We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite places”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #29 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The rooms seem always different everytime we stay. Sometimes they've been updated, somestimes big, even studio setup, sometimes older and more of a "Eurosmall" setup. Nevertheless, the location and charm can't be beat, especially if you can get a good rate. Have fun!

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DGR1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Thanks for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta and sharing your experience with us! We are thrilled that you have continued to return to the Royal Sonesta when venturing to New Orleans and that you’ve enjoyed the change and uniqueness in each of your past visits. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,608 - 3,614 of 4,249 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2011

I would say that our stay at this hotel was as near to perfect as it gets. We had one early problem and the hotel responded immediately and took PERFECT care of us. We got into our room in the middle of the day and there was some minor construction going on in an adjacent room. We called the front desk about it, and literally within 10 minutes we were settled into our new very, very quiet room. One other thing happened when we were there that was also worth noting. We accidentally ordered a movie we did not want (the TV menu was a little confusing, but not their fault). I called the front desk and they said they would send someone right up to help. Well, I baredly even had time to get my clothes back on and the very polite and professional engineer knocked on the door and resolved the problem immediately. The service there was absolutely flawless. And no the movie did NOT appear on our bill.

The location is so much fun because it is quite literally in the middle of everything, right on the corner of Bourbon and Conti streets. It is an easy stroll to countless restaurants and historical sites. However, inside the hotel you would never know that. It is very quiet and calm, even in the front lobby where you might expect some noise, there is no hint at all of the mayhem ensuing just outside the front doors. And the lobby environment is itself an oasis.

The air conditioning (a BIG deal in hot, humid New Orleans) was very strong and the rooms tastefully appointed. I have to tell you though the best thing about the rooms are the bedding. Probably one of the most comfortable beds we have ever experienced at a hotel. Amazing pillows and blankets, great quality sheets, and there is no understimating the advantage of blackout curtains. We slept in until 11:00 am one morning because the room was pitch black, even at that hour! This is was a vacation my wife and I sorely needed and The Royal Sonesta dilivered everything we hopeed for and more. One other thing... the bellstaff was also incredible. Very warm and they delivered the highest level of service. I cannot recomment this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Reserve early, the rooms go fast I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cargorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Wow! We are simply beaming from your praises. Thank you for your kind review. Our staff at the Royal Sonesta Hotel strives to provide excellent customer service for each guest throughout their entire stay, and we are so excited to have exceeded your expectations. We can’t wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta during Memorial Weekend and found the hotel to be just perfect. Perfectly located on Bourbon street within walking distance to most attractions and to the streetcar for those attractions farther away, and steps away from many wonderful restaurants (thumbs up for Mr. B's Bistro a block away). Beautiful public areas and comfortable, greatly appointed rooms with all ammenities, including free wi-fi and excellent quality toilettries. Great customer service. Excellent value for the money, especially since we got a great deal for the room at getaroom.com.
The only minus (hence not a perfect sleep quality rating even though the bed was very comfty) is the level of noise. Although we got a room away from Bourbon street we had a balcony facing a side street and the noise was pretty lound throught the night. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. (somehow we got used to it after the first night)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. We are proud of our reputation for gracious service. We appreciate your compliments and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed four nights in a room on the concierge floor. It included a buffet breakfast and afternoon cocktails. Service was great. Location on Bourbon Street was within walking distance to most things a first time visitor would like to see.

Room Tip: Stay on concierge level. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarVin0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Thanks for choosing the Royal Sonesta and for sharing your experiences. It’s a pleasure to hear! We hope you visit us on your next trip to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

The Royal Sonesta is purely perfect! From the bell hops that greet you in the garage to the desk staff, concierge, to special events coordinator...everyone is proficient at their job. They are so friendly, knowledgable and "hands-on". You will want for nothing at this hotel.
The rooms are clean, bright and well decorated. The beds are so comfortable...you won't want to get out of them. But you must go to the pool!!! So much fun!! Great restaurant and drinks! Best hotel in the city..and we are locals...so we know!!! Make your next stay at the Royal Sonesta and pamper yourself!!!

Room Tip: if you want total quiet...inside rooms best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

We are so glad that you had a lovely staycation at the Royal Sonesta, and we are truly flattered by your compliments! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Royal Sonesta for a business conference. From the moment we were greeted by the doorman, until the day we left, I can't say enough about how well the staff treated us. Always friendly, with a smile, from the front desk to housekeeping. We had a room on the Club floor, away from the streets and any noise. The breakfast in the morning in the Club Lounge was perfect and the cocktail hour in the afternoon was an added treat. My wife decided early one morning to sign up for a tour of the plantations. Although the concierge was not in yet, a bellman was happy to arrange for the tour in just a few minutes. You can see that fine service is the Royal Sonesta's #1 concern.

The meeting facilites were perfect for our 50 person conference. The rooms and food were set up just as we had asked for and the meeting staff made the process very easy. I would definitely use these facilities again if the opportunity arises.

The location is perfect for a New Orleans visit. I highly recommend the Royal Sonesta.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilre12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2011

Excellent! Thank you for staying with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and recognizing our dedication to quality customer service and hospitality. We are overjoyed to read of the success of the conference you attended at the hotel and how the R Club concierge level pampered you just right. Thank you for your lovely recommendation, and we do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The hotel is nice but the room was a little run down considering the price. We stayed in a suite in the R level. The bedding was wonderful with pillows that were like sleeping on a cloud and it had a nice private balcony. The bathroom was also very nice though a little small for a suite. The carpet and walls could have been in better condition and the consierge desk was empty half of the time. Obviously with this hotel you are paying for location quite a bit and it does have a great location. Overall we were happy but expected more with the R level upgrade.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdlbhd321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2011

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta. We are delighted that you found the bedding and secluded balcony to be heavenly; however, we are sorry that the R Club concierge area did not meet your expectations. This is not our normal R Club feedback. We have many repeat guests who return to the R Club again and again due to the friendly concierge, staff, and service oriented host during the complimentary breakfast and cocktail hours. In addition, we maintain a rolling maintenance program on all our guest rooms and have two floors scheduled for complete renovation this year with more to come in 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,791 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,533 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
6,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,488 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,254 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £154 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing