We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in the heart of a great city”
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Sittard
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place in the heart of a great city”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

If you ever want to visit New Orléans and are looking for a hotel in the French Quarter, Hotel Mazarin is a good choice.
Situated between Bourbon and Royal street "The Mazzarin" is only a few steps away from the action.
The rooms are excellent and the beds are great. They serve a great breakfast wich you can enjoy in the air conditioned courtyard. I really liked this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphy_Sittard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,893
    930
    177
    88
    26
See reviews for
610
2,284
102
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Charles, MO
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We just returned from a 3-day stay at this cute boutique hotel so very conveniently located right between the craziness of Bourbon St. & the more elegance of Royal St. and with a multitude of options for dining. Definitely get a courtyard view because we heard nothing as opposed to people who stayed in street view rooms. Maybe a tiny bit of noise in the morning as the staff was preparing for the delicious included breakfast but not enough to wake you up if you're sleeping. The room was spacious with beautiful marble flooring and double-vanity sink & walk-in shower in the bathroom. Convenient parking garage right across the street. The bellman or front desk will call the valet to bring it to you in a short period of time. $34 a night plus tax, but hey, you're in the big city. You have to expect that. The only complaint was the concierge does not work every day. But we were able to figure things out for the most part without any help. It's pretty easy to navigate around the French Quarter especially being so centrally located.

Room Tip: Definitely get a courtyard view for a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skoc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

What can I say. Absolutely fantastic. Location - close to everything in the French quarter and a block walk away from the tram - which brings you closer to a lot of other things. Breakfast in the morning- excellent. It was never cold as one or two others have said. Eggs, bacon, pastries, pancakes, grits, yogurt, fresh fruit, juices, tea, coffee, cereal. What more could you want!. The staff extremely friendly and helpful. We were there for out tenth wedding anniversary. I can't wait to go back for our eleventh. We requested a courtyard facing room. Heard no noise from Bourbon street. I highly recommend this hotel. From start to finish our visit was everything I hoped for. And we only chose this hotel based on the reviews of other trip advisor reviewers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had our wedding at Hotel Mazarin courtyard last weekend, with the reception in the La Louisiane/21st Amendment Bar. The service by Rachel, Marion and crew was wonderful and they met and exceeded all our needs. The place barely needs any decorations, it's beautiful by itself. The rooms were clean and comfy and the breakfast is delicious! We had a PERFECT wedding weekend at the Mazarin. We highly reccomend it for others looking to marry in a courtyard in the middle of everything you need but tucked in a quiet spot. Thank you Hotel Mazarin for providing excellent service and creating a wonderful setting for our perfect day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmeng20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi Mmeng20,

First off, congratulations! We are elated to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your wedding weekend with us! Our wedding team is committed to ensuring that your day goes off without a hitch, so that you don't have to worry about a thing! We do hope we get the opportunity to serve you again soon, perhaps for an anniversary trip? :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked our room after numerous calls trying to find a balcony view. We were told & later called back to confirm that we would have a courtyard view---when we arrived all we had was the view of a large tarp covering the courtyard. The front desk reply was "we are sorry" ! We were giving comp drink tickets to the 21st Amendment Bar for our pleasure. When we went to the bar Saturday evening after dinner, we were told in a very blunt manner "we are closed for a private party"---this was part of the same event that had the courtyard covered & the hotel staff had to know prior to our arrival. We were booked in room 512---which is adjacent to the power plant for the hotel. The power plant comes to full force at three in the morning & continues beyond seven in the morning---not good for a moderate sleeper. At check-out we again expressed or disappointment & displeasure in being misled--again the same response, "we are sorry". The bellman overheard or comments & was sincerely apologetic when he was outside helping with our luggage.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Ralph,

We are sincerely sorry to hear you had a less than spectacular stay with us. The tarp is in place to protect guests from the elements, since the area is open. We apologize that no one mentioned this to you prior. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Location is perfect if you are going to Bourbon street. Hotel has a wonderful New Orleans character. The room is spacious, bed is very comfortable, shower is a large walk in, and the complimentary breakfast was more than expected. Parking is valet only but I wouldn't want to look for a place to park in that area. I will stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank karsen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel Mazaran was a great experience. Room was neat and clean. Breakfast was great! The property was beautiful. What I would expect in the French Quarter. The staff was very nice and helpful. This hotel is in the Heart of the French Quarter, located between Bourbon St and Royal St but far enough away from the bars on Bourbon St. The traffic was CRAZY trying to get there but you can valet park. It is expensive at about $34 dollars daily plus taxes but really you pay around that at other hotels in the area. By the time we made it to the hotel we did not care that it cost that much, we were just glad not to have to drive anywhere! I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,386 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing