We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally Solid.. but nothing special...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #70 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, Dc
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Totally Solid.. but nothing special...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Decent hotel.. nice sized-rooms. Great views of the city. It's kinda nice having the lobby on the 11th floor -- a nice escape from the hustle and bustle of the street. Clean hotel, but you got the feeling that it needs a really "Deep" cleaning. (I.E. - my bathroom was clean, however it still smelled kinda like a men's room. But, it didn't look dirty or anything.) Food is okay -- as always, it seems for breakfast, ordering off the menu is better than the buffet -- the Westin's healthy menu is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view.. overlooking the French Quarter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W_on_the_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Greetings,

Thanks for the feedback on your recent visit to Westin New Orleans Canal Place. We are glad that you enjoyed our 11th floor Sky Lobby. We feel that it is a great retreat from the music of New Orleans. We will certainly work to improve in the areas that you highlighted and hope to welcome you back in the future to see what we have accomplished!

Thanks Again,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    550
    280
    112
    62
See reviews for
313
436
56
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Being that I wanted to be close to the French Quarter, this was a rock on place to crash. The views are amazing being that the lobby is high up giving you a great check-in experience. Alex the bellman assuming that was his name was very helpful and friendly and also gave us great insights of where me and my wife should dine and party. The rooms were okay but they were clean so the other minor things we overlooked. Great place to crash for a weekend escape.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyZ678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Greetings,

We are delighted to hear about your awesome weekend at Westin New Orleans. We'll be sure the share the compliments on our cleanliness with our housekeeping team and the nice note on our bellstaff. Thanks for visiting and we hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Spent 4 nights at the Westin Canal Place and really liked the location. The lobby is on the 11th floor and the view of the Mississippi River is incredible. Makes for a great place to eat breakfast or lunch. Our room was on the 17th floor with a view towards the old Riverwalk. We had a big clean room which is a short walk from Bourbon St and the whole French Quarter. Easy and safe walk I should add. We walked at night and never felt unsafe or uncomfortable. And the hotel is far enough away from Bourbon Street to be very quiet when you do want to sleep. I attended a meeting at the Convention Center which is a pretty good hike - especially since our meeting was at the far far end of the Convention Center. That's at least a mile walk. Doable but a long walk. The old Riverwalk is now closed and being remade into an outlet mall. All in all, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Taxis are readily available on the street outside the Hotel. Plan on 30 minutes to the airport. Fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Greetings,

Thanks for commenting on your visit, as we are so delighted that you enjoyed our amazing views. We are certainly a short walk away from many of the great attractions of New Orleans that you pointed out. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Westin is located next door to the Aquarium, the Insectarium, and a short walk to the heart of the French Quarter. The lobby is actually on something like the 12th floor with this great view of the quarter and the river. The bellmen on the ground floor are extremely helpful.

Room Tip: River view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wheels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit. We certainly reep the benefits of our amazing location and views. We're glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here for a weekend. Ok my husband and I check-in the receptionist tells us for being a Starwood member we can get one free cocktail from bar or free points. Well that's fine but its two of us as for as the drink goes. She tells us we can only get one drink. Ok we'll take the points. What two people going to do with one drink??? The rooms are a decent size for New Orleans. However when we got to our room it smelled like rubbing alcohol. At the night the loud train blowing, annoying. Not to mention my neighbor mones and groans so the walls are very thin. A lot of moisture in bathrooms kinda mildrewy. One free water complimentary for the whole weekend. Shouldn't you at least bring another the next day and by the way its Two guest. SMH.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeKendra30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Greetings,

Thanks for providing us feedback on your visit and your comments are right on. We'll work to improve based on your suggestions and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

The good: the staff was friendly and quick to resolve problems. A bellman came promptly when I needed to check out. The service express line was answered quickly.

The bad: There were a lot of little problems that can be attributed to inattention to detail. I was charged for valet parking when I did not park at the hotel. There was no menu for room service in my room. 90% of the items on the room service breakfast menu are not on the breakfast hangtag; this led to an error in my breakfast order. One of my toiletry items looked like it had been used by a prior guest and not replaced.

Overall: The staff was nice about fixing problems, but it was annoying to have so many little problems.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JustPassingThrough22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, MS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

After leaving the Saints game, we decided we wanted one more night. I grabbed my iphone map and started tapping/calling familiar sounding hotels. Prices were in the upper $200s/300s for most rooms until I came across The Westin for $189. We booked and WOW, what a find. The hotel has to have the best views in New Orleans. The Westin couldn't be more convenient. The rooms were clean, roomy, and VERY comfortable.

I'll say this, I've always enjoyed staying at different hotels for my frequent family trips. I just may be done with that. The Westin may be my permanent stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsted222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#79 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,208 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,245 reviews
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing