We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - just get rid of that unsightly tarpaulin!”
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #6 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We spent a week as a couple pre cruise at the Mazarin. Last year we stayed at the sister hotel, Le Marais and were disappointed to find that they had no availability for our dates this year, so the Mazarin was our second choice. We were a bit worried because ot its very close proximity to Bourbon Street, but with an interior, courtyard facing room we were only disturbed by a very loud group of people on one night - my guess is that they were in Patrick's Wine bar and were drinking in the Courtyard.
Having stayed in a number of hotels in the USA and plenty elsewhere I cannot understand the negative comments about the breakfast buffet. It was fresh, regularly replenished and included everything from whole and prepared fruit and yoghurts to a wide variety of pastries and breads, a selection of juices, tea and coffees and a hot selection. More than adequate in our view and the servers were polite and responsive to guests needs.
We were upgraded to a superior King Room so had plenty of space, which was just as well as for two days we were virtually hotel bound having arrived just before the ice storm paralysed the city for two days closing most of the restaurants, clubs and shops and halting the street cars. The front desk could not have been more helpful phoning round museums and attractions to see if anything was open! Soloman on the front door was helpful and cheerful throughout! There were three minor negatives. 1. The really ugly tarpaulin covering the courtyard which we could see clearly from the fourth floor. Given that the only people who seemed to use the courtyard were the noisy group spilling out of the wine bar on our first evening and it was too cold to sit out there I am not sure what use it served and it certainly detracted from the beautiful building. 2. The maid service was a bit hit and miss - some days we would get our coffee replaced, other days water and other days toiletries, but it was never all done! 3. The central booking office was not very good as they clearly did not know the individual rooms in all the hotels in the group so could not advise on which were courtyward facing etc. We would have much rather dealt with the front desk staff but every time we phoned we were connected to the central booking office. None of these were major issues and we would definitely make the Mazarin our first choice next time we are in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are definitely quiter. Despite being near the ice machine it didn;t bother us but I...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,428)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mazarin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,390 - 3,396 of 4,428 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

We just returned from the Hotel Mazarin (2/7-2/10/14). This was my first time to the French Quarter and we went with a large group to celebrate a friend's birthday. What a great little boutique hotel. The free breakfast was fabulous and lasts until noon - just in case you had a late night. The rooms are on the small side, but they are done very nicely. The bathroom is also small, but that is to be expected in a boutique hotel. The water pressure in the shower is great. Free in room bottled water was also a nice touch. We were also provided with a free drink card for the 21st Amendment bar, which is also a nice touch. This hotel is steps away from Bourbon Street, yet at night you could not hear any noise from Bourbon Street. The one down side is you could sometimes hear people in hall if they were too loud. Also, there is a beautiful courtyard, but guests who chose the courtyard view were unable to see it from their room because there was a hugh tarp covering it for the weddings that were being hosted. I think if the weather was better the tarp would not be needed and guests could enjoy the view better. There are several excellent bars and restaurants within steps of the hotel. All in all, this was a great hotel in a great location with many nice perks. If you get the chance - go down to the garden district. It has some great shops and make sure hit Magazine Street (I think the bar was called the Bull Dog). It was a little hole in the wall with a fabulous beer menu and outdoor seating.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecbruno897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Had a great stay while in New Orleans for the Rock n Roll Half Marathon and to celebrate a friends 50th bday. Even before I arrived their customer service was top notch, they helped me arrange to have a locat bakery delivery a birthday cake which was waiting for me when I arrived. I was upgraded to room 302 (Petite Suite), was a bit noisy Saturday night but that's NO for ya. Room was huge with super comfy bed, walk out balcony, large bathroom and walk in shower. Loved the free daily breakfast they provide and they even set up a early breakfast (5:45) of coffee, bagel, and fruit for us runners which is awesome. Great location with a great little bar, 21st Amendment, that hosted our bday and run celebration. Thank you all!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnySOFLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Hotel Mazarin is the perfect place to stay to experience the French Quarter! It's close to everything! Staff is very accommodating and breakfast is great! We celebrated a 50th birthday with a bunch of ladies and had a fabulous experience. Revolution is across the street so make a reservation to enjoy a culinary experience from John Folse's new restaurant! Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Aecindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Great location in the heart of the FQ. We had a flight cancellation and arrived a day late .The hotel was accommodating and did not charge us for the missed day.
The breakfast is adequate, The shower was great , but the bathroom, as in most Boutique hotels, was small. Our friends had a room on the main court yard with a larger bath with 2 sinks it may be worth a few extra dollars.

Room Tip: You want a room off the street, the back court yard was very quiet. There is very little natural lig...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winkingatlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This review is a bit hard to write because a friend stayed at the same hotel for the same event and had a much different experience.

We loved it! The staff a all times were polite and attentive. We were on the 5th floor in the back, so we didn't have much of a view, but we did have quiet. HK was active in the mornings but not loudly so to us. I think I would avoid floors 1-3 that open onto the courtyard. We repeatedly heard reports about drunken visitors being loud there - but we did not experience it ourselves

The breakfast buffet was nice, and all the foods fresh and warm whenever we ate there. There was not a lot of variety day to day; it seemed like the same dishes were served but they were freshly made.

The shower is a bit odd - I would have preferred one that closed off entirely but again we had excellent water pressure and it got very hot very quickly.

No problems getting a cab. Note on New Orleans cabs: Never had I had so many cab drivers who didn't know the location of a restaurant or tourist attraction! Make sure you do know the way and politely point out when they go the wrong direction and demand it get taken off the meter... 3 times!

We have definite plans to stay there again - the location was awesome, the staff was great, and we stayed at the military rate which made it affordable ~

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlechetteKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hotel was a terrible disappointment. Mediocre at best, and $1,200 for 3 nights. Room was small and noisy. There were 3 pathetically small drawers for storing packed items of 2 adults in a TV console, and then then a huge desk with no drawers instead of an armoire or dresser with storage. The huge bathroom that basically no storage for toiletries, with a pedestal sink with tons of room around it for a vanity for storage and then a wobbly etagere that I guess was for toiletries, but again a big armoire would have fit into the bathroom for more clothing storage. The photos were totally misleading as the room was tiny, and the breakfast was a joke ... looks like Best Western food ... not $400 a night NOLA breakfast. Location was great, but that of course made it very noisy off Bourbon. Plus, I understand the need for a canopy over the courtyard, but could it be attractive and not a ripped, dirty, plastic cover? Hideous.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marilyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for your comments. I'm very sorry you didn't have enough storage in your room for clothes and toiletries. We designed the rooms in anticipation of our guest needs. Our room sizes vary according to room type reserved. Our breakfast is prepared fresh daily which includes fresh fruit cups, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, grits, assorted yogurts, cereals, fresh pasties, breads, coffee, assorted teas and juices. Should you return to New Orleans please don't hesitate to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,225 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,420 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
5,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,200 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
4,721 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 166 in New Orleans
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £135 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing