We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and bad of a great location”
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The good and bad of a great location”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel but it was noisy, but New Orleans is a noisy city. The hotel is well located in the French Quarter and is convenient to all the restaurants and shopping and partying that you want to do. I loved this location, it is one block from Bourbon Street and consequently it can be a little noisy. Our room was spacious, clean and well air conditioned. The breakfast was good (not the brunch at the Court of Two Sisters) but a nice start to the day. The staff was very attentive and helpful with directions. The location was convenient to the trolley and bus for a trip to the Garden District and antique shopping on Magazine Street. I would definitely book here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank sogle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,031
    975
    182
    91
    30
See reviews for
647
2,393
110
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We just left an amazing 2 days at Hotel Mazarin. 1) The location could NOT be better. If you want quiet, however, stay in a courtyard facing room. 2) Don't be phased if you get an unfriendly person when you check in, he is the exception. The staff is wonderful! We had a problem with our room and got an incredible upgrade, they could not have done more for us. Breakfast is lovely. I would stay here again, for sure.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing room much quieter than room on street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gutsytherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

i stayed there during a business trip for a whole week.
great location and pretty nice room - modern and comfortable bed - large king size bed.
beautiful building.


overall pleased. fully recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We decided to head to New Orleans for our honeymoon, and based on the reviews decided to stay at the Hotel Mazarin. Have to say we were completely satisfied with everything we experienced! For the first night down we were in a Premium King which featured a balcony over Bienville (runs between Royal and Bourbon), and I cannot reinforce the previous reviews that say if you are a light sleeper, avoid the rooms at all costs. People were out until around 4am, and construction workers started working outside around 6am - not a whole lot of time to get some sleep. First thing we did was call down to change rooms for the remainder of our trip, and the staff was more than accommodating for our request. They were able to move us to a different room away from the road and the difference was incredible. Never heard another sound from the streets outside!

For everything else, they have a full breakfast buffet every morning which was always great. Also have a business center and fitness center for anyone interested.

I would fully recommend staying here if you want a genuine French Quarter stay in a very nice hotel!

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dayton, OH
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed at this lovely hotel for three days. Although it was beautiful, we will not be back. Our check in was delayed for 90 minutes past check in time, and the staff seemed indifferent to our situation. We paid extra for a room with a balcony, yet the balcony had no seating. The room was modern and bed comfortable, but this did not make up for our bad experience at the start of the stay. I have stayed at the Omni Royal and the Hyatt French Quarter and would recommend these hotels over Hotel Mazarin.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Beverlyw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace B.C.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at the Mazerin after our Panama cruise, and were quite delighted by the ambiance of the courtyard, where we spent most of our time when at the hotel. If there was a down side to that - it was the plethora of tiny biting bugs. My husband is the sacrificial lamb, and his ankles were covered in bites. Not sure what could be done to rectify that, but it would be nice if they could try.
The staff were great - especially the breakfast crew - friendly and attentive. The rooms were large, but the closet left something to be desired...we ended up living out of our suitcases for the 5 days we were there. Also, the toilet is located in a really weird spot - and the door practically opens right onto the toilet itself.
If you do choose to stay here, ask for a courtyard room...we were advised of this, because street side can be pretty noisy. As it's just off Bourbon street, you're within walking distance if you want to party at night ( we didn't ) but it's also fast to get back to the hotel during the day from anywhere in the quarter.
"Bar Vin" is right along side, and we whiled away some hours with a glass of wine or cocktail as evening fell.
If we go back to NO...we would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Always as for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The perfect part of the stay was the location, only 1/2 block from Bourbon Street. It was just perfect so we could not hear the crazy noise of Bourbon Street but close enough to get into trouble. The staff was amazing starting with my check in with Nina, then breakfast with the young breakfast attendant (sorry didn't catch her name). The compl. breakfast was actually a full breakfast buffet with scrabled egged, bacon, sausage and tons more. I am so glad I paid extra for a balcony room overlooking Bienville Street. The room was spotless, large and very modern. The bathroom was also very large. You can tell the management staff pays very close attention to details. I will definitly stay at Hotel Mazarin next time in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Room 320 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,207 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,551 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,158 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,111 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing