We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Air Conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Ranked #83 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great staff, poor property. Was in New Orleans for a summer vacation and it was a hot summer day and AC did not work well. Checked 2 other rooms out, same issue. As 90 degrees outside, had to change hotel to complete vacation as room was way too hot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We are sorry that our air conditioning did not adequately cool the room during your stay. We will check our HVAC system to ensure it is operating at full capacity. While we wish you didn’t have to change hotels, we understand and hope you will still consider us next time you’re in New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you want a hotel that is as in the French Quarter as you can get without all of the French Quarter craziness, this is the hotel for you. Excellent facility with quality staff that make sure your room is clean and comfortable. The front desk staff is one of the friendliest I have ever encountered.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank fleabagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Omni Royal Crescent last week and it was a great visit. We had wonderful service from everyone on the staff but especially Monique at the front desk. She was always very friendly and was quick to make sure you had a great stay. The location is great. You can walk to the Quarter easily. Hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lees33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed at the Omni in May with my husband and another couple. I can't say enough about the great location. Walking distance to the French quarter without all the noise and the crowds. Close to the heart of the action, but peaceful enough for a good night's sleep. The room was nicely decorated and while it wasn't huge, it was certainly more than adequate for two! The bed was comfortable and the front desk staff was friendly. The breakfast buffet was an excellent choice. The food was very good. It is a bit pricey at 14.95$, but I think a good option if you have an early morning flight. If you purchase it on-line before you leave home the cost is $14.00 but includes tip. The self-serve buffet included eggs, grits, bacon, sausages and fruits/ yoghurt & coffee on the day we were there. We also tried out the hot tub during our stay but found the water temperature was too high to sit in the tub for more than a minute or two. One of our friends came out with bright red marks on his legs after only a couple of minutes.

I would have loved to rate this hotel as "very good", but sadly it is not the case. We arrived on a weeknight for a 5 day stay that spanned the weekend. Service during the week was good and our room was well-maintained. Beware of the weekend! When Friday arrived, that was the end of housekeeping for our room. We tended to leave the hotel room somewhere between 8 and 9 am each morning only to return sometime between 3 and 4 pm. We were disappointed to return to a room that had not been made up. We left the hotel for dinner around 6-7 pm and when we returned the room had still not been made up. This happened to us on both the Friday and the Saturday night. A call to the front desk was met with a sympathetic ear but did not produce a live person to clean the room/ bring fresh towels. I'm hoping that they have since rectified the personnel issues at the hotel and perhaps hired the necessary staff to maintain the rooms, but my advice to anyone considering this hotel is to check the other comments and you may find that spotty service is mentioned repeatedly...Based on my experience, a great hotel during the week, but weekend stay is another story!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bahamamama65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

What else could you ask for. Only a short walk to the heart of the French quarter, clean-well destined hotel. Room was quiet and very clean, with a nice view. Bed comfortable. Service was great, lots of little touches with personalized notes, greetings, etc. restaurant/bar looked nice, but didn't eat there (just too many other great choices for food nearby). I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank ColoradoWeatherMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Location is just far enough away from the crowds of the French Quarter that it's a bit calmer but close enough to be a quick walk to the chaos when you're ready for it. Super close to Lafayette Square (which was awesome to catch the last of the Wednesday night concerts in the park; just moments after we arrived in the city we were listening to music, eating oysters and drinking Abita).

It appeared to be an older hotel in need of a small refresh; in our room the bathroom needed updating... there were exposed pipes holding up the shower curtain with gaps in the ceiling. On the upside there was a great staff; front desk was really nice, the doorman was AMAZING, seriously the 5 star hotel kind. He was great with everything from directions every morning to umbrellas when it was raining to a cab to the airport, very cool throughout our whole stay. Coffee was delivered every morning with the paper exactly as we asked. Overall, what it lacks in character and newness, it makes up in cool people and location. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is well located and well furnished. In a quiet area. We were there to attend a Congress. The personel was serviceable. Everything we asked for was provided. Excellent. New Orleans is a nice city and the experience with the hotel made our stay a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Antonio544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
International House Hotel
International House Hotel
#71 of 166 in New Orleans
1,150 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#74 of 166 in New Orleans
849 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 166 in New Orleans
1,000 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#56 of 166 in New Orleans
2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Address: 535 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £85 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Crescent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Royal Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing