We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #4 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and I visited New Orleans over MLK weekend and chose Hotel Mazarin based on the reviews here. We were very pleased. Our room was a superior king room with a balcony overlooking Bienville Street. Yes, we heard ALL the noise from Bourbon Street and the traffic on Bienville Street below. Friday night was loud. Saturday night was really loud with stragglers yelling at each other at 4:30am and the garbage trucks coming by at 5am. Sunday was sooo much quieter and Monday night was quite peaceful. We didn't let the noise bother us and considered it part of the experience. We even saw a Second Line Wedding Parade go right by the hotel.
Breakfast was good each day. One day we wanted a bit more than what was out, so we asked the staff for omelets. They were excellent.
The hotel staff was extremely friendly from the front desk staff, to the doormen, to the breakfast room staff to housekeeping.and maintenance. If we travel to New Orleans again, we will stay at Hotel Mazarin.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luvtotravel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,810
    908
    172
    87
    25
See reviews for
592
2,214
99
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Perfect location, great friendly helpful staff!!! Needed to get to the zoo and was given numerous easy cheap ways to get there! Room was very clean, comfy beds and the shower rocks!!!!!! Breakfast was good too!! Would go back in a heart beat! :D

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hallie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Mazarin over the MLK Weekend. First time to New Orleans and wanted a central hotel but one that was quiet. We booked the Romance package and a petit King room. Although small (knew this going in) it was frankly not that much smaller than many a regular room in other hotels (especially NYC hotels!). Room was very clean and comfortable and was in the back courtyard. We did not hear any of the craziness of Bourbon street which is just around the corner. The hotel was very well kept and as a a boutique hotel the architecture and design provided a lot of character. Why stay in a hotel in NO that looks like a hotel in Chicago? The Mazarin reflected it's environment perfectly.

As said, the location was central, and it afforded us the opportunity to dress up for dinner, then return back to the room to change into more casual clothes without having to make a major detour or lose much time. The Romance package included a $100 gc for Arnauds (25yrds down the street), a grande dame of the NO restaurant scene. The meal and service was fantastic.

The only challenge we had was at the included breakfast. The hot breakfast foods were not exactly hot. Not sure if they need to turn the chafing dishes up (or even on). With that said, as the breakfast was included in the rate and included a large assortment of both cold and hot/warm items, fresh fruit, fresh squeezed OJ and other juices and beverages it was a really a great deal.

Room Tip: The Petit King rooms are actually a decent size, especially if you are going to be out and about a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MOakesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I booked this hotel for a 4 night trip to see DMB, the hotel is beautiful the rooms are stunning! The bed is so comfy, the shower and the water pressure is the best! The staff couldn't have helped any more great hotel great people. The overnight manager Jason was awesome I picked his brain and he new it all! Most ATM's charge 3.99 down there he showed me where to go to pay only .99 cents, I thought that was grand. Good job Jason I will def b back!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room next to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel based on other Trip Advisor reviews and happy to say I was not disappointed. Great hotel centrally located in the FQ and wonderful staff. It is a bargain compared to other nearby hotels . Would stay anytime!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Beverley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I'm glad we chose the Hotel Mazarin for our five night stay in the French Quarter. First of all this hotel is clean, comfortable and full of atmosphere. The courtyard is lovely. The location can't be beat. You are within walking distance of all the attractions in the French Quarter and only one block away from several streetcar lines. The breakfast was much better than expected for a complementary buffet. You have to try the Sazarac in the hotel bar. They make it the traditional way and it is amazing!! We had a room in the back courtyard and it was quiet. We would definitely stay here again when visiting the French Quarter.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cad18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We spent five nights here and were very pleased with the staff, room, breakfast, and location. While it's not inexpensive, it's also not cookie-cutter. It has charm and the staff are very friendly and helpful with suggestions for restaurants, directions, etc.

Room Tip: Our travel agent recommended the inner courtyard to be quieter and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rsilver439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
6,904 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
5,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
489 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
2,958 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing