We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this hotel,, wouldn't stay anywhere else.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this hotel,, wouldn't stay anywhere else.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

I've stayed at Hotel Mazarin several times and each is like the first....The decor is awesome and the staff is magnificent.... Everyone is so helpful and friendly... I am a very picky person when it comes to choosing any service that I can't provide for myself and I don't worry when I choose this hotel.... I almost did not try it the first time because of some of the sourpuss reviews... Needless to say some people are just pessimist.... In my opinion it's a must stay.... Now if you're on business, a price or someone that can't understand what New Orleans is about don't stay here because it's close to all of the excitement... So location for the value is a great ratio.... The breakfast is the best "free" breakfast I've ever had and the hostesses are great people... I can't say enough great things about this place.... I haven't tried their bar but it appears tho have a great ambience.... The gym has great equipment in it, stocked with everything you need.. I really couldn't imagined staying anywhere else... Planning my next stay...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCitful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,727
    865
    165
    87
    24
See reviews for
573
2,124
97
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed in the Petite Suite. It was a great room but if it had been raining, we would have gotten wet getting to our room. You take elevator to 2nd floor and take the stairs up the room. The stairs are partially covered. Also, don't book this room if you are not comfortable walking up stairs. No elevator to the final walk to the room. There is only 1 Petite Suite.

Spacious sitting room with flat screen TV, large granite wet bar with small sink, pull out under counter ice maker/freezer and separate pull out refrigerator. Also small refrigerator in chest with safe. Small but comfortable bedroom with King bed, updated bathroom. Walk in shower which I prefer, no tub. The floors were marble and not carpet. A/C controls in both bedroom and sitting room and it worked great. No view from room but didn't matter since it is the French Quarter.

Our friends stayed in a Deluxe King room facing the courtyard which was a nice size. Separate vanity area with walk in shower.

Included in the price: breakfast buffet, one welcome cocktail, unlimited bottled water and internet included.Parking was $30 something per night but we would have easily spent that on breakfast.

The staff was attentive, courteous and friendly. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms opening to courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbedrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Unfortunately we had a very different experience at this hotel in comparison with the majority of other reviewers. We were staying in NOLA as part of a 5 week honeymoon trip and this was the only hotel that has delivered anything other than superb service.
On the whole the staff were dismissive, disinterested and unfriendly. On checking in, our room wasn't ready (it was 4:30pm). We were sent to the bar without an apology but two free drinks vouchers as compensation. We realised later that everyone gets two free drinks vouchers on checking in so there was no compensation. On checking out the receptionist didn't even make eye contact when she was taking payment, let alone ask us how our stay was or wish us a safe journey. We were invisible for the four days we were there - no smiling faces or positive greetings. It just wasn't a welcoming place which is such a shame considering it's a small boutique hotel (this paled in comparison with other much larger hotels / chains we stayed in).
Other than a super lovely guy at breakfast, the rest of the waiting staff just weren't interested. Breakfast was ok - the only place we stayed where it was included with the room. It's a simple buffet with lots of choice.
House keeping staff were also dismissive despite our best efforts to be cheerful and friendly.
The room was lovely but small and noise / light from the corridor was a problem, especially in the morning as the supply cupboard for housekeeping was right outside our door.
We were in a deluxe king with 'limited view'. It was a decent enough size with a lovely shower and super comfy bed. Be aware, 'limited view' literally means tiny window rather than a view that isn't great! We existed without daylight in the room for 4 days. Pay more for the smaller room that has a decent window.
The location of the hotel is great if you want Bourbon St. We didn't, but everything else is within walking distance and the rest of the French Quarter is beautiful. The music at the Satchmo Fest was amazing and well worth the trip! NOLA was a great place to visit - we just expected more from a self-proclaimed "Luxury Boutique Hotel" that "preserves New Orleans' signature charm".

Room Tip: If you like daylight don't get a Deluxe King room. I thought 'limited views' meant it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SLCNKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hi SLCNKH,

We are dismayed to learn that your stay with us was anything less than stellar. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you, and we assure you the issues mentioned have been brought up with our staff. We hope you enjoyed your honeymoon, and we'd love to have the chance to serve you on your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Everything about the hotel was great except for the noise level. We booked a balcony room and the Bourbon street noise was cranking all night. I'd suggest that they mention on the web site that there are quiet and not so quiet rooms. Room itself was great. Location was (too!) great. Included breakfast buffet was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room - away from Bourbon Street - if noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Fred B,

We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel! Thank you for noticing our great breakfast offerings. We certainly apologize for any inconvenience the noise of the city caused you! We understand that the hustle and bustle of Bourbon Street can get quite loud, so we offer ear plugs at our front desk to alleviate this. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Mazarin is a delightful boutique hotel. Sitting in the courtyard eating their very nice breakfast, it is hard to believe you are only 1/2 of a block off of Bourbon Street.

The hotel is beautiful, well maintained, with great décor in the bedrooms. It would be ideal with one exception - our room was NOISY. Every bit of noise in the hallway outside our door was broadcast into the room by the marble floors and a 1+ inch gap under the door (see photo). If you are thinking of a romantic getaway, forget it! You can't do that when you can hear every word of someone talking on their cell phone in the hall, and they can hear everything you are doing. The sound was so clear, the door might as well have been open.

The Mazarin is a great hotel, done in (for me) by one fatal flaw. If they fix the door gaps and put some good seals on them so folks can have some privacy in their rooms, I could give them a Excellent rating, but until then, I can't.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatormark91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Gatormark91,

Thank you for acknowledging our atmosphere and breakfast selections. We are sorry to hear that your experience was less than stellar, and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience background hotel noise may have caused you. We do understand that the French Quarter can become vivacious at any given time of day, so we do offer ear plugs at our 24-7 front desk. We are also adding additional hallway runners to alleviate some of the noise in certain areas of the hotel. We hope that you will consider staying with us again on your return to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Everything about this hotel was excellent!

Beautiful room, great staff, wonderful breakfast.

I would definitely stay there again.

Great location if you want to stay in the French Quarter; 1/2 block off of Bourbon Street.

Easy access to local restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: The hotel is in the Quarter, so if you stay on a weekend, expect some outdoor noise. It is located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitchell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Wow is to weak a descriptive adjective to describe the accommodations, service and location of the Hotel Mazarin. My wife and I spent five days at the Hotel Mazarin, from check in to check out the staff made us feel like we were family. The breakfast is served on china and the utensils are silverware, the front desk is super helpful with recommendations and directions and just being super nice. The rooms are large and well appointed, bathrooms the same. The location is right in the heart of everything, across the street is the Irvin Mayfield Jazz Playhouse, he's there on Wednesday, and it's not to be missed. Restaurants just ask the front desk, there to many and they are to varied to discuss. Check out and valet service just as nice, quick and helpful as the rest of the Hotel Mazarin.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B3425PCanthonyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,810 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing