We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #7 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

It is not often I rate everything as excellent, but Hotel Mazarin deserves this rank. Located on Bienville, just around the corner from Bourbon St. We had a courtview room and never heard noise from the streets! Breakfast is complimentary and the omelets were delicious. All staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicolepb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,882 - 3,888 of 4,725 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Picked this hotel via reviews and pricing. Definitely got value for the money. Hotel rate includes a hot breakfast buffet AND they do requests. Bottled water and a non-bar refrigerator are in all rooms. The staff is exceedingly friendly and helpful. Come to think of it, I don't think we met a rude person in all of New Orleans. The bathrooms are elegant and come with what I consider to be the proper amount of towels. The only negative that I have with this hotel is that the pillows are all of one kind and very hard.

Room Tip: Ask for the courtyard side. Rooms facing Bourbon St. can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gnarfle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed at the Mazarin for five days during a busy weekend and was not disappointed in any way. I have stayed in twelve different hotels in the quarter during the past 15 years and this is only the second time that I would "do a repeat".
The location is absolutely perfect. The hotel staff is amazingly friendly and helpful, including the waiters at breakfast, the housekeepers, the security doorman and most of the front desk clerks.
I just read the recent reviews of the hotel and did not have the same negative experiences some guests described.
Regarding the rooms: I have a different take on them. I travelled with another couple. We both had delux kings. They were in room 313. It was on the inner courtyard with a window to the courtyard. It was dark, small, and claustrophobic. Inner courtyard rooms on the third and fourth floor are blocked by the tarp over the courtyard and feel very closed in. I was in room 511 and unlike two other reviewers, I thought it was a great delux king. My fellow travelers thought I had an upgraded room. 511 was at least one third larger than 313, had two windows to the outside and was quiet and comfortable at all times. Because this is a hotel in the quarter, all of the rooms are different, even within the same class. I guess opinions vary but I loved 511 and we all thought the delux king on the third floor was not good. The front desk staff accommodated my friends by moving them to a room on the second floor in the back and it was far more spacious.
The Mazarin is part of the New Orleans Hotel Group that has taken over several locations and upgraded them. The Marais is also very nice. It is smaller, decorated in a more modern style and has a younger clientele.....it is a little more hip!
The Mazarin is more classically decorated. The other reviews describe the rooms, bathrooms, etc. this is just a very nice property in a great location that has retained the feel of the French quarter.

Stayed: September 2013
4  Thank bcqajbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Wanted to try a boutique hotel this time in NOLA.. It was just ok.. If it wasnt for the bellmen Solomon and Renee i think I would have left and gone somewhere else.. Those guys are very helpful. They also give great directions.. The front desk is lacking in experience and uninterested.. thankfully i forgot the ladies name at the front desk..Her attitude is terrible.. During my stay I asked for help 3 times making reservations for dinner. Each time she would roll her eyes and say I could do it myself.. (so much for service..LOL).. The amenities are average nothing special.. I do like that you need a room key to access floors... If you can get a better deal somewhere else, go...

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard are relatively quieter than facing bourbon street.. But it doesnt matter, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank queenb034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great hotel, free breakfast. Gorgeous rooms and perfect location. I have nothing else to add!
The hotel has a flair that only NOLA has to offer. Very "boutique" style. The breakfast was very simple (yogurt, fruit, cereals and the like). Parking is a premium as all of the downtown hotels charge (around 25/day).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hillary210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The wife and I were on a month long roundtrip coast to coast road trip and excited about our stop in NOLA. I wanted a hotel that was centrally located in the heart of the French Quarter, so Hotel Mazarin was perfect. The hotel is in prime location for everything you are looking for in NOLA, but that's it.

The valet outside was awesome and friendly, but the hotel staff seemed inexperienced and uninterested to assist guests. Upon checking-in to the hotel, we waited at the front desk while the clerk fumbled with paperwork for 30 min, no exaggeration. I understand that paperwork needs to be completed, I wouldn't mind waiting 5-10 min for someone to finish their work, but 30 min?

Upon check-out we called the front desk to have our car be pulled out front since they valet park all vehicles. The front desk told us that calling ahead was not necessary since the parking garage was just across the street and it would only take a couple of minutes. We went to the lobby to check-out, asked the front desk person to pull the car out of the parking garage, since it would only take a few minutes. However, because the parking garage was full and because we had an oversized SUV our car was parked 'off-site', we waited at least 25 min. to get our car.

The hotel is average at best. The rooms were nothing special, clean and comfy, but nothing special that would make this hotel stand out from any other hotel I have been to. I still can't seem to understand how this hotel is so highly ranked in NOLA. The location is fantastic, but location can not be the only basis for the hotel's high ranking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were driving through New Orleans on our way to Houston and saw the great reviews here so decided to book -- we weren't disappointed. Lovely and elegant room (the front desk was wonderful and upgraded us), breakfast was excellent, peaceful courtyard, fantastic location. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hlb981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,916 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,397 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,501 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £125 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing