We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, top notch customer service, but a bit too noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #28 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, top notch customer service, but a bit too noisy.”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I would love to give this hotel 5 stars as almost everything about it is perfect. The staff are so friendly and accommodating, the customer service is absolutely superb, the hotel is beautiful and you absolutely cannot beat the location if you want to be right in the heart of the French Quarter.

The only issue we had, despite being in a courtyard room, which are supposed to be quieter than exterior rooms, was the noise levels that made it difficult to sleep. The walls are paper thin. We could hear the plumbing from the surrounding rooms whenever someone took a shower or flushed the toilet.

We could also hear everyone talking outside of our room, from housekeeping knocking on the doors to the drunk revelers stumbling down the hallways. I guess it didn't help that our room was near the elevator so there was a lot of foot traffic passing by every hour of the day and night. I think if we had been in a room further down the hall from the elevator it might have been better.

Despite the noise, I would definitely stay at the Royal Sonesta again because everything else about it is so great. Next time I will just ask for a room at the end of the hall and bring my earplugs or noise machine.

Room Tip: If you want peach and quiet make sure to ask for a courtyard room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfla2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
We’re so happy that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. However, we are very sorry to read that your rest was disturbed by other guests. Please know that we do honor requests for ear plugs and switching rooms, upon their availability. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and recognizing how hard our staff works to provide the best customer service to each of our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,289
    1,128
    338
    116
    97
See reviews for
507
1,752
118
548
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The staff was nice!!! The location was great; however, if you want to get any sleep ask them to put you in a room where you can. Overall, this hotel was great!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brit3brat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
We really appreciate your gracious review! Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and for sharing your experience with our “great customer service” and convenient location. Our guests’ rest and relaxation is most important to us. Please know that the majority of our rooms face our interior tropical courtyards and pool and are constantly praised for being quiet. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I have stayed here for four days in mid-November. Good place for a conference or business meetings, but probably not for a leisurely visit. As many large network hotels it is lacking style and personal touch. Service is way too relaxed. Some rooms have a bit worn-out look and those that face Bourbon street or Conti street are extremely noisy. There is a nice courtyard and swimming pool, but it was closed for maintenance when I was there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_M_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
We are very sorry that you did not find our décor or our team at the Royal Sonesta to be as unique or personable as you’d expected. Please know that this is not our normal feedback, and we work very hard to make sure that all our guests feel at home, especially business travelers. Since only 20% of our rooms face Bourbon and Conti Street, there are many other guest rooms that face our quiet, tranquil interior courtyards and pool. We apologize for the inconvenience of the pool being closed during your stay, but hope that you will consider visiting us again soon as we are also in the process of updating the décor in all guest rooms on the second through fifth floors. Please know that we do appreciate your feedback and doing business with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My husband and I had an amazing time here. This will be our 1st hotel choice going forward. Every employee was exceptional and went above & beyond. We loved people watching off our Bourbon balcony. The hotel is conveniently located so that we were able to pop in & use the restrooms off the lobby if we were out sight seeing. I must say it was a completely different experience & much better than our stay at the Bourbon Inn two months ago. There were chairs on the balcony, our room was nice size with ample space in the bathroom, a desk, clean, fast service from every employee and less expensive than the other hotel (where I felt like an uninvited guest at a drunken frat party.) Oh and the most beautiful comfy bed! I loved the pillows & the big white down comforter! There was so much to do in NOLA but I couldn't blame anybody who wanted to stay in their room all day at the Royal Sonesta! Every employee has a sincere smile on their face. You can tell when people enjoy their job and take pride in their business. Each person must be hand picked who works here! Great Job. This is my first time posting on trip advisor too...but the Royal Sonesta deserves recognition.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAXnANGEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This is good hotel, unless you get the upgrade room/suit...rooms are too small. The ambiance is great and the ideal location for Bourbon Street. Great coffee bar and shops. Parking is tight and Internet is not good for business as it fades in and out.



  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrm2u2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
We are very happy to know how much you enjoyed the convenience of our location in the heart of the French Quarter, the locally roasted coffee at our PJ’s Coffee Café, and the surrounding antique shops and art galleries. We apologize for the difficulties you experienced using our free wireless internet. We will follow up on the signal strength as we have not had this challenge since a recent upgrade of the system. And we are sorry that the size of our standard guest rooms did not meet your expectations. Please know that our guest rooms are quite large compared to other hotels in the French Quarter. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The room was very pleasant and the staff were attentive. We really appreciated the 2 ladies who staffed the club room on Nov. 16th & 17th. They were very personable and attentive to the guests. All in all we enjoyed Desire Seafood and Oyster Bar, Irvin Mayfields Jazz Playhouse and P J's Coffee Cafe.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room in the back away from Bourbon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed in a 7th floor suite. The service was impeccable. The location is the best around, right in the middle of all of the action of Bourbon Street. My only complaint was our jacuzzi tub did not work and the sink stopper was broken. Everything was beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iluv80s75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
We are absolutely elated by your high recommendation of our hotel and its 7th floor R Club Concierge Level! Throughout the whole hotel, our team is dedicated to consistently providing such “impeccable” service. We apologize for the disappointment you experienced with the Jacuzzi and stopper in your room. Our maintenance team has been notified and proper repairs have been made. Please come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,380 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,988 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,371 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing