We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic French instead of high-rise modern”
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #6 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Fair Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Classic French instead of high-rise modern”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great hotel, in the middle of everything in the French quarter. Bourbon street is right around the corner. The Casino, river and French Market are an easy walk. Our room was a king room on the second floor overlooking the beautiful courtyard. The room could be described as elegant with its black marble floors and black and gold accents and extremely well designed. It had a large bathroom, shower area with a separate vanity area. The breakfast was full standard American, but would have been better with a little variety. We heard no street noise, but the hotel held a special event memorializing Jackson's victory in the War of 1812, which did get a little noisy, but all seemed to be having a great time. The staff was attentive and very friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,070
    986
    185
    91
    30
See reviews for
658
2,422
114
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Mazarin for two nights over the New Year. The hotel met all of expectations and more. The hotel and its rooms were exceptionally clean. Toiletries were provided (shampoo, conditioner, body wash, soap, and lotion). The room had adjustable heating and cooling features. We were located in a King room next to one of the inner courtyards. We could not hear any street noise. The beds were comfortable and extra blankets are provided in the linen closet.

Breakfast was included in the cost of our stay. I normally do not eat scrambled eggs at a hotel, but Mazarin's were delicious. They included crisp bacon, sausage, bagels, cereal, grits, scones, croisants, and pasteries. Tea, milk, orange juice, and coffee were available as well. The hotel always had fresh water infused with fruit and it was fabulous!

The hotel staff was very attentive. They answered all of our questions and got us our cab to the airport in just minutes. Wi-Fi was free and very reliable in our room. The only patchy access we experienced was in the breakfast room.

The location was in the heart of the French Quarter. Bourban Street was less than a half a block away as is Royal. Its a very easy walk to the French Market, shopping, and Jackson Square. It is located a couple blocks from the Canal/Bourban Streetcar line that takes you to the Garden District. If we returned to New Orleans, we would not hesistate to stay at Hotel Mazarin again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura74Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Perfect location on the edge of the French Quarter. It is near shops, restaurants, etc., but in a quiet area. Very nicely done rooms. Great breakfast in the morning. Friendly staff. Not sure how it could be better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the location of Hotel Mazarin, our complimentary breakfast, nicely done rooms and friendly staff. We pride ourselves in giving our guests the enhanced level of service they deserve and have come to expect from Hotel Mazarin. I'm happy to hear your overall experience was picture perfect and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hueytown, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Mazarin. The rooms were clean and nice in size, the bed(s) were comfortable.The breakfast was a plus and the staff was very nice and service oriented. The young Oriental looking woman at the front desk was condescending and a bit rude with me. After the fact she would tell the manager(Mike)she was only kidding, it didn't come across that way to me and my sister in-law.Mike was very apologetic for this incident. I didn't let this put a damper on our stay. Close proximity to Bourbon Street was also nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We loved the cleanliness. Marble floors. No water spots. Clean crisp, white sheets and bed cover. White robes and white slippers. Free fresh bottled water and refrigerator in the room. Cello protected paper cups for Wolfgang Puck brand coffee. Fresh scented bath items. Shower can be turned I to a steam room. Very relaxing.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristineJT0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

With high expectations, I expected Hotel Mazarin to be perfect for a girls' reunion trip. High points: wonderful breakfast staff; great to have breakfast in courtyard (if table is open); comfortable beds; convenient location. Low points: first night was in room at the back, which was tiny, with no room if one needs to do some computer work. Had two guests sitting on the porch outside talking until midnight and had to ask them to go elsewhere. Next 3 nights in a more spacious room near the front, which was noisier than expected--over the corner bar that seems as it should attach to the hotel but they won't serve in the hotel courtyard. Worst part was a wedding hosted on our final evening in the courtyard that was unbearably loud. Difficult to believe that it was impossible to hold a conversation in our room with the loud band. (When did it become all right to have an event with music so loud that people cannot hear one another?) Overall, not only disappointing, but in the end, maddening.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet, but be aware of small nature of rooms at back courtyard and no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mule54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the overall experience of our Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and our complimentary breakfast. I'm sorry hear about the noise from a Wedding event in September, however we have since revised our courtyard event policies. If should return to New Orleans please contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed five days at this wonderful hotel and are so glad we did. Daniela, on the front desk upon our arrival could not have been more helpful and friendly. We had a large comfortable room on the third floor with two balconies which proved a great people watching spot on the few occasions we weren't out and about roaming the streets of New Orleans. Daniela gave us some great restaurant recommendations (see other reviews) and made our anniversary very special with some complimentary tickets to the adjacent Patricks Vin Bar. The location of the hotel is about twenty paces from Bourbon Street in one direction and twenty paces to Royal Street in the other. Canal Street is two blocks over, so everything is easily accessible via walking or street car on Canal Street if desired. Our hotel room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom had enough shelving for all our toiletries (something sorely lacking in many hotels today). A full breakfast was included and is served between 7am and 11am which is extremely generous. One thing of note, many of our fellow travelers who enjoyed the breakfast and prompt clean up by the servers did not leave a tip (I am supposing because it is a buffet breakfast), but these servers are deserving of tips as they are so very friendly and helpful and promptly meet requests I.e. Personalized omelette! waffles etc....so please leave a few dollars on the table if you go. We will definetely stay at Hotel Mazarin again and we have already told friends about this hotel, who have booked based upon our experience. One final comment is a shout out to Solomon on the front door who is just as friendly and charming as any we have encountered anywhere. It is always nice to me met upon a return to the hotel by a cheery, friendly smile and also to be sent off in the morning with a warm and hearty few words. Thankyou Hotel Mazarin for making our wedding anniversary so enjoyable. You couldn't have done more.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Bienville on the third floor have balconies but are a little noisier. If you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonitabeach33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
7,286 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,195 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
5,817 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 164 in New Orleans
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing