We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great evening, exceptional service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #70 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Great evening, exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The view is incredible, and the location is on top of a very nice mall and next to the famous Canal Street. We then were met with fantastic service from Jesse Jones. Friendly and helpful, he made our stay at a wonderful hotel even better! Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for the notes regarding your recent visit with us! I will be sure to thank Jesse for providing the personal service touches that we are striving to deliver to our guests at Westin New Orleans Canal Place. We find that these small personal touches are paramount to you having a great experience.

Please come back and see us again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    550
    279
    112
    62
See reviews for
313
436
56
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is your classic Westin hotel, a little more reasonably priced than some. The location is GREAT - overlooking the river (if you are lucky enough to get a room facing that direction) and within walking distance of most of the great locations in New Orleans - world class dining, Bourbon Street, Harrah's Casino, Canal Street, shopping (it is connected to a beautiful shopping center including Saks Fifth Avenue), the piers and riverwalk area, and the aquarium. The rooms are nice - typical with the usual sweet sleeper beds and yummy shower heads. Starbucks coffee in the guest rooms gets you going in the morning.

My only negative comments are the way the lobby is set up - needing to come up an elevator to the lobby on the 11th floor and then across the lobby to the guest room elevators. On the plus side there, the lobby is a great, relaxing space with sofas, tables, and local books on the area. The ventilation system is a little weird in the rooms as well - windy feeling and hard to get the temperature right. They could use a little more window washing and scrubbing of the hotel - it's not dirty, it just doesn't shine. Servicing of the rooms is slow - we had to request our room be cleaned a couple days after 4 pm when they had not been through yet. I noted that crumbs that were on the nightstand were still there 3 days later, so wasn't impressed with that.

Room Tip: Select a room away from the elevators and with a view of the river. If you can get a suite - do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheri7960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Westin New Orleans experience! We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and noticed some of our recent enhancements in the lobby. We'll take the constructive comments back to the team and work to improve thanks to your feedback.

We are eagerly anticipating the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I really like the location of this hotel. Unfortunately I came when New Orleans was hit with wet cool weather, but I can only image the views you have from this hotel on a clear sunny day. The Pool is on the roof and gives you a panoramic view of the city. Bed is comfortable, and the service is good!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Greetings,

Thanks for taking the time to share some details from your recent experience! We certainly had an unusual cold spell recently, but luckily we are off to a warm start in December.

Our views of the Mississippi River and French Quarter are certainly majestic and our newly renovated lobby is designed to take even greater advantage of this perk to enhance your experience. We are also adding a beverage program in the evenings in our lobby to allow our guest an even greater enjoyment of this amazing space.

We look forward to better weather on your next visit and can not wait to welcome you back!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
276 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great staff, great rooms, great views....great location! Located across from the casino, over an upscale mall with Nordstroms and Tiffanys (coming soon), etc. Right on the fringe of the French Quarter and easy walk. We had great views of the canal and French Quarter from our room. Big beautiful windows in the lobby (on the 11th floor) offer fabulous views as well. Staff is friendly and helpful, maps readily available. Room was very comfortable and amenities were as expected from a Westin property.
If you have a late flight they have an excellent, safe and secure luggage storage available so that you can enjoy more of New Orleans
I highly recommend if you are visiting New Orleans staying at this property. No complaints!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Greetings,

Thanks for taking the time to respond regarding your recent experience! We were delighted to hear about your amazing visit and will share the positive comments with our team to energize them for future guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Last minute booking around ~$120/night. Pictures looked great and the 4-star rating made the price point appealing. However, hotel is very tired and in need of a good scrubbing. You really never get the clean feeling. $80-100 a night is of good value but anything higher I would avoid. Not close to a 4-star hotel. Disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank damieniz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Greetings,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us! We apologize that you were disappointed and will work diligently to improve prior to your next visit in thanks to your feedback.

I am confident that you will notice the improvements and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We planned a weekend get together with my sisters and mother, staying at the Westin Canal Place because it was convenient and reserved for my sister as a part of a work trip. The room was spacious and nicely appointed. The hallways were always cold for some reason, really cold. I wasn't very impressed with the main bar area, although the view from the lobby was quite lovely. I would have liked servers to be available in the lobby area as running back and forth to the Green bar was a bit frustrating. I also used the business center to check in for our flights home but then found there wasn't any paper to print with. The entire room, with lots of cabinets and key required entry, had absolutely no paper, pens, nothing. I'm glad I was the only one in the room because there was only one working computer to choose from. I must agree with a previous poster, the hotel felt a little dingy and lacking of staff. The location was excellent and I would stay there again, it just wasn't the level of service nor experience I was expecting.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winstongal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Greetings,

Thanks for sharing the feedback from you recent experience with us at Westin New Orleans Canal Place! We appreciate both the positive comments and the areas that you noted where we fell short of our goal in providing you with a perfect guest experience.

Specifically, I would like to inform you that we will be launching a new wine program in the evenings in our newly renovated lobby to take advantage of all of the guests such as yourself, who want to sip on a beverage while enjoying the breathtaking views of our sky level lobby. I can't wait for you to come back and enjoy this new amenity.

Thanks again for your feedback and our team is eagerly anticipating your next visit!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
456 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

i have stayed here many times over the years and it gets worse each time not better.

This includes 3 times in the last 12 months. Each of these trips was at the invitation of the manager to make up for the terrible previous stay and each one was worse than the last!

I am platinum for life with this chain and stay in their hotels 100 a year so I know what to expect in a hotel.

This stay was to make up for the previous stay that had a barking dog in the room next all night long.

I was assured that if I came back it would be different and it was ,much worse!

The room was one of their river suites and I swear you can not tell they have done anything to upgrade it through the last 2 hurricanes!

It looks like they just painted over the mold! The carpet is disgusting,the furniture was worn out 20 years ago just like the rest of the hotel. they claim they are renovating but they have been saying that for the last year.
The new furniture in the lobby looks like pic nick tables

The biggest problem was the lack of service.The trash can in the living room wasn't emptied for three days and then only because I complained numerous times.

In fact any time you requested anything the staff ignored the request.I had to ask for robes six times 3 from the manager on duty before I got them and the same was true with everything else.

then there was the restaurant.The first morning we had breakfast , there was a single serving jar of jam on the table that had been used by a previous diner. the dishes on the table had coffee splashed on them a couple of days running and the service was beyond terrible.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelLikeaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Greetings,

Thanks for taking the time to respond to us regarding your recent experience! I am disappointed to hear about the continual challenges you have had with your last few visits. I have shared your comments with several departmental leaders with in our team and I can assure you that we will work as hard as we can to pinpoint these areas in order to improve. We will get better as a result!

Our lobby renovation is complete as you mentioned and we have received overwhelmingly great feedback from our guest. The lobby does contain 3 "communal tables' which are designed to allow our guest to have functional gathering areas to plug in a lap top and enjoy a coffee in the morning or in the evenings to enjoy an appetizer and a glass of wine with friends prior to heading out in the Big Easy.

If you do decide to stay again, I am still confident that you will notice improvements in comparison to each of your previous visits. We hope to gain that opportunity!

Thanks Again,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#79 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,209 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing