We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Ranked #80 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Stayed at the Royal Crescent recently while attending a conference in New Orleans. The conference hotels were the Marriott and Sheraton both on Canal Street. Looking at a map, the hotel was two blocks from them and so convenient enough. Rate was AMAZING...Travelzoo had a special $69 rate and this was easily ½ and more than the conference hotels. Imagine my amazement when I got to New Orleans that the hotel is literally behind the Sheraton and blocks in New Orleans, unlike Chicago where I live are small! On top of that it is a 5 minute walk to the French Quarter and 15 minutes (at most) to the convention center.

I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel. It is a hidden gem in New Orleans and from my research, Omni as well as the hotel run a variety of specials which make it a fantastic bargain for a 4 star hotel. Staff were extremely friendly, and if you are a member of their frequent guest program you get free internet ($9.95) a day, which isn't bad as compared to some other chains, and we also got 2 complimentary beverages per person each morning that you would mark and leave on your door the night before by 2am. Many times, I neglected to do this by 2am and the beverages were still there the next morning! You are also given green (clean the room) and red (do not disturb) beads that you hang on your door to indicate what you want done. Even when we didn't put the green beads up, we'd ALWAYS come back to a clean made up room with new towels, etc.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone attending a conference or just vacationing in New Orleans, it is in the CBD and is convienent to everything from the Street Car lines, Convention Center and French Quarter. They have a small bar off the lobby which has a two for one happy hour, and a gourmet burger restaurant off of that. We did not have the opportunity to eat at the restaurant, but did enjoy the bar. The night there we met the manager and had a great conversation with him and the bartender was fantastic and friendly too.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmanthetravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

The green and red beads are a little local touch that adds to the New Orleans experience. It's great to read reviews like this. Thanks you for taking the time to write it and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,230 - 1,236 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed here for six nights, at a great special rate, where the third night was free. This made the room very, very reasonable. Very quiet and comfortable. The half glass door for the shower left a lot of water on the floor, more of a problem for the maid than for the guest.
The only thing lacking was a soda machine. I mentioned this when we checked out and the front desk clerk said we should have called and they would have gotten a coke for us.
The two free beverages per person in the morning was great, also the bathrobes.
Be sure to sign up for the rewards card to get the free morning beverage and your choice of newspaper and to customize what kind of pillows etc you want.
This was our first stay at an Omni but won't be the last.
Location is two blocks from Canal St and the Canal and St Charles trolleys, where we used a VisiPass, a bargain at $12 for three days unlimited rides.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coldsprings1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

We're glad to hear that you'll be back. Make sure to give us a call before you come next time if there's anything we can take care of before you arrive. Until then safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

My husband and I chose the Omni Royal Crescent, New Orleans for our honeymoon out of dozens of hotels. Our decision was not in vain. We arrived at 3am only to find someone immediately on-hand to take care of our bags, and to find out that we'd already been checked in. (Hassle free!!) Our room was immaculate, bed turned down, and everything that was guaranteed was there! The jacuzzi was a wonderful asset along with the plasma TV and more than comfortable King bed. Every morning we were treated to two complimentary beverages of our choice EACH (and they brought the whole coffee pot!!). The staff was among the friendliest I've seen and were always available. The bed was turned down each evening, toiletries refilled, and room back to pristine condition. The day of our check out they completed our stay hassle-free yet again by simply slipping our bill under our door. All we needed to do was ask them to bring the car to the front door (they provide valet parking for a reasonable daily fee.) We would definitely stay here again!!
Make sure and become a member on their website or over the phone when you reserve to receive the complimentary items! It's a FREE membership!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jadeyes78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

Thanks for choosing to celebrate your honeymoon with us. We hope you'll come back for your anniversary or any time for that matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

I chose the hotel because I was traveling on business and leisure and it is located between the French Quarter and the Morial Convention Center. Only 4 blocks from Canal and Bourbon. The staff were excellent. When I checked in I did not have a desk in my room on which to work. The staff moved me to a larger room with a desk. The hotel is beautiful with high ceilings in the rooms. We stayed 3 nights and selected the "Linger Longer" rate... 3rd night free! Only annoying part was the internet router on our floor was flaky and did not offer consistent connections. Assuming they fix that, I would select this hotel next time I visi NOLA.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Majestyk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

Thanks for the great review. We will take a look at our routers and do our best to amplify the WiFi signal for all guest rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

This is a very impressive hotel. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. I usually have something to complain about after a stay at a hotel (however minor), but not this time. We will definitely look to the Omni Royal Crescent when/if we plan another trip to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryanpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

We hope you plan another trip to New Orleans in the future and that we'll see you at the hotel. Thanks for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

My wife, myself and another couple decided to stay at this hotel after reading the reviews on TA and checking the Omni website for pricing. We were there from Sat June 5th thru June 8th.

Upon arrival around noon on the 5th we were promptly checked in and told our rooms were ready. The rooms were large with a king size bed, night tables, desk, reading chair and dresser. The closet was a little small but adequate. The bathroom was beautiful and large with a jacuzzi tub and a showerhead with great water pressure. The only thing lacking was a view. Our rooms faced a "courtyard" but very small and dark. It was fine, we had no time to look out the window anyway.

The staff could not have been nicer. We asked them for their recommendations on food and jazz clubs and could not have been happier with their suggestions.

We also asked them to print our boarding passes for us as we would be on a tour when we would first be eligible to print them. When we returned from the tour, all our boarding passes were waiting for us.

Prior to us leasving for that tour, my wife asked the gentleman at the front desk if there was a place she could get a bottle of water. he said "wait one second" and disappeared. he returned a minute later with 4 COLD bottles of water for us at NO CHARGE.

The service in the hotel was above and beyond and made our stay extra special!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank selzhouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

Thanks for choosing to stay with us for your New Orleans getaway. We're happy to hear you thought our service was above and beyond, and thank you for sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor readers. We hope to see you in New Orleans soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I recommend when you book a room with Omni, to sign up for their Select Members program. When we walked in around 1pm, we didn't even have to ask if we can check in early. She had everything ready and prepared. Very friendly. The room was great, a little small, but enough room for my bf and me and our bags. The bathroom was great except for the half glass door. That looked great but very impractical. The room was clean and it was cleaned daily. The view was okay. They use feather pillows, which my bf is not fond of, so they were quick to bring him foam pillows after he called. Then an hour later, the front desk called to make sure we got the pillows. I really liked the follow through with the service. My biggest disappointment was the "pool" was not a pool but a hot tub. There is no need for a hot tub on a day where the heat index was 100 degrees. But they did say we had rights at their sister property in the French Quarter. The location of this hotel was very central to the FQ, CBD, and Garden District. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dahlin43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Omni Royal Crescent. Yes, to clarify to other readers our roof deck has a hot tub, not a pool. But there are other pool options as you mentioned. It's great to hear we were the icing on the cake of a great vacation. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
International House Hotel
International House Hotel
#71 of 166 in New Orleans
1,148 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 166 in New Orleans
2,525 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#78 of 166 in New Orleans
2,357 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#37 of 166 in New Orleans
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Address: 535 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £86 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Crescent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Royal Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing