We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #80 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well worn”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel definitely has a great location but seems a little worn and in need of refurbishing. The carpet throughout the hotel was worn and stained and staff was not keeping up with basic cleanliness [trash in elevator that remained for most of the day]. Also very noisy in halls at night - to be expected during festival weekends in New Orleans but we did not expect the fights and loud cursing that broke out in hall later at night and in early morning hours.
For the most part the staff was friendly & helpful. Bed was very comfortable and view was great.
Would probably consider a hotel farther away from the French Quarter next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MEG009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager W, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback about your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you found our property to be worn. We definitely take this into consideration and schedule regular property refreshes to make sure our hotel continuously meets guests expectations. I hope you were able to enjoy our newly refreshed lobby, restaurant, and public areas, as well as our fully remodeled Westin Workout studio. We are continuing to enhance our hotel throughout this year, but I will be sure to pass your comments along to our team.

I am glad you enjoyed our Heavenly Beds, views, and location during your stay and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Westin next time you’re in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    578
    301
    118
    70
See reviews for
333
470
63
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I've stayed at this property several times and exceeds expectations every time. The only downfall is the lobby location on the 11th (I think) floor. So it takes two elevator rides to get to your room. However, because of the lobby location, it has one of the best views in any New Orleans hotel. Just being in the lobby is a great experience. In addition the room size exceeds any other hotel room in New Orleans. Their almost too big... but that's not a complaint. The bathrooms could use a little upgrading - but that's only because they are your standard Westin bathroom. The 27th floor, rooftop pool also has one of the best views in downtown. Although I wish the hotel would do more with the space they have on the pool deck. They could capitalize even more with this location.

All in all, it's a good location for a conference or a visit to the quarter. Staff is usually friendly. Although my recent stay I wasn't acknowledged for my SPG status nor given my gift and extended checkout. But those minor things deal with the perks of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor facing the river are some of the best views in the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jleuenbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager W, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello!

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin New Orleans Canal Place! We are delighted to hear that you have stayed with us several times before and that you enjoyed our marvelous views. Though I am disappointed to hear that you were not acknowledged for your SPG status. We strive to make every SPG member feel special during their stay, I will be sure to discuss this with our team.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I recently stayed at the Westin New Orleans Canal Place and was more or less indifferent. I'm an SPG Platinum and it was between this or the W. Since I was traveling with my mom, we felt the Westin would be more appropriate. We tried to use suite nights, however, they were booked solid given that they had two weddings going on.

I used a measely 22k points for two nights, which I felt was a steal. However, we were not treated like SPG Platinum and the staff was fairly bland. I understand that there were two weddings going on and that we were using points, but every other SPG property I've been to that I've used points still treated us like royalty. All in all, I was fairly disappointed in the service and the staff, aside from the bartenders and the bellhops at the entrance. That guy was awesome.

Pros--Great location, nice lobby, good view from the top.
Cons--double beds (feel really small once you've stayed in a heavenly queen-sized or king-sized bed), no in-and-out policy for self-parking (valet was around $40/night!), service was bland and definitely didn't feel Platinum.

Room Tip: Get a view of the river on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwwhite10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hello There!

Thank you for sharing such valuable feedback about your recent visit to Westin New Orleans Canal Place. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, view, and newly renovated lobby. However, we certainly cannot have our valued guests feel as though we provided bland service.

I will share this feedback with our team immediately. We want our associates to engage our guest with personal service to better connect the culture of our city throughout the services of our hotel.

We certainly hope to see you again to see some of the improvements we have made first hand!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Westin on Canal is a great hotel. The suites are spacious and well appointed. The lobby is a wonderful space to enjoy an drink and the views of the Misssippi and French Quarter.

The hotel is a short walk from Jackson Square, across the street from the casino, and walking distance to some fabulous restaurants.

The service is fabulous with courteous and attentive staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi There!

Thank you for the great description of some of the unique features that makes the Westin New Orleans Canal Place such a great experience for visitors to our city. Enjoying a cocktail in our lobby while watching the traffic on the Mississippi River is something every visitor should do at least one time. It is truly special.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I read a few less than flattering reviews, so was very observant. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. The parking attendant welcomed us back to the hotel. The hotel was very conveniently located to the attractions. Our room overlooking the city was quite large and spacious. It was very quiet and we had a wonderful night's sleep in one of the most comfortable beds ever. The bathroom had very nice toiletries and a double shower head. A small thing that caught my attention was the shampoo and conditioner had large print so you could read it in the shower - attention to detail! Several tips from reviewers were helpful. When parking in the parking garage, look for the triple bank of elevators so you will easily reach the lobby. A room on the city side is quieter. Have your parking ticket validated for a reduced rate. Compare several websites to get a very good rate. All in all, an excellent value.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Instanttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hello!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Westin New Orleans Canal Place. It was nice of you to share some great tips to other travelers about the parking validation and garage elevators. I could not have explained any of it better myself... Thank you!

I will be sure to share your complimentary notes regarding our staff, as great positive reinforcement from our guest feedback has proven to be an amazing motivator in the past.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was in the ideal spot for us. Not only is it a 2 minute walk from the French Quarter, it is a 2 second walk from Harrahs Casino. Also, it was located near almost everything we did. It is nice to walk to all the places you want to go. The inside was rustic and modern. The rooms had great views of the city and river. The staff was ultra nice. I would def. stay here again on a trip back.

The breakfast is expensive but they have a buffet and it tasted great. They also have a bar and it had a good atmosphere for hanging out and talking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXTraveler728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hi There!

Thanks for that amazing review about your experience at Westin New Orleans Canal Place! We appreciate the delightful feedback and are excited to share the good news with our team.

Taking in our magnificent Mississippi River and French Quarter views are worthy of an entire afternoon while sipping on a few hand crafted cocktails from the Green Bar. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the ambiance in the Green Bar, but I also wanted to inform you of some upcoming improvements in this area. This summer we will be rejuvenating this space with an enhanced look which will include new furniture, a new design, a seasonal hand crafted seasonal cocktail menu along with a culinary focus on regional farm raised products.

We cannot wait to invite you back to enjoy these exciting changes!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Quick stop in town for a night. Front desk was very helpful, friendly and efficient during check in. Got a suite on the 24th floor with our SPG status. Very spacious room with a wonderful view of the French Quarter and Mississippi River. Comfortable Westin bed and beddings. Excellent safe location (walking distance to the French Quarter and lots of restaurants) next to a mall (One Canal Place Mall) and Harrah's casino. Lobby, restaurant, bar and front desk are located on the 11th floor. The lobby is a great place to unwind with wonderful expansive views of the FQ and River. Parking Garage nearby but you will change elevators 3 times (parking garage to mall, mall to 11th floor lobby, lobby to rooms). Get parking validation at the hotel and mall for a discounted rate. Will definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hello!

Thanks for sharing such nice feedback on our staff at Westin New Orleans Canal Place! We are excited to hear that you had a great visit to our unique city and that you took in our one of a kind views of the Mississippi an French Quarter. The view from our lobby and guest rooms are certainly out of this world.

I apologize that you had some challenges in which elevators to use when self-parking in the garage. I just wanted to note that there are two sets of elevators in the garage - one set that is on the river side and another set that is facing Harrah's casino and Canal Street. The set facing Canal Street has a sign listing our lobby location on the 11th floor. This set of elevators can be taken directly from the garage to our lobby. I am so sorry for the confusion.

We look forward to your next visit!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#81 of 164 in New Orleans
2,252 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#74 of 164 in New Orleans
3,450 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#71 of 164 in New Orleans
797 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#62 of 164 in New Orleans
2,357 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#21 of 164 in New Orleans
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing