We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The calm within the storm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #4 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The calm within the storm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel in the middle of everything. Great retreat after wild streets of the French Quarter. There were excellent places to eat within walking distance. The hotel had the best breakfast around and also an fantastic bar. Will book again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulfstar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,819
    910
    173
    87
    25
See reviews for
595
2,223
99
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We booked the "Summer In the City" package on Hotel Mazarin's website. When we arrived one of the front desk staff told us unless we had something showing we had booked this package our discount for free parking would not be honored. I asked my husband for his cell phone to show the clerk the confirmation and when I showed him that he refused to honor it. He told us the only way we would be able to receive the discount would be if we had the paper on hand. I thought this was outrageous and didn't understand why our booking information wasn't in their computer system. After I calmed down I figured they had to have a computer in their business center and used that to print off the needed information. So beware. I think it was just this one particular guy who worked the front desk. He was not a people person it seemed and didn't really need to be working with the public. If you book something on their website, make sure you bring all paperwork with you. Anyway, on the to good. The hotel and our room were clean. The staff, except that one guy, was always courteous and helpful. I really LOVED the fact that there was no carpet on the floor, just a few area rugs. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The Petit King is just enough for couples. It's elegant and you really don't need to pay th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdezura, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
We appreciate your business and positive comments during your stay at Hotel Mazarin. As we offer a new packages sometimes items can be missed, and it's guests like you that help us improve our guest service. We are happy all worked out for you and your husband and look forward to seeing you very soon at Hotel Mazarin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

I wanted to stay right in the French quarter, but didn't want to pay the high costs for a nice hotel. Hotel Mazarin was perfect! Friendly front desk staff, beautiful room, wonderful beds right where the action was. My room faced the courtyard, but we did hear the noise from a restaurant next store. For those who this may bother, there were ear plugs in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdezura, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
We are so excited to read that you had amazing stay at Hotel Mazarin! Thank you for the comments, especially about the ear plugs as we know that some of our guests have sensitive hearing. We make it a point to address any guest needs, as we are big on enhanced guest service. We are very fortunate our ownership supports and encourages proactive management. Looking forward to seeing again very soon at Hotel Mazarin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Our church youth group stayed at the Hotel Mazarin during the ELCA National Youth Gathering in July. The hotel was beautiful. The breakfast was fresh and deliscous every morning. The staff went beyond the call of duty to help both the teens and the chaperones. I need to specifically mention Jeff Mouton and Renee. This dedication extended beyond our stay when our daughter left her glasses there and the head of housekeeping Jamin kept our info and days after we had left they were found. She called and arranged for them to be sent home to us. We all highly recommend this fine hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms with an outside window offer views of the French Quarter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdezura, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Well hello there, and thanks for the "service" in New Orleans that your youth group provided. We are pleased to hear about your outstanding stay at Hotel Mazarin, especially the high service level you received from our staff. We "hand pick" all of our staff to ensure enhanced guest service so we can provide an exceptional experience. I must say the ELCA Youth group was so well mannered and polite we are looking forward to their return. Again, I can't thank you all enough for all of the service you gave New Orleans for the week you were here and thanks for staying at Hotel Mazarin. We will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Hotel Mazarin is a great hotel... the location is two doors down from Bourbon Street and within walking distance to everything; especially some great dining experiences (Deanies, Mr. B's). I enjoyed the location very much. The hotel rooms were well put together, rooms were clean, beds were very comfortable, linens were decent quality, air conditioning worked great. Beautiful courtyard (air-conditioned - sounds strange but it is). A definite plus is Patrick’s Bar Vin - the bar in the hotel lobby area... I wished we went there more often, had a great atmosphere and the bartender was a sweetheart and the owner very happy to please you and speak to you, he valued your patronage.

The staff was very friendly; Jeff (the front desk guy that always seemed to be around) was very helpful and remained calm even in the middle of a full house with a wedding going on. The cleaning staff was all very friendly and helpful.

It might seem overrated, but having the small fridge stocked with free bottled water was a blessing. It is nice not to be nickel and dimed on water and breakfast.

Breakfast by the way was great... Having the complimentary breakfast every morning saved my party of three (two adults, one child) on average $30 a day. Eggs (your way), bacon, sausage, grits, fruit, toast, pastries, croissants, cereal, milk, coffee, tea, juice, and more. Servers were there to help you and give you pretty much anything you asked for.

This actual hotel does not have a pool... however, there is a sister hotel that does have a pool one block over and you are allowed to use the pool. I almost didn't stay here because of that, knowing this would have made my choice easier, hopefully this will be helpful to readers.

My only complaint or con to all of my pros was the fire alarm. We were told there was an electrical issue with the fire alarm. But out of the five days we were there, it went off almost every day and one day it went off three times. I feel bad for the fire department because they have to respond to each fire alarm. The plus side is - should there ever be a fire, the fire department is one minute away (really).

I was pleasantly surprised by my vacation to New Orleans, Hotel Mazarin contributed to my overall wonderful experience. I plan to be back and will be booking my reservation at the Hotel Mazarin.

Room Tip: I know everyone wants a room with a street view or a room with a courtyard view... but when you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaleho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Couldn't get over how friendly and helpful the staff at the Mazarin where. Larry at the front desk went out of his way to make our stay really memorable. Will be sure to stay here again in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor where great! Get the Deluxe King, The Staff went out of thier way to make o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdcourier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Location was amazing, just a quick walk away from everything we wanted to do while in the French Quarter. The hotel is well kept, clean, and charming. The staff will bend over backward to make sure your stay is pleasant. Our original plan was to stay at the Ritz Carlton on this trip, but when it was not available we chose to stay here. It was a much better value to stay at Hotel Mazarin and lacked nothing we expected from a five star hotel stay--we were so glad our other hotel was sold out! Staff was excellent with recommendations, quick service, and friendly conversation. The free breakfast was wonderful! Fresh cut fruit, an array of breads and pastries, hot eggs, meats, and grits, cereals, yogurt, a selection of juices, teas and coffee and even those cute mini jam and ketchup jars all served in a fine dining setting, not cheap plastic utensils in a crowded hotel lobby like so many fee breakfasts. Our cons were that we could not find a room service menu, though we did not call to ask if something could be brought up (I suspect the staff would have happily obliged) and because of limited parking on our weekend stay, our car was taken to a garage off site by the valet, which required 30 minutes notice to retrieve. These minor inconveniences were minimal to us, especially for such a great rate for a nice hotel in the heart of the French Quarter. We will absolutely stay here on future trips to New Orleans.

Room Tip: The petite room was small, but for our overnight bag, no problem. Consider a larger room if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,915 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,966 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing