We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bourbon st was party central!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #26 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, ca
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bourbon st was party central!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel was a great location!! We had a balcony 2 n floor. If you like to party it is great, if you want quiet I do not suggest this hotel. Music & noise never ended! Hotel was beautiful, rooms could use an up grade, kinda aged.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and recommending the Royal Sonesta Hotel for a fun time due to our convenient location in heart of the French Quarter. We’re sorry if any street noise disturbed your rest. Please know we have many quiet interior rooms which face our lush courtyards or pool deck. Also note, we are currently renovating our 2nd to 5th floor guest rooms to a modern New Orleans influenced décor, expected to be complete by late this year. We hope you decide to come back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,205
    1,095
    324
    111
    95
See reviews for
487
1,681
113
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We went to Christmas Brunch at the royal Sonesta this past (2011) Christmas Day and had an outstanding experience. From the moment we were greeted and walked through a hallway lined with every desert imaginable, the tour of the layout of all of the food stations, the impeccable service of our waiter, the high quality and sophistication of the food, the complimentary photographs, the great jazz band, the free flowing mimosa’s and open bar, and that we were not rushed at all. If you are looking to find a memorable and a very "Christmassy" way to spend the day look no further.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loriwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thanks for attending our Christmas Brunch! It’s a wonderful way to spend the holiday with your friends and family surrounded by every dish you can think of…soup, seafood, carving & sauté stations, omelets & benedicts, fruit & cheese, sushi & caviar, salad, boulangerie, desserts, children's menu, along with the photographer, music and open bar! We are very grateful for your detailed feedback about this event, and we hope to celebrate other seasons with you this year! Also note, we do a weekly Sunday Champagne Brunch so no need to wait for the next holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

My husband and I spent our anniversary weekend on the R Level of the Royal Sonesta and we could not have asked for a better experience. The hotel is beautiful and everyone there is very polite and helpful. On the R-Club level, everyone was so friendly and we really enjoyed talking to Janette and Khadija at breakfast and in the evening. They made us feel at home! Linda was also so helpful and made a wonderful recommendation at one of the restaurants.

We ate at Desire and the food was very good - especially the BBQ shrimp. The jazz club was very classy and the music was great. It is amazing to see people with such skill perform. The coffee house service was wonderful as well - and the turtle cheesecake there was outstanding!

We will definitely stay here the next time we go to New Orleans - which I hope to be soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

And a grand experience. Everything was perfect - everyone was helpful. We stayed on the concierge floor and the appetizers and drinks were great. Staff was eager to help - and eager to make their guests smile! Loved the touch of fresh flowers everywhere. Good food, good music, and good times! Rooms were a little small, but you expect that in an older hotel. They make up for it with personal touches. And of course, everything the French Quarter has to offer is right there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Allison, we loved having you here and can’t wait to see you again. We’re so pleased to know that you found “everything perfect,” including your accommodations on the R Club concierge level, the convenient location, the food, the music, and the flowers. Thank you for your feedback and please come back soon to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We arrived the day after a Saints game and people were late checking out. The front desk was polite, apologetic and went above and beyond to accommodate us for the "inconvenience". The minute our room was ready, we received a call (while sipping cocktails and eating oysters off site) and when we arrived, our bags were waiting in the room.
Perfect location, phenomenal staff, great atmosphere and wonderful food!! We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mclh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
We’re sorry that check in was later than you expected, but we’re overjoyed that you used the opportunity to experience our “perfect location, phenomenal staff, great atmosphere and wonderful food.” We hope that the rest of your stay with us was just as enjoyable! Please come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta to celebrate a birthday and our anniversary. Everyone was so wonderful and congratulated us on our anniversary. The property was gorgeous and beautifully decorated for the holidays. The staff on the concierge floor were super friendly. When we got home, I told everyone how great our stay was--from the jacuzzi tub to the live jazz. My husband remarked that he definitely wanted to go back next year and bring the the entire family!

Room Tip: The rooms on the concierge floor were great--included breakfast and happy hour w/ h'orderves
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeAvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Coming to New Orleans for thirty years, twenty-five of which have been to the Royal Sonesta.

Find the staff generally professional. Find Malcolm Thompson professional and more.

You will meet Malcolm as you enter the hotel from your taxi. He is the one with the smile as wide as Bourbon Street. Interesting thing about Malcolm is his ability to anticipate my needs; from restaurant choices, to transportation, to a simple hair cut. An outstanding employee who is a perfect ambassador for this fine hotel.

Stay at the Sonesta. You cannot go wrong.

J. Stanczak

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Mr. Stanczak, we can’t thank you enough for your years of continuous loyalty to the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans. We appreciate your recognizing our team, especially Malcolm, for enhancing your stay here for the past 25 years! Our company culture makes our team a family, which is consistently honest, dedicated, welcoming, and hard working. We are thrilled to know that members of our team excel at anticipating your every need and, in doing so, meeting or exceeding your expectations. Thank you for your many years of business and for your feedback. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon, Mr. Stanczak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,207 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,819 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,068 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing