We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Not pleased”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

The room had many housekeeping and maintenance issues. The carpet had several large stains. A wall mounted picture was missing and only the holes in the wall remained. Numerous wall plates were missing screws. Wallpaper was peeling. The wet bar fridge door fell off the hinges. Turndown wasn't performed on 1 day. Main lobby and the 5th floor elevator lobby furniture was thread bare.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2011
Dear Marshall089,

On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts.

I was troubled to read about the service inconsistencies during your most recent stay. You have my most sincere apologies and I have taken the steps to see that it doesn't happen again. We will be addressing the shortcomings of the room during our renovation process.

When returning to New Orleans, we hope you will consider staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,084
    304
    107
    63
    36
See reviews for
300
630
46
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madisonville, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

My husband and took our two boys ages 4 and 11 to stay at the Windsor Court for Mardi Gras this year. The service was impeccable and although it is a swank hotel, they were great with the kids. The price couldn't be beat and the room size was excellent, allowing us all enough room to have the necissary space. There were a number of parades that passed right in front of the hotel and the crowd on the parade route was very family oriented. It allowed for the safety, secuirty and privacy that we weren't sure we would find in a downtown New Orleans hotel. It was a great family trip and we will be booking again for next year.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EIcamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Dear Elcamina,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Windsor Court experience. It was a pleasure to hear your stay with us was enjoyable and that you had the opportuntity to experience Mardi Gras!

We take extreme pride in delivering world class service with a touch of charm. Whether for business or leisure, we strive to treat all guests like royalty.

We are very happy to hear that you have made the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Dressed in ripped jeans and t-shirts, we certainly didn't look like the usual Windsor Court guest. But in true southern hospitality, we were welcomed into this old-world (and ginormous) hotel.

While our suite was spacious with beautiful views of the city, we couldn't help but chuckle at the few things that felt off. First, there was the kitchen from the 70s that someone would bang on our door every morning to come check in on (something about the mini bar). Then there was the TV from the early 90s that sat at the end of our bed, rising up and down with a touch of a button. And the bathroom was simply outdated with chipped porcelain and weak faucets.

That being said, the bed was absolutely heavenly. And I wish I had more time at the gorgeous pool. But the central location lent itself to much time outside the room-- as we were just steps from downtown and a few blocks from the French Quarter.

I'd definitely come back, especially after they upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Dear Halleandtheworld,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you recently. At Windsor Court we strive to create a memorable and special experience for each and every guest.

I appeciate the positive feedback regarding the staff as southern hospitality comes naturally. We will be addressing the shortcomings of the room during our renovation process. Thank you again for staying with us. We are very happy to hear that you have made the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

This was not my first choice. Most of my party was at another hotel but I am delighted that that one was sold out. I stayed on a "Club" floor and it was a pleasure. The staff, service, comfort and amenities were outstanding. The only criticism would be that the sliders to the deck and closets along ith a noisy AC/Heat unit all obviously needed to be replaced. I travel to New Orleans often and will without doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nola12345646290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Dear Nola12345646290,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you recently. At Windsor Court we strive to create a memorable and special experience for each and every guest.

I appeciate the positive feedback regarding the staff. I'm sorry for the shortcomings with your room product. We will work hard to make the corrections during our upcoming renovations. Thank you again for staying with us. We are very happy to hear that you have made the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

Beautiful, elegant, tasteful hotel. Great quiet location within 5 min walk to French Quarter. The service is impeccable and all staff really make you feel special. The room was spacious, nice amenities and bathroom and the King size bed was extremely comfortable. I slept very well which I often do not do in a hotel. We had drinks and bar menu one evening which was very good. River and pool view from the balcony was enjoyable...it was nice to open the sliding door in March! As for any reviews stating that the hotel or furniture is shabby...I think these guests would prefer a brand new property with "IKEA" style furnishings. This hotel is old world elegant and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresita61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Dear Theresita61,

Thank you for choosing the Windsor Court and for sharing your experience. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your experience and felt the warm hospitality of the staff.

We are very happy to hear that you have made the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

We were in town for a family trip as well as some siness. The room was huge and well appointed with a small kitchen that was useful as far as the coffee maker. Beds were very comfortable and after 2 calls tohous keeping finally got 2 pillows that were a little firmer than what was there at first. Loved the twice daily turn down service. My main com paint was the concierge staff. Twice they gave us the wrong info after I had asked them to double check some things that ended up wasting us a lot of time and cost us $$ until a hawk eyed clerk at the swamp tour theory had booked for us caught the mistake. We are seasoned travelers and I always try to use the concierge when I can. This time I would have been better off just doing everything myself. Overall we loved the pool, work out facilities (absolutely convenient, gorgeous, clean) and the amenities. Hotel is off the beaten path but still very close to the French quarter so we weren't bothered by a lot of noise. The hotel can seem a little stuffy and this is intensified by the staff at check in and as stated, the concierges. Still, very awesome hotel experience, but now that I have stayed here and "gotten it out of my system" I don't think we'll be returning.there are so many fine hotels here that for the $$ I'd rather try something else.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsymcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Dear Betsymcm,

Thank you for choosing the Windsor Court and for sharing your experience.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse of service you experienced during your visit. Our goal is to provide you with exceptional service and to ensure that each and every one of your stays with us is a most pleasant and memorable one.

We hope that you will reconsider and make the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

Everyone raved about Windsor Court, and I wanted to like it more than I did. There were many positive aspects of our stay there. The people at the front desk were efficient and friendly, and the concierge service was great. The courtyard and lobby were attractive, with lots of fresh flowers adorning each.
The location was great, within easy walking distance to the French Quarter and many good restaurants in the Warehouse district.

We chose a full suite because three adults were sharing a room. The room was spacious, and we loved looking out at the river from our balcony on the 16th floor. The person in the living room slept on a rollaway bed and had his own entrance to a shared bathroom. Too bad I woke up stiff each morning. The sheets were silken, but the bed didn't support my back.

The room needed improvement. There were ugly chips in the porcelain sink. The sofa in the living area needed better cushions. The toilet sometimes kept running; we'd have to return to jostle the handle. The floor in the kitchenette was sticky. Housekeepers did not always clean the coffee cups we left in the sink, and they didn't replace the creamer and sugar when they ran out. We contacted the front desk twice about items such as facial tissue and note paper that needed to be refilled. Once we got an immediate response, but the second time we had to call again to get the service we requested.

If the price had been more moderate, I wouldn't gripe about some of the things I mentioned. But at $350 per night on a weekend, I expected more.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 43josie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2011
Dear 43josie,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you recently. At Windsor Court we strive to create a memorable and special experience for each and every luxury guest.

I appeciate the positive feedback regarding the staff. Southern hospitality comes natural here. I'm sorry for the shortcomings with your room product and the inconsistencies in service. We will work hard to make the corrections as soon as possible. Thank you again for staying with us. I hope we get to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,907 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,311 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,913 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Property: Windsor Court Hotel
Address: 300 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; Boutique Spa; fitness center; two cocktail lounges featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing