We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Galerie Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Orleans Marriott(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bienville House(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Pelham(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel de L'Eau Vive(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,743)
Filter reviews
1,744 results
Traveller rating
568
624
332
134
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
568
624
332
134
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloor lobbygreen barheavenly bedupscale mallhigh end mallgreat locationfrench quarterrooftop poola river view roomharrah's casinobourbon streethotel lobbyparking garageself parkguest roomsconvention centershower head
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,633 - 1,638 of 1,744 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2011

After reading the reviews we decided to book the Westin. I was more than pleasantly surprised upon our arrival. It was a beautiful hotel with a wonderful view of the Mississippi River and a great city location. We would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckyjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

The Westin has great customer service, beautiful ambience, and is located within easy walking distance of the French Quarter, Warehouse District, and the convention center.
The entire staff was professional and friendly.
There were two unusual circumstances. First, they encourage you to re-use towels. However, there are no towel racks on which to hand wet towels.
Second, the Wi-Fi never worked. Very frustrating.

Do make sure that you visit the roof-top swimming pool.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGKramb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Good location just southeast of the French Quarter. Easy walk to good shopping and food, and that's about where the good ends with this property. After booking a riverfront room up top (near the pool) with pets, we were told upon checkin we didn't have our 25th floor riverfront room but had the lowest floor "city view" which overlooked a parking garage. Oh well, once inside our room it was immediately obvious this Westin didn't live up to the Westin standard. The bathroom was dingy with a dirty floor that client be cleaned, and had a clean towel folded with a blood stain on it. Bed was fine, carpet was stained throughout. Great location with the pool on the roof (29th floor) but the water was cloudy and you could just make out the bottoms of the pool. Make sure you wear flip flops of shoes on the deck, as the warped/rotted wood is crawling with splinters ready for your bare feet. Overall below average experience, wouldn't recommend unless your not paying for the room.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

The aquarium is across the street, shopping is down stairs and casino right behind hotel. We can walk to everything. Their staff are very firendly and helpful, expecially the concierge. We love the Westin bed!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I did not have a car so location was the reason why I picked this hotel. First time staying at a westin, and the lobby looked so elegant. Everything was made of glass and sparkling. The lobby had fresh flowers arrangement and right outside of local eateries. The best part was the plush beds..Although the bed was a bit high for my young kids, it was nice. Since I had no car, shopping was right downstairs. I was able to visit ann taylor, white and black house market, and grab some pizza for the kiddos. Great idea for mommy time while kiddos are asleep. The only thing that would make it better, was cheaper parking and maybe cookies upon checkin like doulbetree..heck anything free at checkin. Since we paid roundtrip shuttle tickets at the airport, we did not park here but the signs says $25 or so but that seems to be the norm with hotels nowadays. BTW, the aquarium is across the street and casino right behind hotel. Also, the tram stop is nearby to take you to cafe du monde and other tourist points of french quarter. We also did the horse carriage tour around the french quarter.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananaDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews