We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Stay Here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Ranked #71 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do Not Stay Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Maintenance and housekeeping issues too numerous to recount. Air conditioning didn't work. Safe was locked when we got there. We asked for housekeeping early and, at 4:30 pm had to call because room had still not been made up. Bulb burned out. Refrigerator broken and smelled badly. For the price, I expect excellent. This was not even acceptable. We got a suite and the layout was horrible - the bed was so close to the dresser we had to walk sideways to get from side to side of the bed. Need I go on? Do not stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We should not have allowed you to check in to a room in this condition. And since we did we should have done our best to move you to a new room. We apologize for the list of issues you experienced, and also apologize for not handling the situation better throughout your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    411
    126
    62
    37
See reviews for
155
525
67
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Omni Royal Crescent is just two blocks outside of the French Quarter and sits between St. Charles Street and Magazine Street, two of the main thoroughfares uptown. It was easy to walk to the French Quarter and jump on a streetcar to the Garden District. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. You shouldn't expect any kind of view of the city. But,but if you are happy with a quiet room, close to all the action at a reasonable price, this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room farther from the elevator to avoid the noise of the late night partiers comin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

First time staying here and we will be back! From the moment you check in until you leave the staff goes out of their way to make your stay wonderful! Got a handwritten note from the GM when we arrived, not sure if this is an everyone deal but it was very impressive. Rooms were clean & hotel is in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpc2177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Our GM is fantastic and wants every guest to have a great stay. We’re glad you enjoyed the welcome note as well as the rest of your stay. We look forward to seeing you again next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Hotel reception was great and we thought for 24 hours that we had found a gem of a hotel but cracks soon started to show. Don't bother ordering the breakfast in advance on line for the 25% savings, the savings is really only 95 cents. Don't expect the room to be made up before night fall. It happened to us two days out of three. Don't expect shower to be working, as the fixture to turn on the water that I left at bottom of tub in the morning, was simply moved to side of tub at nightfall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank 18markk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Your negative review is confusing as our general manager received an email from you saying you enjoyed the hotel and after we rectified your concerns you would certainly not hesitate to recommend us to your friends and family. There was an issue with the breakfast vouchers, but we have already addressed that issue with your bill. This is the first time a broken faucet has been mentioned as it was not listed in our internal survey you completed or your email to our general manager. And our housekeeping staff is happy to service any room upon request if we did not do it prior to your return to the hotel. We have also addressed the issue with the strawberry amenity, as it was left not in plain view due to us not wanting to move personal items that were on the dresser. We hope despite these issues that you will consider returning again and let us know if anything is unsatisfactory with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Sinai, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed at the Omni Royal Crescent with my wife for a conference in mid-March. Overall I was pleased with the hotel. It was to the west of Canal Street so it was quieter and a few blocks closer the the convention center. The rooms were very clean and the staff was courteous. Checkin was fast and the front desk staff were always helpful with food recommendations and directions. The attached cafe was good for the buffet breakfast. Room service was fast. The gym had 2-3 nice treadmills and ellipticals and a set of bowflex weights. They desperately need to spend $80 on a small bench to use with the weights. I would stay there again if going back for this conference.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great location and service! Staff was very friendly and always willing to help provide information or service. Great rate, regardless of event happening in the area. I like that it didn't jump on certain days the way other hotel rates were. Will book again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngsville, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I usually don't take the time to do a review, but our experience at the Omni Royal Crescent was so exceptional that I had to. It's in the perfect location (two short blocks off Canal across from the French Quarter) to walk to the Saenger Theatre or Jackson Square. The room price and Valet Parking were more reasonable than comparable hotels in the Quarter. The service is where this hotel really shines. We had an issue with the hair dryer and TV. Maintenance was there as soon as I hung up the phone and took care of the problem. Every staff member we encountered was amazing, especially the bellman, again showing up before I hung up the phone. He stored our bags on departure while we went for brunch. On our return, he had our car out front, already loaded and ready to go. As an Omni Select Guest member (free sign up online) we got free internet and complimentary coffee delivery every morning. The room was comfortable and we had a great breakfast at the cafe downstairs one morning. All in all, one of our best stays in New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,209 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#32 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#80 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Property: Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Address: 535 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Crescent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Omni Royal Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing