We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Orleans Hotel and Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #28 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Our stay at the Royal Sonesta was great as always. Great location and the staff is exceptional. And one can't find a more professional or friendly bar than Le Booze in the hotel lobby. Many thanks to Mike, Tommy, Matt, Patrick, Jerome and Amanda who are just outstanding and makes ours always a warm stay even if the weather doesn't exactly cooperate. And try the Tommy Gonger.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,200)
There are newer reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,339 - 3,345 of 4,200 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

This was our first trip to New Orleans and the Royal Sonesta turned out to be a perfect choice. The location was fabulous and we had no issues with noise, it is New Orleans after all! We had a fourth floor courtyard room with a King sized bed overlooking the pool and it was a really nice, spacious, clean room. All the staff were very friendly and accomodating. Everyone seems to complain about the noise but next time we go we want to stay in a room with a balcony overlooking Bourbon Street because that is all part of the experience. If you are looking for quiet then I would suggest you rethink your destination because the Bourbon street area of New Orleans is all about the party. All in all a great trip and the hotel was a big part of that, we will be back!

Room Tip: Request a courtyard room overlooking the pool if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnandSteve13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This hotel is a great hotel in the French Quarter. The service is excellent, the staff freindly and rooms are immaculate and beautifully appointed. However, be aware that it is in noisiest part of town. While our rooms were overlooking one of the side streets and not directly on Bourbon Street, the raucous noises from the streets below will still get your attention all hours of the night. The noise wasn't enough to keep us awake all night but it will rouse you from time to time. Once the party people begin to go to bed and the music beat wanes then the street sounds of the clean-up crews begin. The street washers and cleaners and the garbage trucks all intermingle with the delivery trucks to bother those that may be light sleepers. It is well worth the money and experience but get your full nights sleep prior to going there.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper, get a room that does not have street exposure.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Gerald, it was a pleasure having you stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel! Thank you so much for your feedback. We’re sorry that you felt you didn’t get enough rest during your stay, but please know that 80% of our guest rooms are NOT located on Bourbon or Conti Streets and instead face our quiet interior courtyards and poolside. Also, our R Club concierge levels on the 6th & 7th floor offers the ultimate in privacy and amenities for a good night sleep!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This is one of the best. Great location, right in the middle of it all. Just remember, it is Burbon Street, so it is going to be a little noisy. But that it part of the fun!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Hi Bob! We really appreciate this feedback after your most recent stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. We’re very happy to know that our convenient location in the heart of the French Quarter made for an extremely fun visit to New Orleans. Also, if noise distracts any of our guests, please know that we have a majority of quiet interior rooms along with our R Club concierge level for private relaxation, and complimentary earplugs are available upon request at the front desk . Thanks again, and we look forward to your next visit, Bob!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Had a very pleasant 3 day stay. Excellent location. Asked for an upgrade when our room was noisy during a rain storm. They gave us a patio room which was several steps up. Would definitly stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fldee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re glad to help you escape the noisy rainstorm in one of our patio rooms and also thrilled to know that you’d “definitely stay here again!” Please come visit us again soon at the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Normally we stay outside of the Quarter. We stayed at the Royal Sonesta for a wedding.

Our room was on the "R" floor. The seventh floor rooms seem to be more serene than other floors. Many in our party were on the third floor and they complained of noise throughout the evening. I think the "R" floor may attract a different crowd due to the additional expense. The food and beverage was good, but we did not take advantage of the offerings as the lounge is small and crowded (especially at the 5pm cocktail hour).

Room 7116 was called a "seventh floor balcony room". It had a little more room than a typical standard king. The wonderful thing is the very private, covered terrace with a table and chairs. We really enjoyed having this additional space. Your views from this terrace are of rooftops. You can see the tops of ships passing on the river, but not the river itself.

Service at the hotel was excellent. Nichole did our check-in. She was very gracious. I also want to recognize the wonderful room service employees. In particular, I wish I had the name of the woman who served our lunch on Saturday, January 14th. She was magnificent with the children and made a lunch for six on our terrace just wonderful.

The rooms and beds were in excellent condition. Bulgari products in the "R" rooms, but not the standards. The rooms are small, but the hotels in the Quarter are usually in older buildings and this is not uncommon.

We ordered room service on several occasions. The quality of food and service was top notch.

I was tempted to rate this hotel as five stars, but after a previous visit to the Windsor Court it is just not possible. I would stay here again if the price is reasonable and I wanted to stay on Bourbon.

Room Tip: seventh floor balcony rooms are great
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

We’re so glad that the wedding was an opportunity for you to stay with us, since you normally stay outside of the French Quarter. As you found, our R Club concierge level provides ultimate privacy, relaxation, and luxurious accommodations and amenities. We’re sorry that the size of the R Club Lounge was smaller than you expected for your large family at a crowded 5 p.m., however, we’re proud that our team was able to serve a “wonderful” lunch on your 7th floor balcony. Thanks for your feedback about the high quality food from room service and their outstanding performance. We also appreciate you recognizing the members of our team that managed to enhance your stay with us. Thanks again, and we hope that you consider staying with us next time you visit New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The big five-o in the big easy, it was the perfect destination to celebrate. The Royal Sonesta could not of offered any more hospitality or grace. The employees make the difference there.Housekeeping does wonderful,the rooms are spotless and smell good.If you have a chance to talk to Wilbert,Wayne,or Chuck,you will not only be entertained but they can offer you advice on what to do, and what to eat where. The entire staff was excellent.
The hotel is old style architecture,rooms are a bit small,but classic N.O. style. Big crown mouldings,marble floors,cathedral ceilings in some of the rooms. The courtyard is a nice place to sit and enjoy a cigar and a drink. The foliage is beautiful. The evening offers some excellent jazz in the lobby bar.
As far as noise in the room,we had no problem.Our room was not on Bourbon Street so I can not speak about those rooms.But face it,You are in New Orleans,so guff up and enjoy!! If you want calm and quiet maybe try the beach.
My personal opinion is that if you want great food,fun,and entertainment,you must go. Staying at the Royal Sonesta definately puts you in the middle of it all.Thanks to everyone for making my birthday one to remember !
P.S. If its your birthday,pin a dollar bill on your shirt and see what happens.It is a N.O. tradition and I will tell you this,it is a lot of fun. It's a good thing, just try it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

We are very excited to have played a role in such a memorable birthday celebration! Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel so we could show you the dedication and attentiveness of our magnificent team, our gorgeous building and guest rooms, our entertainment outlets and our incredibly convenient location in the heart of the French Quarter. We greatly appreciate your feedback, especially your recognition of Wilbert, Wayne, Chuck, and housekeeping. If you’d like to share more about your experience at Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse, their Trip Advisor profile http://bit.ly/x2jnOA also welcomes your feedback. Please come visit us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
4,721 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,420 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
5,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,428 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,226 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £149 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing