We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in New Orleans”

Mayas Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Mayas Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #489 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$30
Cuisines: Caribbean, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Garden District
Cross street: St. Andrew Avenue
Transit: New Orleans RTA - www.norta.com Bus Stop @ Magazine & Jackson St. Charles Streetcar Stop @ St. Andrew & St. Charles
Description: A fare of new and traditional dishes from the Latin American region with a taste of Asian and Middle East influence.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food in New Orleans”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were in a group of four which consisted of a vegetarian, a meat/carb eater who detests vegetables, and two who eat meat and vegetables but few carbs. All four of us found a wide selection of suitable choices on the extensive menu. In fact there were so many mouth watering choices we ended up ordering much more than we needed. We were all very impressed with our meals, and all thought it was the best food we had in New Orleans. In fact it was one of the most enjoyable meals we have had anywhere. It was also excellent value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    29
    7
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten NOLA Experience”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Want something off the beaten path in New Orleans? Go find this bohemian place on Magazine Street in the Garden District! Probably the best guacamole and chips ever! We had a special the night we went. It was a whole red fish that was marinated and baked in banana leaves. What an explosion of flavor for the palette. A very casual neighborhood place with absolutely knock 'em dead cuisine. Service was spot on! Ask for Michael. Drinks were terrific too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow. Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Went here based on a recommendation from a friend. A little off the beaten path but well worth finding it. Excellent service, excellent drinks and the food is a little different from the traditional New Orleans cuisine. Highly recommend and we'll be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland fl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lucky find on Magazine Street”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Traveling with friends, we stopped off the city sightseeing tour bus on the Magazine street stop. We were so glad we did. Mayas is a quaint little restaurant with lovely decor and even better food. The service was phenomenal and everyone very attentive. They offered ample vegetarian option for myself and many unique dishes. We started with soft shell crab with pics de gallo and the tostones with 3 delish dipping sauces. For mains, I had the vegtable curry with red curry sauce over rice. Wonderful! My husband the Cuban sandwich with shredded pork, and our friends had the grilled tilapia with curry and the slow roasted pork over black beans and rice. We were all stuffed and thrilled with our meal. Really reononable pricing and lovely ambiance. I would highly recommend Mayas if you find yourself on Magazine St in NOLA!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Atmousphere and Service”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had brunch at Mayas a few weekends ago. The food was awesome. My boyfriend and I both had the breakfast burrito and couple of other friends had seafood burritos with eggs, crab meat, and tortillas. Everyone enjoyed their food very much. Our waitress was friendly and professional. Also, the mojitos are AMAZING!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mayas Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Mayas Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing