We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Stay at the Westin New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #78 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“3rd Stay at the Westin New Orleans”
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I don't understand some of the negative comments that this hotel received. We have stayed at this hotel 3 times. The first two times we stayed in a standard room and it was nice with an awesome river view. Most recently we stayed after a cruise from New Orleans and decided to stay here again. Being a SPG Gold member, I don't always expect an upgrade because I realize it's based on availability. After our cruise the manager was nice enough to upgrade us to a suite. It really made our stay more pleasant. We've stayed in their regular rooms and they are spacious and are newer that most hotels in NOLA. I love the location and the view from the lobby is spectacular. All three times that we stayed here, we have never encountered a problem with the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamsMommy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    565
    293
    114
    67
See reviews for
321
460
59
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I gave it two stars only because of the location and the view. We bid the hotel through priceline so we didn't pick the hotel ourselves. The location and the view from our room was great but everything else was disappointing. The frontdesk was short staffed. The elevator was slow and didn't work well with the key card sometimes. The bathroom in the lobby was in need of fixed up. The ice machine on our floor was broken. We notified the maid but it was still broken the next day so we had to go upstairs for ice. Room service was under par. One day after the room was cleaned there was still trash on the floor. The sofa pillow was not put back either. We called to have the room redone. After that, the trash was gone but everything else was the same. On the first day we left a note asking for a second bathrobe (it's a double occupancy king-bed room), but that request was never answered. On the last day we stayed, we heard hammer and drills at 8:30am in the morning from next door.
I later noticed a sign at the frontdesk that the hotel was independently owned and managed. Maybe Westin should consider remove its brand from this local hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I love Starwood hotels and the Westin in particular, but this hotel failed to live up to the Westin Standard in so many ways.

The bar closed at 11 pm (during Mardi Gras), you couldn't get food after 10pm (including room service) and worst of all, I got no maid service for three days, despite leaving messages for the hotel manager, which went unanswered. I didn't manage to talk to an assistant of some sort and he assured me he would take care of it, but alas, nothing. Next rip to NOLO I will be staying at the JW Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aliveinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We live in Canada and had been travelling since 3.00am.
We arrived at the hotel at 5pm and despite having Platinum status with SPG, we were told that our room was not ready. A token was given to us for the bar (which we gratefully accepted) and our cellphone number was taken to allow the front-desk staff to contact us when the room was ready. We had multiple bags and cases of scuba diving equipment and had to wait with them in the lobby while the front-desk staff ascertained exactly why the room was not ready.

The lobby is stunning; clearly, after 15 hours of travelling, we were not!
We were desperate to retire to our room, clean-up and get some rest.

After 35 minutes, no communication had been forthcoming and numerous guests were checking-in and being sent directly to their rooms. So, we approached the front-desk and asked about the status of our room and were told "It's ready"
We asked why we had not been called on our cell and were told it was because they did not have our number! No apology was offered and the main aim of the front-desk staff seemed to be to deflect any responsibility and pass blame to anyone they felt appropriate. Sadly, one of the staff was an Assistant Manager so her response was very disappointing.

When we finally got into our room, 50 minutes after checking-in at reception, we found a public hair on the rim of the toilet and hair shavings on the wall of the shower. The phone rang-out continually when attempting to reach housekeeping and the front desk and exasperated, exhausted and thoroughly fed-up, we cleaned the bathroom ourselves with some wet wipes and then showered. (We stay frequently stay in SPG hotels and this is the first time we have encountered any issue with cleanliness) No attempt was made to contact us throughout our stay to address the difficulties we encountered with checking- in or about our complaint about housekeeping.

After our stay, we followed-up our complaint in writing with the management of the hotel and feel that this was handled with empathy and consideration.

This hotel is in a fabulous position in New Orleans, The views from the roof-top swimming pool and the hotel lobby are fabulous. We stayed during a weekend multiple conferences (government agencies) and perhaps the staff were stressed and unable to cope?

This was our fifth stay at a hotel in New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I would describe this Westin as a solid conference hotel. It is clean, the front desk staff is polite and professional, the rooms have great views, and the fitness center is terrific. As an SPG Platinum member I received a great room upgrade.

However, the hotel seemed somewhat sterile and devoid of character. Some wear and tear was evident, especially with respect to the carpeting. The service level is subpar for a hotel in its category and for that reason alone I would not recommend it. In general staff did not seem interested in assisting guests. My biggest disappointment was that when I arrived on a Friday night the hotel could not provide any laundry options until Monday night when other nearby hotels offer Saturday service, as one would expect from an upscale full-service hotel.

There are many other great choices nearby. For a nice SPG hotel in the vicinity I would wholeheartedly recommend the W New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I travel often and this Westin is superior in layout, service, and style. From the moment I checked in and was assisted by Justine, my stay could not have been any better. The rooms were extremely clean and quiet. All staff appear to be very attentive to guest. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatWestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Next to the downtown of New Orleans,nice view to the river of Mississippi

Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mastrogiannis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#82 of 162 in New Orleans
2,187 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#71 of 162 in New Orleans
3,385 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#75 of 162 in New Orleans
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
2,428 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#61 of 162 in New Orleans
2,316 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing