We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay but all I could ask for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #28 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Short stay but all I could ask for”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We arrived at the hotel after a short trip from Biloxi, MS via the back roads. We got there in the early afternoon so our room was ready. It was my friend who booked the hotels and for the price, the hotel's first impressions far exceeded my expectations. The lobby was bright and airy and clean. The room was of average size, for a room with two queens. Spacious enough for all of us and our belongings, yet nothing noteworthy. The biggest point about the hotel itself is the pool. Set in a courtyard, the pool was a very nice place to spend an hour or so, relaxing after the drive.

Again, my stay was only a night, so it was paramount for us to be at the centre of it all. If your primary reason for going to New Orleans is for downtown business and/or tourist purposes, the location can't really be beat. It's close to the office towers of downtown but set on the edge of the French Quarter, with all its attractions.

Bottom line: If you want a good hotel for not too much money that's centrally located to both the French Quarter and downtown, this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Try and get a courtyard room. While it might be a bit noisier during the day, with kids playing in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikpvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for deciding to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel for your one night in New Orleans! We are overjoyed to know that your first impressions far exceeded your expectations of our lobby and accommodations. We’re so glad that you had chance to relax at the pool, and hopefully there’s enough time to go swimming during you next stay, or get that courtyard view you like. We appreciate your recommendation for our convenient location and affordability. Please come visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,403
    1,175
    353
    123
    103
See reviews for
556
1,829
123
576
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Granbury, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This hotel is right in the middle of Bourbon Street. It is a great location if you will be taking advantage of all the things the French Quarter has to offer. This was our fourth time staying at this hotel...that may say more than anything else in this review. We stayed in a Bourbon Street balcony unit and when we were not out and about it was a super place to watch the "street show" on Bourbon. The room was very clean and will be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 86Ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback, David. We are overjoyed that you found the ultimate seat on your balcony to watch the “street show” in the comfort and security of your room. We are also very grateful for your business and continued loyalty to the Royal Sonesta, and we look forward to welcoming you back to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We love this hotel! Our room was super clean & quiet. We finally ate at Desire our last day there & next time we'll eat there more. The food is delicious & you don't even have to leave your hotel! The courtyard is beautiful & we are thinking of getting married there. The staff are all very nice & very outgoing, too. Irving Mayfield's is great, too! We can't wait to go back to NOLA!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. We really appreciate the feedback about your stay and owe all the compliments to our housekeeping team, front desk, doormen, bellmen, and teams at Desire and Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse. If you’d like to share more about your experience at the Playhouse or Desire, their Trip Advisor profiles at http://tiny.cc/xebkx and http://ow.ly/6JZWo also welcome your feedback. We’d love to be the backdrop of all your wedding memories! Please contact Wyeth Furlong at 504-553-2244 or wfurlong@royalsonestsno.com for more information about planning your special day at the Royal Sonesta Hotel, and come back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We go to New Orleans often for long weekends. We always stay at the Sonesta. Service and location are excellent, rooms are nice and typical of the quarter hotels. Can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrGTr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are overjoyed to know that the Royal Sonesta Hotel is the place you escape to for long weekends of rest and relaxation! We love having you here and can’t wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This was my second stay at the Sonesta....and I am so glad I came back. The lobby is an elegant oasis and beautifully decorated for Christmas...lots of teddy bear trees. The rooms are large and the beds are to die for....such comfort! My room overlooked Bourbon Street and was very quiet...contrary to what you would expect. The bar downstairs is nice, has excellent jazz nightly. The concierge lounge is very good although hours lmited. Make sure to go on the outdoor patio if you have access to the lounge. The only negative was that there is no in room coffee maker and the coffee place downstairs has Starbucks prices. I did have lunch once at the restaurant and it was very good. If I go to NOLA again, I am sure to stay at the Sonesta. It is close to everything and you can easily walk to the convention center if you have business there. It is just nice to know you don't have to cab it to all the fine restaurants in the area and you can walk over to the streetcars if you want to check out the garden district. I can't say enough good things about this place!!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony if you know the weather is going to be nice during your stay....if it's cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pharmacyfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thanks so much for coming back to visit us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel! We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to know that we managed to exceed your expectations of our hotel, the R Club, and each of our outlets. If you’d like to share more about your experience at the Playhouse or Desire, their Trip Advisor profiles at http://tiny.cc/xebkx and http://ow.ly/6JZWo also welcome your feedback. We’re sorry that our PJ’s Coffee Café did not meet your expectations. While in-room coffee makers are not standard at the Royal Sonesta, you may still enjoy PJ’s Coffee in the comfort of your room from room service. Thanks for recognizing the convenience of our location for business travelers and many of the world’s most renowned restaurants and historic attractions within walking distance. We love hearing from you and look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My partner & I have stayed here in the past & had a great experience the 1st time. This year was not so much. We spent the extra money for the R club. Our room was in need of major repairs to the ceiling and the lavatory sink. The carpet also felt greasy & needed replaced. There were 2 wonderful hostesses in the R club lounge. Khadijah & Patricia. (please forgive my spelling of the names if in error), Both were very helpful & friendly. We had met Patricia the previous year & she is definitely an asset to this hotel. She is actually the main reason we came back to the same hotel. The quality of the food in the R club lounge had lowered somewhat from last year. Bell captain Jim was very accommodating to my disabled partner. This was much appreciated. The main difference seemed to be the lack of focus on the customer. They were busy decorating & revamping use of spaces. I was told there was new management that was from a military background. It showed. Things seemed forced as if everyone was following orders. The hotel no longer had the same feel of Southern Hospitality. I could sense most of the help felt unhappy in their jobs with the new management. Rigidity was in place & was felt! We visit New Orleans almost every year & until this year the Royal Sonesta had been our best hotel experience. We are thinking we will try elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnny-n-gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Johnny, thank you for the feedback. We appreciate the opportunity to improve and use the feedback of our guests to ensure we are constantly closing the gap to perfection. Unfortunately, it seems that we may have been in a hurry getting ready for the holidays and we missed the opportunity to ensure you felt as though you were a guest in our own home. Our Director of Operations, Jay Wiendl, would like to speak with you at your convenience. Please feel free to contact him at 504.495.4716. We are confident, provided the opportunity, that we will regain your trust in the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Having never been to New Orleans, this was a great experience. We went for business meetings, but had plenty of time to enjoy the city. The hotel is beautiful, and everything about it is wonderful- location, amenities, food, meeting rooms, all of it. The thing that got me was the attentivness of the staff. It was as if i was a guest in their home. They all seemed genuinely pleased that we were in their hotel, in their city. Having lived in Las Vegas for 30+ years, im a bit jaded when it comes to the hotel service industry. I know thats their goal, but it was unlike anything i've experienced before. The minute i got home i started making plans to go back, non work related, for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_S702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Andrew, we are so excited that you chose to stay with us your first time in New Orleans! We hope that you enjoyed our City as much as you rave about our Hotel. We’re pleased to know that our team exceeded your expectations and enhanced your experience in New Orleans. It’s certainly our goal to make you feel at home when you’re in fact miles away from your own home. Thank you so much your heartfelt feedback, and we’re thrilled that you’re already planning your next stay with us!! See you then…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 164 in New Orleans
4,637 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,306 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,365 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing