We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in New Orleans”
Review of The Pelham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pelham
Ranked #92 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best kept secret in New Orleans”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I have only stayed in big name hotels before in New Orleans. Stayed at the Pelham after a referral from a friend, and was I surprised. This was a great location and great features as well. The staff were great and full of great information about the city and on going events. You get to experience New Orleans charm in the city as well as at the hotel. The best kept secret in New Orleans is The Pelham Hotel. Can't wait to stay there on my next trip, as they were making some really cool improvements to make the experience even better.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    219
    77
    31
    32
See reviews for
103
189
20
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Great location! Old building. THIS PLACE NEEDS TO BE REMODELED ASAP!!!!! Our room was on the 4th floor. We took the elevator up and when we stopped at the 4th floor the elevator dropped (this is every time your on the left elevator). I felt like I was on the tower of terror in Disney! The hall smelled like mold. When we entered the room we looked around and we noticed it was missing a window. VERY strange! The room was very small and tight! The walls were cracked and in the bathroom the wallpaper was peeling and there was water damage. The bed was SO uncomfortable and the sheets were paper thin. The one bed had 4 pillows while the other had 3. Shower SUCKED! The shower head was so small it was horrible! The water pressure is the worst I have ever seen in a hotel! Turning on the shower was so confusing too! On the 3rd day one of us was taking a shower and the water just stopped! We called down to the front desk and they said they city was working on the water system and wouldn't be back up until 7pm (mind you it was 3pm) There was one trashcan and that was in the bathroom only. TV was Small and half the channels were not working. No pen and paper in the room either! I went to go get ice (which is on the 1st floor) and as I enter I can barely open the door because there are new windows wrapped in plastic and mattresses and bikes in the vending area! Some of the staff at the front desk were nice and some weren't Thomas (I think that was the guys name) was very helpful! We asked him what he thinks is the best food and the best places to go! He said if we need anything to ask him since he lived in New Orleans his whole life! The girl on the other hand was clueless and when I asked he a question she replied with "Um I 'm not sure, and I don't know really where anything is! How do you work in a hotel and not know anything about the city? Overall I wouldn't stay here ever again! They have a lot of issues to fix in this place!

Room Tip: Free wifi no window in 4th floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Having recently stayed at the Pelham Hotel I can only say what a pleasureable experience it was.
The reception staff were friendly, extremely helpful and very knowledgeable about local tours and even booked one for us. The bedroom was very well furnished with antique furniture, a modern bathroom and king size bed. The hotel was approximately 10 minutes walk from everything we came to New Orleans to see. Will definately be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Hotel is in a great location. Directions on site were perfect. Just minutes to Harrahs and a short 5 min walk to the Riverwalk shops. 10 walk to French Quarter. There is alot ot do around the hotel. Less than 5 min drive to Port of New Orleans. Rooms were big and spacious. Only issue I had was at check in and parking. Drove 9 hrs and had requested an early check in, but was not ava. Came back several times over the next 4 hrs and saw people getting rooms, but was told there were still none ava. Valet parking was reasonable, but it was off site. Had to give a 30 min notice for them to bring me my veh. Other than that was a great deal. Will stay here again next time I cruise.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank phinsphan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Nice clean hotel, great friendly service, walking distance to Harrahs Casino, Convention Center and French Quarter.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missywhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Thanks to all the reviews, we were ready for what we found at The Pelham. It was a busy time in New Orleans, and the higher rated hotels were already booked. Value and location were what led us here, and we were pleased with both. But a good value meant we gave up some amenities.

Our 4th floor room was European size overlooking Magazine St. The windows did a fair job of soundproofing, and my trusty earplugs finished the job. The AC worked perfectly as did everything in the room. Bed and bath linens were adequate and other than normal wear and tear, the room was clean and comfortable. Bring your favorite toiletries, because The Pelham's minimal selection is on the level of Motel 6.

My sister booked a single for a ridiculously low rate and wanting to avoid the ground floor, requested an upper floor room. She settled for a shower without a shower cap as there was no tub. Having no windows and being next to the elevator made for a restless night, but given the rate she didn't complain. The free coffee in the lobby made up for the lack of bath amenities.

The parking saga is real. We opted out of the $30 valet service and spent plenty of time dealing with the intimidating pay lot across the street. The very helpful front desk staff cautioned us about obeying every rule in the pay lot, and we did. That was easy given three eyewitness bootings of those parkers who didn't take heed. The "No In & Out" rule is strictly enforced with chalk marks on your tire. Overnight parking is $15 weekdays and $10 weekends, credit cards accepted. There are four free parking spaces on Common St. across from the hotel, if you feel lucky!

The Ruby Slipper restaurant and bar on the corner was busy, and folks seemed to enjoy the convenience and prices. But this is New Orleans, y'all! Hit the Quarter, and discover what makes the Crescent City a great visit. For breakfast we recommend Croissant d'Or Patisserie - 617 Ursulines Ave.. For lunch go with the muffuletta at Central Grocery - 923 Decatur St., then relax in the courtyard at The Gumbo Shop - 630 St. Peter St. for dinner. Each is a good value and an even better experience.

Room Tip: Refuse any room on the ground floor, and request an outside room on Common St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon from Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

We found this hotel easily, it is just off Canal Street, a block from Harrahs Casino. We had a beautiful room with high ceilings, two large windows and new modern bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the room and linens were spotless. There is coffee in the lobby in the morning. We had breakfast in the Ruby Slipper, adjoining the hotel and were very satisfied with the food and the service. be aware though that it closes at 2pm so you need to plan for your evening meal. it took us only ten minutes to walk to the French quarter and all the fun of that area. A good tip is to do the VIP tour which takes two hours with a couple if interesting stops, on an air conditioned bus. Our driver Dino was very knowledgable and funny too. We got to know so much more about New Orleans than we would have otherwise. We asked the receptionist at the hotel about a tour and she recommended this one. We would certainly vouch for this tour company. We went to the French Market and had some of the famous donut type buns smothered with icing sugar at the famous cafe at the end of the Market, sorry but I can't remember it's name, but anyone will tell you where it is. We had a great time in New Orleans and would stay at the Pelham if we went again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank maryc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
La Galerie Hotel
La Galerie Hotel
#113 of 164 in New Orleans
296 reviews
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#46 of 164 in New Orleans
1,288 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#79 of 164 in New Orleans
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelham

Property: The Pelham
Address: 444 Common St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2415
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#85 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pelham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelham Hotel is in the heart of what you come to New Orleans for. Only minutes from the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino, the Riverwalk and the Warehouse District, distinctive styling, uncompromised convenience and a friendly staff await you. Historically located on a site that was formerly the plantation of Jean Baptist Lemoyne de Bienville, founder of New Orleans, the Pelham Hotel offers a grand scale of personal service and attention to detail in an intimate boutique setting reminiscent of old-world European grace. The hotel offers the luxurious living standards of elegant New Orleans combined with personal attention and an unwavering commitment to your happiness. This historic landmark hotel offers 60 uniquely appointed guestrooms featuring grand 18-foot ceilings, original old brick walls, crown molding and 10-foot-tall windows. Each room is fitted in imported white linens, duvets and antique furnishings. In-room amenities include a self-programmable safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and radio alarm clocks with iPod/MP3 connections. Marble floors, granite vanity tops and curved shower rods adorn each bathroom. Adjacent to the Pelham Hotel is the highly acclaimed Ruby Slipper Restaurant, featuring local flavors such as BBQ Shrimp & Grits and Bananas Foster Pain Perdu along with traditional favorites for breakfast and lunch. Surf the web or catch up on some work with peace of mind as all guests of the Pelham Hotel can enjoy free wireless Internet access! Hotel is 100% Smoke-Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pelham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing