We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Ranked #79 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Excellent Location”
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights on a quick trip through the Gulf coast. The Omni Royal Crescent was a terrific value. We got a very clean, comfortable, and well decorated room in an excellent location. It was about a 2 block walk to Canal Street and after crossing Canal, you are right in the French Quarter. The hotel is about 7 stories tall, so not overly large. It has a very quaint and cozy feel to it. It's in an old building, as one would expect in New Orleans, but it's classy and has lots of charm. I would absolutely stay in this hotel in a heartbeat. The only down sides were a shower with half a door (yes it was designed this way), so water got everywhere in the bathroom; and a bed that sank in the middle. It was a little uncomfortable when trying to get settled for bed, but luckily I was exhausted during the trip so it didn't interfere with the quality of sleep that much.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVO767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    438
    150
    69
    43
See reviews for
173
569
72
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, QC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed at the Omni during a conference and had a fantastic stay. The check-in was smooth and our room was ready right away. The beds and pillows were REALLY comfortable. One small draw back was that we requested a crib in the room, which made it quite cramped. The sundeck and hot tub on the 6th floor was small, but still a nice way to relax.
The front desk staff were wonderful during our stay. They were cheerful, helpful and responsive to any questions we had. Plus, their restaurant recommendations were always good. Our favorite was the Ruby Slippers around the corner.
I recommend joining "Omni Select Guest" as well: many perks including morning beverage, free WiFi, fast check-in and morning newspaper. And it's free!
Overall, for the price, this hotel offers fantastic value and great location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunfish117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle, australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

I travelled across the US last month with my husband and two young adult children and remain bemused by our experience at this hotel.
All our accommodation was pre-booked for our party of 4 with two rooms: described as a double/deluxe for my husband and I and a twin for the other two. We stayed in five other cities and were always provided with appropriate accommodation (ie two beds in the room requested as a twin). That was except when we arrived at Omni Royal Crescent where we were informed by front desk staff that both rooms had one bed only, that there were no rooms available with two beds and that a rollaway could be provided at a cost to us of $30 per night. Having booked the accommodation 12 months in advance (!) and paid well in excess of $200 a night (for each rooom) we found this expectation unacceptable. The young man dealing with us kept repeating the phrase "I'm sorry for the misunderstanding" and offered some implausible explantion about 'twin' referring to the dimensions of the bed, the implication being that the misunderstanding was ours alone, despite the fact that all the other hotels we stayed at in the country understood twin to mean two . That was not my idea of the excellent customer service I had expected as an Omni Select guest.

We did consider contacting the manager via his cell phone, (as others noted, this was provided after checking in) however we decided just to get out and enjoy New Olreans rather than spend further time and energy expressing our dissatisfaction. As it eventuated we were not charged the $30 rate, presumably because a more experienced staff member thought better of it, yet there was never an apology provided or gesture of compensation offered during our 5 night stay.

Other reviewers have remarked that it was a quiet location yet the Saturday night we were there our sleep was disturbed until about 4am due to the street noise. Apart from that it was quite a nice hotel, but I felt sorry for the housekeeping staff having to mop up pools of water in the bathrooms each day.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank js4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
We do apologize for the misunderstanding, but after speaking to our front desk manager, they clarified that your booking confirmation was for two rooms both described as "1 Double Bed Room" and we were sold out of our rooms with two beds when you arrived. We tried our best to come to a solution by offering a king room and a rollaway and then providing a room with double beds as soon as one became available. We are sorry for any confusion that the name of the room caused and apologize for not being able to provide a room with two double beds when you arrived. We will reevaluate the name of the room to avoid any more misunderstandings for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

I have used tripadvisor reviews to help me choose hotels in various cities, but will be more suspicious in future. I stayed in the Royal Omni Crescent for 6 nights to attend a local conference in February 2011 and it is average at best. It mistifies me how this hotel can be ranked No.1 in New Orleans on this site! The rooms are average, the breakfasts are poor, and the 'gym' consists of 3 running machines and a tiny outdoor pool. In terms of value, Id say its poor - I paid 220 dollars per night after tax without breakfast!

The Hiton, Ritz, and Marriott, and Westin are pricier but worth it. The Iberville Suites are a bit of a gem as they are much cheaper and give you free access to the Ritz gym (the Ritz is in the same building as the Iberville). In other words, weigh up the alternatives closely before going for the Royal Omni Crescent!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NIOCT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are a smaller boutique property and our fitness center certainly is smaller than the Hilton, Ritz, Marriott and Westin. However we do offer our guests full access to our sister property in the French Quarter which has a much larger fitness center and large rooftop pool with great views of the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We spent New Years in New Orleans at the Omni Royal Crescent and it was a fabulous stay. Room was very nice and fairly good size for New Orleans. We could walk to the French Quarter and all the restaurants. The only complaint was that our key card didn't work the first time so I had to go all the way back down to the lobby when we first arrived. The staff was young and very helpful throughout our visit. We would definitely stay there again..

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allimac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Thanks for choosing to stay with us over New Years. We're sorry about the key card issue, but it sounds like that was the only snafu and we're glad it was an easy fix. We hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The Omni Crescent was the hotel I stayed at for my first trip to NOLA, and I made the decision based off of Trip Advisor. It was great! The room was clean, well equipped and modern. The bed was COMFY and the bathroom was large enough so we could both get ready at the same time.

The location was great, off the French Quarter enough that it was quieter but it was never too far to get anymore. One word of caution, which applies to anywhere in New Orleans, I'd stay on the main streets when walking after dark.

The burger restaurant in the lobby was never busy but the food was good. We stopped in there our first night in and the server was very helpful and friendly! Great food and the Albita beer was a good local beverage.

I'd highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenVenissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2011
It's so great to hear so many guests read about us on TripAdvisor and had a great stay. Thanks for taking the time to post a review and recommending us. We hope to see you back in New Orleans soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, WI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

I booked this hotel on the advice of other travelers on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. This is within walking distance to everything, museums, french quarter, and trolleys that will take you to other districts, the zoo etc... The room was spotless, updated decor, and friendly staff. We would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjkWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,621 reviews
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#38 of 164 in New Orleans
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#54 of 164 in New Orleans
2,319 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Property: Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Address: 535 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Crescent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Royal Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing