We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights in early November 2013. Our room which faced onto the rear courtyard was a good size and very comfortable. Although so close to Bourbon Street it was quiet with one exception. The bed and chairs in the room were great and ensured a good rest. Mazarin provides an extensive breakfast which was very filling and gave you a good start to the day. We found all of the hotel staff courteous and helpful.
Be aware the Mazarin appears very popular with wedding parties on Friday night through to Sunday. We had an incident at 5:00 am one morning with a noisy group. Front desk staff quickly arranged for the problem to be resolved.
The only gripe we would have about the Mazarin was the location of the toilet roll holder. You needed to be a contortionist to reach when using the toilet.
Would we consider staying at the Mazarin again. Most definitely.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,580
    814
    154
    85
    24
See reviews for
543
2,006
93
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was our 3rd trip to New Orleans and our first stay at the Hotel Mazarin. My only complaint is that I didn't stay here on our previous two visits. From the initial booking, straight through to checkout, each and every member of the staff went out of their way to make our Christmas holiday special. The breakfast was by far the best complimentary breakfast we have had in any hotel and our rooms, located on the 2nd floor were large, well appointed and very clean. I would not hesitate to recommending this hotel to anyone planning a trip to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are under the canopy and overlook the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue501963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We decided to get married at the Hotel Mazarin, and I can't recommend it highly enough. This was a destination wedding for us, and in the nine months leading up to our wedding, Rachel was always available to answer our questions promptly through e-mail. She was very helpful in accommodating everything we wanted. On the weekend of the wedding, all of the staff treated us like VIP's. We felt pampered and special, and the event was beautiful. Everything went smoothly, and our guests were all blown away.

They put us in room 319, which is the one with two balconies. It was a beautiful and comfortable room. The only problem is that the two balconies meant a lot of noise -- especially at night -- because the room is near Bourbon Street. The front desk was very helpful in offering us ear plugs to wear while we slept, and the problem was solved.

Everything about our wedding weekend was perfect, and I can't thank the Hotel Mazarin enough for making it that way. If you are looking to get married in the French Quarter, I urge you strongly to consider the Mazarin.

Room Tip: Room 319 was beautiful but noisy at night. If you are comfortable wearing ear plugs to bed, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMW000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Half a block from the heart of Bourbon St, yet quiet and refined. A great combo of location, price and amenities. The breakfast is excellent, and served late (11 on weekdays, Noon on weekends). You can ask for eggs any way, cooked to order. However, I recommend the pancakes!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room--away from the elevators. Fewer people walking by, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JordanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
364 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights on vacation during Christmas week in Room 234 in a second floor courtyard. Hotel staff at front desk were helpful and courteous during the entire stay. Despite being close to Bourbon Street, it was a quiet location...but then again it was Christmas week. Room was clean and spacious enough and the bathroom well appointed and clean. The hotel was very secure with card access required for many areas.The business center was available with a room card.

The hotel breakfast buffet was included in the room rate and, after checking it out, we ate breakfast there every day. A wide selection of breakfasts to suite almost every taste.

The location was great for us. At $169/ night without taxes, it was a very good value. New Orleans taxes on hotels and food are very aggressive.

Only complaint was that servicing of room omitted placing new towels and toiletries on two occasions. Towels were delivered but toiletries had to be picked up at the front desk.

Definitely worth considering for a trip to New Orleans, particularly if you do not prefer chain hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WC-Travelers-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Mazarin for four days just before Christmas. It is located between Royal and Bourbon St and about four blocks from Jackson Square. It is small and lovely with a very accommodating staff. There is no restaurant on site but they provide a very nice breakfast buffet in the courtyard every morning. We loved our room which was well appointed, lots of space yet cozy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Although a little delayed in reviewing, we stayed back in October and I have to say from driving up to hotel and from leaving I was highly impressed. As we drove up a young lady greeted us and guided us into the parking area, we were then assisted by a very charming parking attendant. Check in was smooth and the hotel has such great vibes with character which made our stay that much nicer. Location was fabulous and our room was overlooking the courtyard area and was perfect ... great shower. We had a very enjoyable dinner at Mr.Bs walking distance from hotel and breakfast the following morning was wonderful ... customer service from start to finish was amazing everyone we encountered always said hello with a smile,and all those wonderful smiles and great vibes will certainly bring us back !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,062 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,771 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing