We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Windsor Court Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windsor Court Hotel
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Windsor Court Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We spent the Labor Day weekend at the Windsor Court in New Orlerans. It is our favorite hotel there. We have never stayed in a regular room but the suites are really nice and roomy. The hotel is cntrally located--out one door and you are at John Besh's August, out the other door and you are across the street from Harrah's Casino and only a block to Canal Street and the French Quarter. The staff is helpful and friendly. We were having breakfast at a restaurant off site. A lady asked if we ever stayed at the Windsor Court. When I said we were there that weekend, she told me she was the bar manager and recognised us. WOW!!

Room Tip: The junior suites are nice but the superior suites are just that----superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Charlene M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations, particularly with our personalized service. We appreciate your recommendation and your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,068
    302
    107
    62
    35
See reviews for
290
625
46
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

It is a great hotel. Our stay was relaxing, comfortable and very enjoyable. They have great service, kid friendly, their rooftop pool is a perfect temperature, clean and just wonderful to spend your time in. The location is great too. It's not in the middle of the craziness but just minutes from it. Walking distance to everything you ever need to do in Nola.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmritaHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear AmritaHC,

Thank you for writing about your recent family trip with us. I am so pleased to hear you had a relaxing, enjoyable and comfortable stay and that our location was ideal for everything you wanted to explore in the city. We appreciate your comments and your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you and your family back here with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oeiras, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed 4 nights and the service at the Windsor Court was excellent. So was the food. The setting is refined. A real five-star hotel. The location is also good, it takes about five minutes to walk to the heart of the French Quarter.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niusca2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Niusca2014,

Thank you for writing about your recent trip to New Orleans and the Windsor Court. I am so pleased to hear you had an excellent four-day stay with us and that the service, food and location was everything you were looking for. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back the next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

The Windsor is my favorite place to stay in New Orleans, La. The rooms are large, spacious and clean. Walking into the Windsor Court is like walking into a fabulous and classic place. The room service is great and I highly recommend the Windsor Court.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tdavenportjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Tdavenportjr,

Thank you for writing about your experience with us. I am so happy to hear we are your favorite hotel in New Orleans. We very much appreciate your recommendation and your continued patronage, and look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed at the Windsor Court for three nights in July. I was somewhat ambivalent about visiting New Orleans in the middle of summer, but the experience at the Windsor Court made up for the less than ideal weather. Upon arrival, we were taken to our room immediately. The room was well appointed and the shower was over the top. We were never once disturbed by housekeeping yet our room was always clean when we returned each evening. The fact that you enter the hotel through a private courtyard is a plus. The crowded streets in the area can be overwhelming and the privacy of the courtyard was a welcome sight. I look forward to visiting the Windsor Court again, soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear ljh50,

Thank you for writing about your July stay with us. I am so delighted to hear you had a wonderful experience and that our staff, accommodations and location exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your comments, and your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We have stayed at both The Ritz Carlton and Windsor Court and while they are both appeal to the same traveler we would give the nod to the Ritz for service and the Windsor Court for hotel amenities. We recently stayed in room 1407 which was a river view suite, the room was huge with a separate living room, large wet bar area and entry hall. The bedroom was comprised of a very large room with desk, two dressers and nightstands and a separate dressing area with vanity/sink and closet. The bathroom featured a double sink and separate room for the shower and toilet. Bath products are all Molton Brown. Hands down the suites at this hotel are quite large and feature a balcony which can be a rarity in New Orleans. Our room was furnished nicely with unique pieces, everything went together but didn't feel generic and to matchy-matchy. Turn down service occurs each night with either a chocolate (nothing special) or a praline (nice NOLA touch).

We did like the fact that the hotel provides a Keurig coffee system in the room and that there was plenty of storage in the room for our hanging and folding items. The hotel though built in the early 1980's has a very English country house feel in the public spaces. The main entrance is set back with a private courtyard entrance immediately letting you know you are in a private enclave. The first floor features an intimate lobby featuring hunting and horse racing scenes, over stuffed furniture and wood newspaper holders harking back to the early 1900's. The second floor dining rooms, bar and lounge sit at tree top level which gives the rooms the feel of an oasis in the city. For breakfast ask for a window table and ask for Antonia who is one of the genuine friendly faces at the hotel. Breakfast is delicious and provides you with a great warm and inviting atmosphere to start the day! Food choices run the gamut of standard omelets and egg fare to crawfish/andouille sausage benedict!

The fourth floor features the gym, spa and pool. While we did not use the spa the pool area was never crowded and a welcome respite from the heat of the day!

So after reading this review you may ask why we aren't giving it a five star review. In all honesty, we love the more authentic feel of this hotel over The Ritz, the location is almost as close to the quarter if that its important to you.

However there were a few service mis-steps we felt keep this hotel from achieving its storied 'Best Hotel in the World' rankings pre-Katrina. Staff didn't remember our names, our breakfast hostess was really the only one that tried. Request for small things like ice in the ice bucket during the morning cleaning and turn down were forgotten, cream was not replaced in the coffee making station, sometimes you got all your toiletries replaced and sometimes you didn't. The balcony window was streaked with dirt and weatherstripping that flapped in the wind. And most disconcerting was finding a dead bug in our living room upon awaking each morning for the first two days and a huge dead bug that sat on the balcony our whole stay. If this was NY or Chicago I would be raising cain, but I get that New Orleans is in a sub tropical climate but this is the first I have seen that in a hotel.

Will we be back? Most definitely, as the rates are about 15% less than the Ritz. Not that the pool and balcony are critical for a stay in New Orleans but they add a nice touch to the hotel. In addition our 800 square foot suite was tough to leave each day. I have heard that the hotel has rebounded from a low point a few years back and is on a positive trajectory! I think they have the right mix of competent staff but just need to work on the small niceties that will help them get to the 5 star storied status of lore.

Room Tip: Room 1407 provides excellent views of the Missisippi. It appears that rooms further west may directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellBoys60625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear BellBoys60625,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that, overall, you had an enjoyable and memorable experience; however, I am disappointed to hear that you felt we fell short in a few areas. I agree that it is the small things, such as remembering a guest's name, that makes all the difference. We certainly pride ourselves in delivering that level of service and strive to top ourselves each day. I will certainly address the team in regards to your comments. Thank you again for your time, and for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back for the stay you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

I would recommend the Windsor Court for anyone who would like to visit the French Quarter but not stay right in the middle of the madness. It is located beside Harrah's Casino and across Canal St from the Quarter so it is a very easy walk to all of the bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is very nice. It also has a pool which is definitely a plus in the hot and humid summer months.

Majority of the staff is welcoming and ready to help out. The only negative I had was a coffee maker in the room that didn't work…a big deal at 5am. I mentioned this to the desk at checkout so, hopefully, no one else will have to suffer like I did!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCNJ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear DCNJ11,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us! I am so pleased to hear our service, facilities and location was exactly what you were looking for; however, I am very sorry to hear your coffee maker was not functioning properly. I can certainly understand how frustrating that can be first thing in the morning. We will definitely make sure that is corrected for the next guest. We appreciate your comments and your patronage and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,825 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,210 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,833 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Property: Windsor Court Hotel
Address: 300 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond and Forbes (formerly Mobil) Four Star Awarded hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; newly opened boutique Spa; two cocktail lounges featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing