We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for the Awesome Westin SPG upgrade!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #82 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We booked three days here over the weekend. When we arrived early, we were pleasantly surprised to be given an upgrade to the 29th floor overlooking the Mississippi River. The room is huge, probably 800-900 sq. ft. A huge foyer, a living room with a nice couch, barrels chairs, a nice flat screen, and a separate bar area. Glass French doors open to the large king bed area, and a big closet and great vanity area. We book into Westins, because they have the best beds ever. The staff here at so well trained, cordial, friendly and will do anything to make you happy. We booked two more nights at Westins on the way home. We didn't dine here as we went to many classic New Orleans restaurants while we were here. They have a huge pool on the roof with a small bar area and a fantastic view, the best I have seen at a hotel. The exercise room was well equipped with new LifeFitness machines, a least ten of them, and free weights, and a nice array of great machines other than the cardio ones. When I come to New Orleans again, I will most definitely stay here. Be sure to use the Pedicabs to get around, the young folk who bike you around are great adventurous spirits who will tell you the great places to go. Thanks NOLA you are a great city!,

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for a good view, overlooking the river to watch the boat, barge and train act...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Wonderful! Thank you very much for the nice review and in visiting us at Westin New Orleans! We're delighted that you had such a great visit with us and enjoyed your upgrade to a Bienville Suite. Our staff takes pride in delivering friendly and personal service to our guests, so we'll be sure to share your compliments with them. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,618)
There are newer reviews for The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

Yes they had the heavenly beds & towels but that's it. The pool deck had a great view but it was a dump. Chipped paint on the railings, lounge chair cushions dirty and messy. Needs attention.
Staff was friendly and helpful. Great location! Mid week rate was within my budget.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caelan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

We appreciate your taking the time to let us know about your stay. While we're happy to hear that our staff took care of you and you enjoyed our location, we apologize that you were disappointed in your overall say. Your comments will assist us in improving our hotel for future guests.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

I didnt stay here but went to the bar. The best attributes were that it was not busy and the service was excellent. Our bartender was Kara. She was bubbly, friendly and knowledgable. She even recommended a great place for breakfast. If you are looking for a good, quiet bar, this is your place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank kfraga212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your visit to The Green Bar. We're happy to hear you enjoyed it! We'll be sure to pass along you compliments to Kara, and hope to welcome you back soon!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Being locals, we have yet to stay in many of the hotels around the city. The Westin was our first of what will be many "staycations". These are my overall impressions of our night there:

1. Pool and pool area were REALLY gross. A big letdown on a hot day.
2. Riverview was fantastic. The window was dirty on the outside.
3. Location is great.
4. Bed super comfy - but seemed more like a double than a queen.
5. NO FRIDGE!! Minibar, but couldn't open it without key. Too much work for me.
6. No HBO. Cheap channels in general.
7. Bathroom was nice.
8. The staff I talked with were all VERY nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for choosing us for your staycation and taking the time to let us know about your stay. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our location and that our staff took care of you during your visit. We apologize for the issues you encountered with the cleanliness of our pool area and minibar. Your comments will assist us in improving our hotel experience for future guests.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I was only here for a weekend, but the hotel is shabby. It appears nice, and it's connected to the nicer mall in the area, so you would think, being a conference center hotel, connected to a mall, they'd get it together? NOPE. This was not to my personal standards of a Westin at all.

The staff in-person, were VERY nice, accommodating, helpful, and approachable, but the housekeeping staff are in serious need of training. In fact, the room was never properly cleaned (I'll get to that) the whole stay.

It's like they are on the cusp of a renovation, but there were just too many quality concerns not to add up and mention. The rooms appear new-ish as far as decor, but they are shabby and poorly lit. The mini bar is still in the room, but you cannot use the it and there is nothing in it. At LEAST in NOLA, provide a fridge for my Abita to stay cold, or sell it to me overpriced?? Oh. And the elevators. Never were they all working, and at one point, NONE of them were. Our floor? The 25th. The hotel lobby STARTS on the 11th (accommodation for mall, I assume?) Let's just say once you were downstairs, Saturday AM, we didn't come back up and it was an issue.

Then, they apparently are very big on 'conservation' around the hotel. Signs and notes everywhere to conserve water and how. At this point, I have decided they have a skeleton housekeeping crew, and that housekeeping crew doesn't actually clean. Instead, they ask you to help them keep the staff working minimally and greenwash their lack of cleanliness by labeling it "conservation."

They'll offer you $5 if you hang a tag on your door by 2a refusing house cleaning the next day. GROSS. And, even after I requested our sheets be changed by leaving the card on the beds, because of a stain I saw on my sheets, they were not. Because the stain was STILL there, and I slept on it twice. But they were remade, and the card placed back on top of the bedspread.......

And then, while housekeeping staff would take the dirty towels, TWICE, none were left to replace the ones removed. Have you ever been alone in a hotel room? Assumed towels were in the bathroom, hopped in the shower, showered, and then not had a way to dry off minus hand towels? Let's just say it was the icing on the cake for an overall shabby hotel.

With as many places and price points in the summer time in New Orleans, how can they be in business? This is by far one of the worst hotels I've stayed in in NOLA. And certainly not up to the standard I have come to expect with Starwood brand hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Your nice comments about your interactions with our associates were appreciated and will truly energize our team to continue to deliver personal service. We apologize for the issues you experienced with our elevators and with housekeeping. We are currently upgrading our elevators to eliminate issues such as this in the future. Your comments will also assist us in improving our housekeeping services.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our family stayed for a night before departing on a cruise. The location is excellent and is convenient by walking to many restaurants, stores, and bars in the French Quarter. We started our stay by checking in early because we were tired from a long drive. Michael was very helpful during the check in. The hotel is connected to a shopping mall which we liked. Parking in the garage was around $20/day. The room was very clean and the price was very reasonable. We noticed that the beds were very comfortable and we also appreciated having a refrigerator.
We highly recommend this hotel as it fit our needs perfectly!

Room Tip: Try to get a river view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALITD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thanks for the nice review and in visiting us at Westin New Orleans! We're delighted that you had such a great visit with us and it sounds like you were able to visit some really great areas of our unique city. Our staff takes pride in delivering friendly and personal service to our guests, so we'll be sure to share your compliments with Michael. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at the Westin Canal Place for our 2013 family reunion. The lobby of the hotel is unique because its on the 12th floor and the view of the french quarter and the river are spectacular! Although the hotel is not quite as luxurious as I originally thought. The roof top pool is a bit scary, railings feel loose and the pool area very outdated with very cheap looking grass carpet around the pool. Also pool is a bit small. Although, there is a very nice upscale mall on the street level of the hotel.

Even though we planned this trip in advance and had a room block for our family reunion, my family and a few guests still had trouble checking in. We were given a room and then when we went to the room, it had been given to another guest in a matter of 20 minutes. It took about an hour to straighten it out, but the managers handling it did a very good job and got it straightened out for us and compensated us for the major inconvenience.

We were upgraded to a rather large suite with a fabulous view of the river. However, the room was weird. Nice bedroom, very very large living room area with a dining table ... the room was very large, not very plush but large. There was a sort of wetbar next to the very large living/dining area ... no fridge, no microwave and no sink .. wondering what that room was actually for.

The hallways leading to the suite were a bit dirty, major scratches on the walls and stains on the carpet. It's a decent hotel, but if you are looking for plushness or luxury, the Westin Canal Place New Orleans is not that.

There were alot of events happening the weekend we were there and there were malfunctioning elevators and long waits for elevators.

We had an event at the hotel in one of their meeting rooms, the food was terrific and the service in the room where we hosted our event was EXCELLENT! We loved that experience, however, the mens restroom on the level where we had our event with auto flushing toilets, did not flush.

So we had an overall good experience, just a few problems with the hotel that made is just an average rated visit. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeeRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We’re happy to hear that you appreciated our great location and that our Staff took care of you during your visit. We apologize that you experienced issues with your room block and were disappointed in our guest rooms. Your comments will assist us in improving our services for future guests. Thank you again for your review.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#77 of 166 in New Orleans
2,288 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
3,487 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#70 of 166 in New Orleans
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,549 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#63 of 166 in New Orleans
2,378 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £116 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing