We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for exploring!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #80 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great location for exploring!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Location really is key with this property. A few blocks in one direction and you're in the French Quarter. A few blocks the other way and the CBD and Warehouse district beckon. You will be greeted with a warm welcome by a great bell staff the minute you step out of your cab.

The rooms are quiet and relatively large, but some of the furnishings are a bit worn, as are some of the public areas. A re-fresh of the elevators last year improved this somewhat.

The on-site restaurant is just ok which is a shame because the staff is generally good and the views unparalleled. Being in New Orleans, the standard is quite high for dining and the Westin falls a bit short here, but there are hundreds of options off-site for dining.

Location 5 stars
Quality of sleep 4.5 stars
Staff 5 stars
Facility 3.5 stars
Restaurant 3 stars

We've stayed here at least 5 times and the location and staff keep bringing us back.

Room Tip: A room on the French Quarter side will give you a panoramic view of the river as well as the Quarter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grey_flattop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Westin New Orleans. We are glad you continue to enjoy our location, views, and service. On a note for improvement, I wanted to make you aware that I believe you will be pleased with several changes we are making in our restaurant and bar in August. We are enhancing both the physical environment and also the items and preparation of items on our menu as well.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    578
    301
    118
    70
See reviews for
333
470
63
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The unusual:
--Check-in on the 11th floor takes some getting used to and can necessitate some extra schlepping of bags. But gorgeous view of the river from the large waiting area.
--Self-parking requires a seemingly endless, spiraling ascent through one of the tighter garages I've seen.
--Bell service was slow. We had to call front desk 30+ mins after checking in (45 after pulling up). Not up to the Starwood standard, and especially frustrating when the unusual check-in situation makes dealing with anything more than a bag or two impossible. Especially with tired, fussy kids who of course need random items from the bags that have still not arrived at 11:45 pm.
--No SPG floor/amenities, though room quality did not suffer.

The nice:
--Great location near the water, with the Quarter and streetcar within easy walking distance. Nice views from the rooms and the pool, since the hotel sits on top of the parking garage/mall and all rooms are relatively high up.
--Our adjoining rooms were clean and on the level I'd expect from a nicer Westin. 25th felt like a Starwood floor, even though it wasn't.
--Friendly and efficient service as I'd expect, with the exception of the bellman delays.

Overall, we'd stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank puzzolente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for sharing both the highlights and the opportunities that you experienced during your stay at Westin New Orleans. We have shared both with our team in order to reinforce the areas that we are doing well and to learn from the where we can do better.

We hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Well my mom taught me if I was going to say something, say something nice. The Westin has a nice fitness area. OK, that is where it ends. While I had a large suite on the 28th floor, I found the rooms to be outdated, in need of some repair and deep cleaning and replacement of furniture. Sofa was stained and the coffee tables chipped. The bulb is the toilet area was out, as well as one of the bulbs in the bedroom. Small things that should be taken care of. While the room lacked, nothing prepared me for the food. My club sandwich from room service at lunch was disgusting. The fries were a greasy mess and puddled at the bottom. The sandwich tasted old. I only took a couple of bites. I called the front desk and complained and was told they were sorry and wanted to bring me another. NO!!! Be prepared for a lot of noise. People having parties, kids running down the hall and constant door slamming by the cleaning people made the quality of sleep painful. I struggle to understand why the cleaning staff has to continually go in and out of the room while cleaning. They put the metal bar that locks the door over and just go in and out and let the door slam each time. I finally had to go out and ask them to stop. I hope that they can turn this hotel around, not only for Westin, but for Starwood. They have a very week presence in NOLA. All of the hotels, including the W are outdated. I wish them luck.

Room Tip: My advice might be to find another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for sharing such valuable feedback regarding your recent experience. I have shared your detailed notes with our leadership team and we are working to improve based on each detail that you provided. I am certain that we will improve.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the future to prove this to you first hand.

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOS ANGELES
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a treat to stay even only for two nights at the Westin. Everything was flawless from the check in where I was asked if I preferred city or river view without asking. A great touch. My room 2602 was really spacious with great beds, wonderful pillow selection, heavenly linens and the usual great bathroom amenities which smell so good. room and bathroom were spotless.
I ordered room service and was concerned at first by the limited options on the menu. But the order came very quickly and everything was just perfect. For a big hotel kitchen to be able to bring so much attention and care to simple fares is in itself something to be congratulate on. My simple grilled cheese sandwich with tomato soup was ideal. The soup delicately spicy and extremely flavorful and light. The Cobb salad was chic: two big fresh wedges of lettuce and all the other ingredients obviously freshly prepared and not stalled like in some other places. And the fruit plate was another win: all the fruits sliced and fresh and tasty. It is rarely the case but here you could tell how the chef put a lot of his talent and schooling into making a simple but extremely good dish with pride.
I would like also to thank Carla from the Express service for being so nice. Check out very early on the 15th of July was a breeze and the front desk person was cheerful and gracious.
Hope to come back one day....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Good Day,

Thanks for taking the time to share your great experience with us! The team was overjoyed to hear that you had a great stay. From the comfort of your heavenly bed to the enjoyment of our local cuisine, your visit was exactly what we strive to deliver to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Westin for a wedding in New Orleans. We were so pleased with the customer service of each and every hotel employee. They were quick to help, gave great information and delivered everything timely with a smile on their faces. Overall, best customer service we have ever experienced!!! Will stay again at this amazing hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLC337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi There!

Wow... we are delighted to hear that you had such a great experience with us at Westin New Orleans Canal Place! Our team was reading about your visit today and thrilled to know that they were able to provide "the best customer service ever experienced". That is quite an accomplishment!

I could see the energy levels rise in several of our associates while reading your comments and I cannot thank you enough for sharing this feedback with our team. Our team has been even more inspired to work diligently to deliver the same levels of satisfaction that you experienced to each guest that we welcome due to your insight.

We look forward to your next visit to NOLA!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

SPG Gold member, stayed for 2 nights in July.
Got a suite which was extremely large, a waste of space if you ask me. Front office reps were a bit sloppy, had to take our own luggage upstairs cos no bellman was available to help.
Location is perfect though, smack in the middle of the french quarter. Lovely view of the Mississippi river.
I'll stay again only cos of the location and I won't be disappointed this time cos I won't be expecting a warm Westin welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajalatravel_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for the feedback from your recent experience at Westin New Orleans Canal Place. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the views and location, but are certainly sorry that we did not provide a warm Westin welcome. However, we are going to use this valuable information that you have taken the time to provide in order to improve our guest services immediately.

I have shared your feedback with our Front Office and Bell teams and we are confident that we have made a few small tweaks that will have a large impact on your next visit. We can't wait to find out if we can truly deliver the exceptional experience our guests deserve when we see you next!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I love this Westin. It's in a perfect location and has a great shopping mall on the lower levels. Hotel is spotless and room service was great! You can walk to great food/nightlife from this canal street location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to share the amazing comments about your recent visit at Westin New Orleans Canal Place! "Spotless, great location, room service great" - those are a few of the staples that we strive to consistently deliver for each and every guest.

We are delighted that you had a great visit and we can't wait to welcome you back!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#81 of 164 in New Orleans
2,252 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#74 of 164 in New Orleans
3,451 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 164 in New Orleans
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#70 of 164 in New Orleans
797 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#62 of 164 in New Orleans
2,358 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 164 in New Orleans
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing