We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2012 Visit to The Windsor Court”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Court Hotel
Ranked #5 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed there for my 50th birthday. Not only is the hotel beautiful, restaurant, bar and fantastic, pool and spa amazing, the STAFF is 5 Star! This is the place to stay! Sadly, I missed afternoon tea but it looked exquisite! Won't miss it next time!

Room Tip: Request a high floor facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Sarah M,

Thank you for your posting about your recent visit to New Orleans and the Windsor Court.

I am so happy to hear our staff contributed to such a memorable 50th birthday celebration!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon so that you can try our legendary tea service and so that we can provide you with another wonderful stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,218 - 1,224 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

While we were recently very pleased with the Ritz Carlton in New Orleans, we chose the Windsor Court for this trip because of its outdoor hotel. We received a complimentary upgrade to a full suite, which I was very appreciative of. The furnishings in the room were amazing. It had such a warm, southern feel. The room was so large and the bed was fantastically comfortable.

The pool, which we booked the hotel for, was fine, though not particularly special. We also felt like the hotel was a bit under-staffed. For example, when we asked for a third bed to be set up from the couch, we never received bedding for a third person.

I was surprised to read negative comments about the location of this hotel. It is literally across the street from the French Quarter, conveniently located to all the best restaurants, including August and Cochon, and right next to the casino.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAG224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear PAG224,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We're happy to hear that, overall, you had an enjoyable stay and that you felt our furnishings and location added to your experience. I am, however, disappointed to hear about your challenges in receiving extra bedding. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and will certainly look into this.

I truly appreciate your comments and patronage and look forward to having you back as our guest in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here because a wedding was planned here and were very happy with our stay. It very much feels like a Ritz Carlton in the level of luxury and service, as well as the decor. That said, it also conveys as uniquely New Orleans flavor -- from the food offerings in the 2nd floor bar (gumbo with a rich roux) to the N.O. swing band in the lobby bar. Our suite was particularly spacious and a good value, especially because it was a miserably rainy weekend and we spent a lot of time in the room. Only a few minor complaints: no light at the desk; nobody replaced a burnt-out bulb that we placed by the lamp, no full-length mirror. All in all, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Bagan,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Windsor Court.

I'm happy to hear that, overall, you had a pleasant stay and that you were able to enjoy your spacious suite and the luxury level of service that we provide.

In regards to your comments about the room, we are actually in the process of installing the desk lamps as well as full-length mirrors in all the rooms so that should be rectified on your next stay.

We appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed here for three days at the end of June. This hotel is very nice and classy and far enough from the madness, yet still close enough to walk to the French Quarter (although the we took cabs for $5 after the first day of walking 3+ miles). We got a rental car from the airport since $18 a day (cost of the rental car through Costco) was cheaper than paying for a cab to and from the airport. However, when we got to the Windsor we found out we had to pay $35 a day for valet parking. There was no available parking on the street either. For the price we paid, I feel like it should have included free parking.

Other than that, the hotel was great. We stayed in the Junior Suite, which was too big for just two of us. We didn’t use the living area for anything. We really liked the live music in the lobby and bar. Tea time was very nice and the staff treated us like royalty despite me wearing jeans and a t-shirt. The bar and lounge in the hotel stayed near empty, but we didn’t mind since we hung out on Frenchmen St. and downtown. We also found the Jazz breakfast to be overrated and overpriced. I got the French toast and it was just “eh”. For the price, it was not worth it. I should add that the best French toast I’ve ever had was at Surrey’s Café and Juice Bar in New Orleans but that’s another review.

The only con is that we were woken up every night by police sirens and random drunks walking by yelling at the top of their lungs, but I guess it would be impossible to avoid this in New Orleans. We were so tired from walking that the noise didn’t keep us awake. Overall, it was a very classy hotel but if we ever go to New Orleans again we will try a different hotel… maybe Omni Royal or Royal Sonesta (we walked in here- VERY CLASSY but right on Bourbon St).

Room Tip: The Junior Suite was huge. We had a living room that we never used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Daniel R,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience to New Orleans and the Windsor Court.

I'm sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet all of your expectations.

While I am disappointed to hear that you may try a different hotel on your next visit to New Orleans, there are many great places to stay - all uniquely suited to fit an individual's specific needs and budget.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future. Thank you for visiting our wonderful city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This was truly a fantastic hotel. The staff were courteous and helpful all the way through the trip. The hotel was well maintained too. We stayed in a suite and were very happy with the size of the rooms. It was nicely placed in the fact it is only a short walk to the french quarter but it is quiet enough at night for the children to sleep. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would use it again if I go back to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderer051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Wanderer051,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience to the Windsor Court and to New Orleans.

We appreciate your recommendation and are pleased to hear you found our room size to be comfortable and our staff to be most helpful. Our room size is the largest in the city and our staff is definitely some of the best!

We look forward to another opportunity to provide you with a most pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by several friendly staff members to take our bags and guide us to check in. The rooms were quite large and beautifully decorated. I was delighted by the location. Close enough to walk to French Quarter but quite enough to get away from the night time craziness. The hotel bartender was very informative about the area and made us great drinks. It is pricey but worth the convenience. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear acmom3,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent visit to the Windsor Court.

I am delighted to hear our friendly staff, updated guest rooms and prime location provided you with an enjoyable stay to New Orleans.

We appreciate you taking the time to write on your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Windsor Court is an excellent hotel. The location is great for enjoying the french quarter, etc. The service was friendly and courteous. The hotel is well-kept if a somewhat dated style. The restaurant was great although the portions were a little large for my tastes. Wine list was pretty good. There was jazz music playing during dinner which greatly added to the experience. Also, the hotel is across the street from restaurant August, which I might recommend even more for dinner due to its effective use of great fresh seasonal products. Be aware if visiting from outside the region that this is a very humid part of the country. Despite efforts of the hotel we did see a cockroach in the room, which is probably something which can happen anywhere in new orleans. The concierge did a great job in steering us toward a local restaurant slightly outside the french quarter for brunch.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKS1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear SKS1969,

Thank you for sharing your experience of the Windsor Court Hotel during your recent visit to New Orleans. I am happy to hear that, overall, you had an enjoyable visit taking advantage of our great location and live jazz music.

I truly appreciate your comments and your patronage and look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,909 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#20 of 167 in New Orleans
3,230 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,720 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Address: 300 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £224 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a member of the Legend Collection of Preferred Hotels and Resorts and a Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; Boutique Spa; fitness center; Polo Club Lounge featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing