom were both large by New Orleans standards. Staff was helpful and extremely friendly. Bed was comfortable, with plenty of pillows. Towels and amenities were well above average. Only real complaint would be the quirky half glass shower door over the tub/shower was rather ineffective at keeping the water in the shower. Not so much of a complaint as it was just odd. Others in our group staying in other rooms did not have the same door layout - they seemed to be absent in the rooms with the jacuzzi tubs. The hotel is well located about two blocks from the St. Charles streetcar line and about 3 blocks from the FQ. Great location plus its across the street from the Swedish Consul's office - just in case that is something you may need while in the Cresent City.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

A great small boutique type of hotel. Easy access to several very good restaurants and Canal St. Also located on a quieter street out of the fray!! Staff was excellent. We felt very safe at this location. We walked a small pup around several blocks each morning and evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Overall great stay. I stayed with my best friend for four nights for a girl’s weekend. Let’s start with the positives: Dermot (concierge?) was amazing! So helpful and pleasant. He seriously went out of his way to hail cabs for us on a number of occasions, when none were coming by the hotel. Also great recommendations, directions; we really felt taken care of. The location was great. Close to the French Quarter without the noise and crowds, and a short/cheap cab (but still within walking distance) to the National WWII Museum. Also reasonable walking distance to the Harrah’s Casino (which is actually really fun!), levee/waterfront, and Audubon Aquarium.

Our two biggest complaints were the noise and the ridiculous shower. We stayed on the ground floor – we paid to UPGRADE to this type of room – and found it hard to get to sleep/were woken up very early every night there. It was a shame because the beds were so comfortable. The ground floor rooms are tucked away from the front entrance a bit, but there is absolutely no sound-deadening throughout the floor. The stark walls and tile floors meant every footstep within about 50 feet from our door could be heard. High heels were the worst, of course. Utility closets near our block of rooms also meant staff would be in and out (and letting the doors slam) very early in the morning. The walkie-talkies of the valets could be heard at all hours of the night. I haven’t even mentioned other guests, yet… I won’t I think you get the idea. Sound-wise, the room was only slightly better than sleeping in the actual lobby. I don’t think I’m exaggerating, it was really bad. I discussed the volume with staff a couple of times and they seemed completely surprised. (May not be a bad idea to have the staff actually stay in one of the ground floor rooms to really experience it…and provide better guest service.)

It’s an old building, I get that, but line the walls with tapestries, or sound panels, or something. Or, convert ground floor rooms into something other than guest rooms. We used ear plugs every night as well, and it was still an issue. I think some modifications to this hotel would go a long way.

The shower was so terrible. It took forever (7-10 minutes?) for the water to get even close to warm enough to step in…and then bam! it would be scalding! Adjusting to colder water then took forever, so it was this fight every morning with freezing or scalding water.

I’d recommend this hotel to others, but by all means necessary do not stay on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jami K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry for the noise issues you experienced during your stay, as well as the fickle water temperature. We will work on the noise issue for the ground floor guest rooms. And we will also take a look at the water issue, which should be an easy fix. While we wish these issues hadn’t occurred, thanks for alerting us to them, and also for recommending us to other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We've stayed here twice during Jazz Fest. It's very convenient to the French Quarter, to the Jazz Fest shuttles, and to the after show venues. It's pretty clean, and the staff is always super friendly and helpful. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank tinabelltower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thanks for choosing to stay with us during Jazz Fest. We hope you had a great time checking out all the bands, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us when the fest was over for the evening. We look forward to seeing you again next time you’re in New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
International House Hotel
International House Hotel
#71 of 166 in New Orleans
1,150 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#74 of 166 in New Orleans
849 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 166 in New Orleans
1,000 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#56 of 166 in New Orleans
2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Address: 535 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £85 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Crescent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Royal Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing