We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, fine hotel”
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Collioure66190
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good location, fine hotel”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Thanks to Trip Advisor, we opted for this hotel for a three day stay. Booking early it's price was okay. Friends trying to book 3 weeks prior to our booked visit, found it excessively expensive. Moral of the story: book early. Great staff in the front office and concierge. Rooms very well furnished and appointed though much smaller than the online photo indicated. A bit misleading. Lovely bathroom with great shower pressure. All the amenities one would expect of this category of hotel. However, we found the self-service buffet breakfast pretty boring and the staff very unmotivated. Each day we had to remind them the milk/granola/fruit/yoghurt had run out. Not what you'd expect from this calibre of hotel. There were no freshly baked rolls, 'real bread; (as opposed to processed and sliced bread), plain croissants or similar. All the sweet industrially baked pastries were dripping in sugar. The bagels were nice but... However, I would recommend the hotel for its central position just around the corner from Royale Street, a block from Bourbon and it is a safe and pleasant neighbourhood with some excellent restaurants. Note: if you are driving, think about where you will park the car. It was some 30 dollars a night through the hotel. There is public parking for far less, but it is further away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - it is so much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,893
    930
    177
    88
    26
See reviews for
610
2,284
102
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon. The location, just off Bourbon Street was perfect for us as we wanted a centrally walkable location away from the chaos, but close enough to participate if we wished. Our room overlooked the central courtyard and was on the 2nd floor, therefore was under the canopy they have over the courtyard. It looked as though the 4th floor would look down onto the canopy. There is a fountain the courtyard that did much to give "white noise" to cover ambient noise. There is a gap between the room door and floor which does allow for some noise from the patio where the tables and chairs are heavy and would sometimes scrape during the breakfast buffet. There was an additional "back" courtyard area where I imagine the ambient nose from the breakfast area courtyard would be much less. Our room did not have a window on the street side and we heard no noise from Bourbon St. The breakfast buffet was ok, plentiful and varied, but not gourmet. Eggs, home-style potatoes, grits, biscuits and gravy, bacon, sausage, toast, bagels, coffee and juices. I'm a "coffee and toast" breakfast person myself and their supply of staples was enough to satisfy my needs. The bathroom was large with a separate dressing area from the large "2 person" shower. Wish the shower had shelves or a bench for shower supplies. Plenty of shelf space behind the sink area for toiletries though. The floors are completely tiled which helps keep the room cool in the hot afternoons. bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows of varying "fluffiness", Very clean. There is a bar downstairs that opened 4ish and had a small outdoor patio area where smoking was allowed. While we were there there seemed to be a couple of families with small children, but it's a small boutique style hotel with a quiet peaceful ambiance. Front desk was attentive and their porter was very personable and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights last week at this Gorgeous French Quarter Hotel. We turned our car over to the valet and did not use it again until we checked out. The location between Royal and Bourbon street on the western side of the French Quarter is perfect. All of the French Quarter and all of the Central Business District is withing a 15- 30 minute walk including a variety of well known restaurants. Also the trolley lines intersect a couple of blocks away which make the zoo and the Tulane/Loyola area very accessible. Do the all day pass for only 3 dollars. The hotel is full of charm and the rooms are spaciousness and unique. The Hotel has reasonable prices and unlike others includes bottled water, newspapers, full HD cable, free internet, and a wonderful court side breakfast, all included in the rate. The service is helpful and friendly. It is amazing how quiet this hotel is considering you are about 50 feet away from bourbon street. The hotel also has very elegant outdoor sitting areas. Next time I travel to the Big Easy I will not even look around, I will head back to Hotel Mazarin.

Room Tip: The rooms off the back courtyard are very quiet. Ours was large with what seemed like 15 foot ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel 3 nights and the accomodations were excellent. Just off Bourbon street, the area is safe and relatively quiet being so close to this very bustling street. The hotel is right in the middle of the french quarter, making the access to restaurants, bars, and major attractions within minutes. The price includes a very nice breakfast which was greatly appreciated to begin our sight seeing days. The room was a little tight, but really nothing to complain about. The bedding and shower were very comfortable and clean. The front desk staff were very helpful in organizing some of our plans and excursions. We would strongly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denist_eg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City NV
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

we loved this place. Rooms a little small, but who stays in their room in NO? Immaculately clean, beautifully restored. There are even gas lights in the courtyard. The staff are all friendly and everyone greets visitors with a friendly smile. Conveniently located and our room was quiet!!!! we were very happy with our choice. The free breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyce n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendship, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

GO TO END FOR HOTEL SPECIFICS...

Part of who I am is buried in New Orleans, having trained at Charity Hospital in the years before Katrina when I lived between the projects and heard AK47 gunfire every night outside my windows in the Irish Channel.

My heart broke after Katrina and the subsequent politically-inspired closure of Charity, the nation's oldest and most historic hospital, so I never returned to the city that taught me so much about music, adversity, perseverance, and the human spirit.

After nearly two decades away, I brought my wife to the city for our tenth anniversary. After Jazz Fest, we explored the city together on foot.

The projects are long gone. In place of the crack dealers on the corner in my old neighborhood are newly painted walls and college kids and coffee shops.

I found my old next door neighbor, who had "rode out the storm," felt her roof blown off, and somehow had survived it all along with her three kids. We laughed and cried together.

For many like me, New Orleans represents something much more than the land on which it stands. It's a beautiful place that's filled with history that is at once personal and global.

The Mazarin gave us more than a place to land after walking miles in the sun and heat. We felt cared for by the staff, who were always available, discreet, and totally professional. Despite being a block off Bourbon, they put us in a high corner room that was cool, quiet, and overlooked the courtyard fountain and 40-foot ficus trees. The room was elegant, the bed exquisite, and the entire Mazarin environment fitting to the experience of a native who returns to a long lost home.

Thank you Mazarin.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wb7qni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I had stayed here for Mardi Gras 2014 with a friend, and absolutely loved it! The staff were extremely courteous, the hotel and the rooms were gorgeous, the bathroom and shower were fantastic, and the bed was extremely comfortable and large! They also were very secure and made a point of knowing their guests, especially during Mardi Gras where everyone was checked for a bracelet to allow entrance, with a security guard working from very early on throughout the night. The included breakfast was fantastic, and we were able to "special order" items if we didn't feel like eating from the buffet. We ate breakfast there throughout the week, and it never got boring as we could always special order pancakes or eggs to our liking if we wanted a change from the buffet that also offered great food. We got to know all the staff and they truly seemed to care if we were enjoying our stay and provided anything extra that we needed (i.e. a bottle opener). They even ran around looking for a fork for me one night when I had forgotten to grab one with my take-out (even though I insisted it was ok, they would not rest until they found a fork from their breakfast kitchen!). The hotel was very romantic, would be great for a couple. Great location as well, and NOLA loved restaurants all around. Can't say enough great things about this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,386 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing