We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, thin walls!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Ranked #79 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
CALGARY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, thin walls!”
Reviewed 12 May 2010

My husband and I stayed here in May for 3 nights. THe omni is great, clean, and the rooms are updated. The bed was comfortable. THe only complaint i have is how thin the walls are, we could here the girls conversations in the room next to us, and when they came in at 4 am and 5 am, banging around and talking, it woke us up!

Either then that, the hotel is great, only a 2 minute walk to Canal street, and about a 5 - 10 minute walk to the French Quarter! Its far enough away but also close enough.

We ate breakfast at their restuarant Dress It, its buffet style, and had great selection, it was pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBATES8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2010
Thanks for writing a review. We apologize for the noise next door. We do our best to control the volume on the guest floors, but in the event that it's a recurring issue please let the front desk know and they will do everything they can do accommodate a room change. We hope to see you again next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    431
    148
    69
    41
See reviews for
169
562
71
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The front desk staff was wonderful...room was clean & smelled fresh...bed was comfy...bathroom was roomy...we loved the sundeck..we had breakfast at Dress It...it was fair...valet was a lil slow one day, but the next day they were right on it....great location for the trolley and a nice walk to Bourbon Street...a lil pricey, but we got a great deal through Travelocity.....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TnPuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canucks16
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

It was good to have a hotel 3 blocks from the French Quarter. We stayed in the Quarter our last visit to New Orleans and this was much better. Much quieter than the Quarter, but an easy walk to the Quarter. Nice Rooms. Very helpful front desk staff. Would stay here again One thing to note - the swimming pool on the roof isn't really a pool, it is a hot tub.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canucks16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2010
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. And yes some websites display swimming pool even though we've tried to make sure to clarify hot tub. But yes, it definitely not a swimming pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

We stayed here for four nights. The hotel is very clean, staff are generally helpful, it is quiet at night and is generally a good hotel to stay in. Although not technically in the french quarter it only takes around five or ten minutes to walk to bourbon street. The hotel is located on a quiet side street, yet is only five minutes walk from bustling canal street with all of its bars and restaurants; once you cross over canal street you are in the french quarter.

We parked our car two blocks away on magazine street for $15 per 24 hours, which is a competitive rate in central new orleans. We always felt safe walking from the hotel to the french quarter even after dark. We didn't use the hotel restaurant so cannot comment on that although it always looked empty every time we passed it. We did try the outdoor hot tub but left quickly because it is not all that well set up, perched on a ledge on the hotel roof. The one small complaint I would make is that they don't provide a dedicated guest computer with internet access; instead they will let you use a staff computer at reception but obviously only for a short time.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a relaxing city break in new orleans with the opportunity to sleep soundly and do lots of sight seeing by day and evening.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianOSuilleabhain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
Thank you for writing a review of the Omni Royal Crescent. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize that we don't have a dedicated computer for guests, but if you do need to use a computer during your stay we would be happy to provide you access to the Omni Royal Orleans' business center in the French Quarter. We hope you will stay with us next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Found this hotel on tripadvisor & liked the combination of location and price and how it looked on google streetview (marker in google is off)

It exceeded our expectations!!

We parked right in front of the door to check in. Roshawn greeted us with a smile and checked us in like we were expected. When I asked about Wifi she mentioned that it was not free but with the Omni club it would be be complimentary along with a paper and coffee or drinks in the morning delivered to the room and got us signed up immediately!

The room (704) was clean and nice with a king bed and a view of other buildings. It was quiet and we were only a few blocks from Canal and the Harrah's casino. Also within walking distance of the French quarter. We were able to find Self Parking down one block for $15 Dollars for overnight for 24 hours! Hotel has valet parking only.

Tried the diner off the lobby (dress it ) it was good, would have liked breakfast all day. Had some free cocktails as part of the omni club on Tuesday night in the lobby.( Cocktails got its name after a location right here in 'Nawlins ). You hang Red or green beads on the door Red - Do not disturb / Green - Service.

Check out was a breeze. Chris L. at the front desk was very nice and helpful and let us print out our boarding passes and called us a cab.

Thanks Omni Crescent - we will tell our friends!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TDC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for signing up for our free Select Guest program. The free WiFi and morning beverage service are great perks. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

My family of ten travelled to New Orleans for my wedding over Easter weekend. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Omni Crescent. The staff were friendly, courteous, and helpful, especially when my fiance and I needed computer and printer access for marriage license info. They added a baby crib to my brother-in-laws room for his 1 year old, also. The roof-top hot tub and fitness center was great. We enjoyed lounging there, though the hot tub was HOT! The bathrooms in our rooms were huge. Overall, it was a wonderful experience. The one problem we had was getting our cars from valet parking. I think the valets had a problem with the elevator in the parking deck at one point and were very busy because of the Crescent City Classic on Saturday. Luckily, the hotel is close enough to everything in the quarter to walk to. Stay here! It is a hidden gem!!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSTravellerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate being called a hidden gem. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will come back next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMV
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I visited the Omni Royal Crescent for my Birthday which was on Easter Weekend. Upon arrival, the staff was very pleasant and professional, I received a hand written card from the manager of the hotel welcoming my stay and thanking me for choosing the Omni Royal Crescent, out of all the hotels I've stayed in, I have NEVER gotten such a nice jester/greeting as this, I thought it was very personable and it made a lasting impression with me. The hotel is in EXCELLENT location, short walk to EVERYTHING and away from the noise on Bourbon St. for a good nights rest. The rooms are on the small side, but yet they were comfortable(especially the beds). The lobby was nice and clean. The only recommendations I would have for the hotel (to change) is to do some updating within the hotel such as rooms and hallways, and I think the bar should stay open later then what it does, to accommodate the late nighter's and fix the sidewalk outside of the hotel, outside of those things, you will not be disappointed and I would stay again upon returning to NOLA!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lifeof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2010
We're glad you chose us. We hope you had a great birthday weekend at the hotel and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,551 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#39 of 163 in New Orleans
882 reviews
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Property: Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Address: 535 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Crescent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Royal Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing