We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding week in New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #30 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Just completely incredible! My new bride and I just spent the most amazing week at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans. First of all, easy easy easy coordinating with Amanda Lamonte the continually changing plans of us and our guests. We heard "relax, we will handle it all for you" at least a dozen time a day. (not that we are needy, will get to the reason soon) This amazingly humble, sensitive, efficient and dedicated woman is a Godsend. We had an issue with some of our 45 guest who unfortunately wanted to stay at another hotel which ended up being completely disappointing and our hero arranged rooms for all of our guests without input or added stress for us. I have never stayed in a hotel that truly put it's guest completely 100% first. Now to Randall, at the front desk, and Jabari, at the door, never seen without a smile, welcoming gesture and honest helpful answer for good food, transportation and relaxation. Kate, in HR, and Dakota, management, not only made us feel like we were the only guests staying in the hotel, but managed to take care of an insanely busy hotel. We will never stay anywhere else again. We have been to New Orleans several times staying at another prominent boutique hotel but with the class and service at Royal Sonesta.....we have found our home away from home. We can not thank you all enough for making our wedding so easy and helping our guest have the most memorable time of their lives. See ya'll soon, coming back in April.

Room Tip: Ask about the remodeling. currently working on the 3rd floor but with limited noise. splurge for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soresurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Congratulations on your new marriage, and thank you so much for this amazingly gratifying review of your experience at the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans! We are just as thrilled as you to have exceeded your expectations and to have won you over as your “home away from home!” Amanda, Randall, Jabari, Kate, and Dakota and all of our staff that helped make your day special will be touched to hear just how important they are to your treasured wedding memories. Our staff strives to give such a personal and memorable experience to each of our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again in April! Until then…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,748 - 3,754 of 4,499 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

The Royal sonesta was a very nice hotel with a great location on bourbon street, even if you don't want to spend any time on this street. It is steps away from all the other attractions in the french quarter. We had a room overlooking their lovely pool.

Room Tip: Get an inside room away from the noise on Bourbon st
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel! We couldn’t be happier to read how much you enjoyed your poolside room at our hotel and our convenient location in the French Quarter! We appreciate your comment recognizing that the Royal Sonesta Hotel offers an authentic New Orleans experience without ever leaving our doors! We are proud of our reputation of offering such a complete experience filled with delicious food, luxurious accommodations, world-class jazz, locally brewed coffee, and genuine hospitality. We hope you visit us for years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights as a business visiter. Its right on Bourbon Street and a great place to be to explore the French quarter. Even though there is a lot of loud music on the street nearby, somehow I was not at all disturbed by it at night. The room and breakfast were both very good and I cant fault the service.

Room Tip: Maybe go for an inner courtyard room and you may get a better night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Thank you, we really appreciate your review! We love hearing from business travelers so that we can continually work to enhance your comfort level while working away from home. We hope you choose to visit us again for business and pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and I honeymooned in New Orleans, and we chose to stay at the Royal Sonesta to be right in the middle of things, and did we get it right! It is an amazingly breathtaking beautiful hotel. Not only was the foyer and our room amazing, but we were right in the center of everything. Walked out the front doors and you were on bourbon street and easy to get to all the sights, attractions, tours, and best restaurants and bars. When my husband and I go back for our first anniversary we will most definitely be staying there again. It was an amazing sight, the staff was very personable and helpful, plus it was nice having a coffee bar in the lobby and connecting bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shandenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Congratulations on your new marriage! We are so lucky to be part of your honeymoon memories, and we can’t wait to see you again next year on your anniversary. Thank you for sharing your magical experience at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. Our convenient location in the center of the French Quarter provides easy access to all of New Orleans’ unique culture, famous restaurants and attractions. But, if you choose to never leave the hotel, you can still have an authentic New Orleans experience all inside our property! The coffee bar you liked is PJ’s which serves only New Orleans locally brewed coffee. And, the bar is Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse which features the highest quality live jazz 7 nights a week. Our casual restaurant is Desire Bistro & Oyster Bar serving fresh Gulf oysters, soon to be joined by five-star Restaurant R’evolution. Best wishes until we meet again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This hotel is right in the heart of all the action yet is a world away from it once you step inside.
I requested courtyard view as street is very loud. Request was granted.
Street car stops are close. Being in the french quarter meant you can just stroll out.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johndeirdre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Came to New Orleans with my 14 year old son, stayed on the club level floor, and it was well worth the extra money. Everyone was very helpful in finding things to do with a teenager, helped us book a haunted walking tour, great restaurants, and tips on visiting the D-Day museum. Will definately stay at the Royal Sonesta next time we visit New Orleans.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank man01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

We are delighted that you and your son equally enjoyed your experience in New Orleans! At the Royal Sonesta Hotel we have the friendliest and most hospitable staff, including wonderfully personal concierge devoted to enhancing each guest’s stay in New Orleans. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to having you visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The rooms for this hotel were beautiful. The location was great other than it was loud and I wasn't even on Bourbon Street. The noise went on until the wee hours of the morning. The rooms were clean, staff were great, very good service. The showers take awhile to adjust to. It took forever to get hot water. A minor thing for the other things this hotel has to offer. We were there for conferences and the food was good but the portions were small... and I mean SMALL!!! Other than the noise it was a great place to stay with great staff and the beds were very comfortable!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden courtyard/pool. I didn't but the people I was with that did sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ak3250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

We are so glad to have had you stay with us while you were in town for your conferences. We greatly appreciate your reviews because they give us opportunity to continuously improve and provide the best possible stay! As you’ve noted, we suggest that guests who prefer quiet book interior courtyard or poolside rooms, and we apologize that your room was not as quiet as you’d expected. Please know that any guest may request complimentary earplugs from the front desk, and we are considering putting them in our rooms. Also, only 20% of our rooms face Bourbon Street. While we are thankful that the hot water situation did not impede your whole experience at our hotel, we are very sorry for the inconvenience and have reported it to our building maintenance team for repairs. Please come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,909 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,052 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,718 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,392 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £152 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing