We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the river!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #80 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great view of the river!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to enjoy the time in NOLA. The location is perfect to visit the French quarter and they have the best view of the Mississippi.

The services and amenities are good as well.

An important thing is that they have direct access to the mall and right across the street is a Casino, an Aquarium and an Outlet, also it is walking distance from other convenient stores.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for your endorsement. It seems like you had a nice visit to the city and I'm glad you chose to stay at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. It seems like you were satisfied with your stay but if you can think of anything else that you would like to see at our hotel, please message me to let me know. We are working hard to deliver the best possible guest experience. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    578
    301
    118
    70
See reviews for
333
470
63
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while I dropped my son off for college. Good location and while very close to French Quarter no real noise except for river bot whistles. The front desk and welcome was warm and helpful, rooms were "rooms" nothing too special but clean and well cared for. You stay here for the location and ease. I do give a shout out to the doormen who are wonderful, knowledgable about the area and always helpful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for the review. We receive lots of positive comments about our valet parking and bell staff. I'll make sure they see your feedback. It seems that you enjoyed your stay. I am interested in knowing what we can do to earn 4 possibly 5 stars on your next visit. If you have any further comments, please feel free to send them to me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I am a starwood platinum member so I stay in a lot of hotels. I came across this Westin last year on a business trip and absolutely loved it. The views from the hotel, the location and the welcoming door men can't be beat. I am now traveling to NOLA frequently as I have two sons at Tulane. We decided to try a suite at the Sheraton using my points, and I was just not happy there as I knew how nice the Westin was. I called over to the front desk at the Westin hoping I could some how move over. I spoke with Rosie who could not have been more accommodating. While the hotel was very full she managed to find us a suite and helped facilitate the transfer of the starwood points. She could not have been nicer more more competent and she has reinforced my loyalty to the starwood brand. Westin is lucky to have her!

Room Tip: River views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrecisionSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for your thoughtful comments. The bell and valet staff had a great weekend from the feedback I have read. Rosie is fantastic and consistently goes above and beyond to serve our guests. I'm certainly glad you were able to meet her and that she could come through for you during your visit. I will see to it that they see your review of their work.

Since you visit regularly and spend a lot of time in Starwood hotels, I'm interested in learning of any additional suggestions as to how we can deliver an even better experience. The team is working hard to perform at a high level and frequent guests tend to give excellent feedback.

Finally, we began making improvements to our Green Bar today so when you come back you'll have to come in for a drink and check it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I'm currently in this hotel, but since we won't be able to sleep, I have time to write a review. I booked this place last minute and paid extra for a suite so that my one year old would have his own space to sleep. Well, no one warned me that there was a wedding reception taking place below us. It sounds like the band is in our hotel room. I called the front desk to ask what was going on and she said "oh it will end soon", but it hasn't. We are absolutely miserable and just want SLEEP. By far the worst and most expensice hotel experience I've ever had.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacyeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
It was good to receive your note and I'm very sorry to learn that you had trouble sleeping due to reception on the 12th floor. We host many wedding receptions each year so your feedback is very valuable. Should you choose to stay with us again, I invite you to let me know and I will personally see to it that you receive a room on a higher floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Great location and wonderful staff. The hotel is definitely not as a quaint as some of the boutique hotels, but it is quiet and very secure , especially is you are a woman traveling by yourself. The staff is awesome. The hotel could use a little fresh paint, but other than that, it was great. You can walk anywhere in the quarter. Just bring flats!

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side have a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lau0529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for the kind review! We work to make all guests feel safe and I'm glad you enjoyed the river views. It can be very calming, especially at breakfast in River 127. Since we have recently adopted new initiatives aimed at elevating our service levels, your feedback certainly indicates that our team is focused. If you can think of any additional suggestions, please let me know. You'll be glad to know that we have several important maintenance projects underway including the redesign of Green Bar, which began today. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

When booking this hotel I requested a low floor. However, no where on the hotel website did it mention that the lobby is on something like the 14th floor and then the room floors start above that. I also didn't like the fact that there was a mall which is open to the public directly underneath. . .and anyone from the mall has access to the same elevator that took us to our room.

I also want to mention that although the hotel and room were a disappointment, the staff was not. We ended up leaving early because we were so dissatisfied, but the staff were wonderful in trying to resolve our problems and eventually helping us to check out early.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thanks for taking time to write a review. It is natural for guests to expect the lobby to begin on the ground level, however many guests enjoy the views from the 11th floor sky lobby. With our guestrooms on floors 14-29, each one offers nice views of the city and river. I understand that you were not happy with your room this time, but should you choose to return, please let me know and I will make sure you are on one of our upper floors. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We loved this place. We had a roof top pool and awesome views. The place was amazing and so glad we stayed here. The only bad thing was it was a little confusing where to check in and getting to our room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and the pool. Several of our guests find the initial check-in confusing since our lobby is on the 11th floor. Other guests tell us that the appreciate the privacy. I'll pass along your comments to our staff who will be glad to learn of your positive experience. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#81 of 164 in New Orleans
2,252 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#74 of 164 in New Orleans
3,450 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#71 of 164 in New Orleans
797 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#62 of 164 in New Orleans
2,357 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#21 of 164 in New Orleans
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing