We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful courtyard. Excellent rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #4 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful courtyard. Excellent rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at Marazin for 5 nights in August and were very pleased with the hotel and staff. All were very courteous and willing to give good advice to tourists visiting New Orleans for only the 2nd time.
The rooms are beautiful and well appointed. Very clean and well kept by the staff. There is a courtyard on the ground level that seemed to always be at least 10 degrees cooler than the heat outside. Great place to sit and enjoy the fountain.
The hotel offers a continental breakfast and also has a few hot items (Pancakes, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and grits while we were there). Well done and kept fresh. A good added value the the price of the stay.
One warning, and this is not a criticism of the hotel. We stayed in a room with a small balcony facing the street about a half block from Bourbon Street. If you might be bothered by the sound of partying late into the night then you may want to choose an interior room facing the courtyard.
We'll definitely return to the Marazin on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Psylvestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,819
    910
    173
    87
    25
See reviews for
595
2,223
99
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

My wife and I had a weekend free and wanted to make our first visit to NOLA. We decided last minute to drive over from Houston and looked for a place to stay on Trip Advisor. We were intrigued by the reviews of Hotel Mazarin.

The property is conveniently located between Royal and Burbon Street. It is a smaller boutique hotel that was very comfortable and the service was excellent.

The hotel has easy access to the 21st Ammendment Bar which is smaller very comfortable place to hang out. The have very unique crafted drinks. Sarah the bartender was excellent and gave us several great restaurant choices.

We will be back!!!!!

Room Tip: Lower courtyard room can be a little noisy. We will try a 3rd floor street facing room with balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChasDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Friendly staff nothing a problem to them one of the door men was great always a smile when greeting you great hotel lovely court yard to sit and relax great breakfast and close to bourbon st they even arrange tours for you and nothing a problem excellent hotel

Room Tip: So close to bourbon st and you don't here any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertr1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just returned from a four-day romantic getaway at the hotel Mazarin. It was my husband's birthday and our first time in NOLA. The friendly staff, throughout the hotel was accommodating. All very polite, friendly and willing to help in any way they can. Location was prime, 1 block off Bourbon St. (but far away enough to escape the craziness), and walking distance to Jackson Square. There are several excellent restaurants nearby.

The room was overall clean, same goes for the bathroom, though on the small size. Breakfast was well worth the stay. Awesome selection of food. It included fresh fruits, pancake, sausage and bacon, scrambled eggs, grits, not to mention a variety of cereal and an assortment of pastries.

Would highly recommend this "gem" to anyone looking for a unique stay in NOLA.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side are quieter, e.g. rooms #224-229. If possible, stay away from rooms facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sony Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Sony Michelle P,

Thank you for the positive review! We are glad you enjoyed your getaway with us, especially since it was your first time in the Big Easy! We would like to wish your husband a belated birthday, and we hope to get the opportunity to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripree
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Spent four nights here celebrating our 25th anniversary. Hotel is an excellent location; fabulous restaurants just a stone's throw away including Red Fish Grill, Arnauds, Acme Oyster House and GW Fins to name a few. Every attraction is within either easy walking distance or easy access via the street cars or buses (we bought a three day Jazzy Pass which was great) We were in 506 which had a lovely view of the beautiful courtyard. Had read reviews and requested a quiet room which this room proved to be. Found it spacious and quiet. When you compare prices, this place is a true bargain- free bottled water, complimentary cocktail of your choice at 21st Amendment Bar and a fabulous free breakfast buffet- apparently it's so good people sneak in and after we'd been there three mornings previously, a sweet, friendly young lady had to ask us our name and room number to verify we were guests.

Staff was without exception friendly and very helpful. Would most definitely stay here again next time we're in N'awlins!

Room Tip: Reviews helped us to choose a courtyard-facing, high level room which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

"Staff was friendly and nice and made our trip a lot easier and fun! The location was good too, which made it easier for us to head to local attractions! The refrigerator in the room made out life so easy. Overall it is a nice experience.
"

Room Tip: Ask for pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
341 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I spent four nights at this very pleasant boutique hotel. We had a Superior King (#418) that was very nicely furnished. The room was large and the bed was comfortable with superb linens. Marble floors helped along with very good A/C helped to keep the room cool in the August heat while we were there (99 degrees one day). There was a large flat screen TV that was never turned on - too many other things to do. The bathroom was a little on the small side although the shower was ample. All the usual amenities were there - bathrobes, soaps, lotions, good wi-fi, etc. The Superior King is billed as having a view, as opposed to a limited view billed for a Deluxe King. We never contested the descriptions but probably should have since all we had was a very limited view as it was blocked by a large tree with netting around it to keep out the birds. I do not imagine there are very good views in any of the rooms so it was no big deal for us. However, next time we would likely opt for the Deluxe King room.

The lobby area was very inviting and comfortable. They had a small business center which we used to print boarding tickets as well as a small exercise room. Breakfasts were large and tasty - bacon, sausage, eggs, pancakes, grits as well as various baked items, fruits etc. There is a center courtyard with a fountain that could be a very nice area to relax but instead only had limited seating. It would have been a nice area for drinks. There is an attached wine bar (Patricks) that was classy and an oasis from the nearby Bourbon Street madness. No pool, but we knew that when we booked. The location is great, but take note - you are half a block away from Bourbon St. and they DO party ALL night there. I believe the hotel has done what it reasonably can to soundproof the rooms but noise can still be an issue. My wife uses ear plugs and had no problem. I was bothered on a Saturday night but that is the price you pay for the location. I should have brought ear plugs myself.

The hotel provides off site valet parking for a fee which we used one day. They were very prompt in retrieving our car. We also requested and received a one hour checkout extension. Everyone we had contact with at the hotel was friendly and helpful.

I highly recommend this hotel. I would have given it a score of 5 but for the few minor issues mentioned.

I highly recommend the hotel and would likely use it again if I returned.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue consider a courtyard view room. If an exterior view is desired, check with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Pin_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Travel_Pin_Man,

Thank you for your pleasant review of our property! We are sorry you were inconvenienced by your room view. Room #418 offers a view of Patrick’s Bar Vin and the tree that surrounds it. Our front desk team is available 24-7 to answer questions and alleviate concerns. They also have a stock of ear plugs for guests who require further sound proofing! Unfortunately, we do not have a pool, but you can visit any of our sister properties to take advantage of this amenity…simply show the front desk your Mazarin room key and you are good to go! We sincerely hope we have the opportunity to serve you again on your next trip to the Big Easy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,915 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,966 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing