We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #30 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Room was immaculate - housekeeping was wonderful. Ate meals from Desire (next door and also provides food for room service). We had a balcony room but we came prepared with ear plugs. Very loud at night, but to be expected.

Room Tip: If you are with children or need to sleep do not get a room on Bourbon Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyMcHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Kathy, we’re delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel! We’re glad that you rested well, but please know that only 20% of our guest rooms face the street; the rest are quiet interior rooms facing our plush tropical courtyard or poolside. And for optimum privacy, the R Club concierge level on the 7th floor overlooks the city skyline and is accessible by keycard in the elevator. If you’d like to share more about your experience at Desire Bistro & Oyster Bar, their Trip Advisor profile at http://bit.ly/yeAYbQ also welcomes your feedback. We greatly appreciate your recommendation, and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,559 - 3,565 of 4,497 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel is in the French Quarter on Bourbon street and has beautiful lobby, rooms and the fantastic staff! We stayed two nights here! The bed and the pillows were the most comfortable I had ever slept on. Complimentary Robes for your stay! Will insist on staying next visit. The breakfast at the Desire restaurant was delicious, the service very friendly, recommend the biscuits and gravy, the crab cake eggs, (spicy).
Front desk provided our group with Umbrellas when the rain hit during our stay.
Great job Royal Sonesta!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoWinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

We really appreciate this wonderful review! It was our pleasure having your group stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel, and we’re so happy that you enjoyed our “fantastic staff,” complimentary robes and the most comfortable pillows you’ve ever slept on, and delicious meals at Desire! If you’d like to share more about your experience at Desire Bistro & Oyster Bar, their Trip Advisor profile at http://bit.ly/yeAYbQ also welcomes your feedback. Thanks for your recommendations; we hope you’ll be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Royal Sonesta was the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at and who would think it would be on Bourban Street. What a great location! You have the convenience of the French Quarter and all it has to offer and then the sophistication of the Royal Sonesta. When you walk in the front door of the hotel, you immediately forget the craziness of Bourban Street. Everyone was really nice and we especially found Darren very helpful. Will definitely be going back to stay there.

Room Tip: We stayed on the club level on the 7th floor would recommend it. A little bit more to pay but wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Amy, thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and for sharing your experience! We’re pleased that you found our location so convenient and something that enhanced your trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you recognizing our friendly team, especially Darin, and we’re couldn’t be happier knowing that you’d definitely stay with us again! Until then…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at Royal Sonesta during the NCAA championship games because our usual hotel picks (Ritz Carlton and Waldorf) were booked. Loved the location. The courtyard and pool areas were beautiful. The room was very very small when compared to the previously mentioned hotels for the price. Nice enough staff but customer service matters when you really need it. With 2 hours to the start of the game and a monsoon occurring in New Orleans.. Not a single staff member attempted to help us get a taxi.Overall the opinion of every staff member I asked was " not our problem.. Walk 1 to 2 blocks that way and maybe you will get lucky" .. We were soaked within half a block and almost missed tip off. We were unsuccessful at getting a taxi. I've never stayed at a hotel that couldn't assist with getting a taxi, even in the French Quarters. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunkissed1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel during the NCCA Final Four games. We appreciate you complimenting our convenient location, courtyard, and pool area, but we’re very disappointed to learn that our team did not meet your expectations, especially in calling you a taxi. We do in fact appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously. Please know we would be delighted to have you reach out to our Director of Hotel Operations, Jay Wiendl at (504) 586-0300 to discuss the challenges and to regain your confidence in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

traveled to NOLA for the first time. the Royal Sonesta is pretty but ask for a room that is not on bourbon street. hard to sleep with the noisy crowds and traffic.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lighttraveler206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel, and we’re delighted that you liked the ambiance of the hotel. We’re sorry that you had trouble sleeping, but please know for future stays that complimentary earplugs are available at the front desk and only 20% of our guest rooms face the street; the rest are quiet interior rooms facing our plush tropical courtyard or poolside. And for optimum privacy, the R Club concierge level on the 7th floor overlooks the city skyline and is accessible by keycard in the elevator. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope you find time in the near future to come back to visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My girlfriends and I took a 4-day holiday and stayed on the 7th floor facing the pool and courtyard. The 7th fl is the R-Club (Royal??) We were treated like royalty from the moment we checked in. Our rooms were quiet and restful, the decor was beautiful, the lobby, courtyard, pool and meeting rooms were unbelievable. We've never had amenities such as we had in our R-level room. My new best friend is the hotel horticulturist, Rod. Our only disappointment was PJ's Cafe and Desire Bistro--very average for such a palatial environment. We'd return in a heartbeat. Watch out for the Grand Opening of the new gourmet restaurant, R'evolution, at the end of May.

Room Tip: If you enjoy 'being in on the action' select a room facing Bourbon Street. We liked quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schsieme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

We really appreciate this wonderful review! It was our pleasure hosting your girls’ get-away at the Royal Sonesta Hotel, and we’re so happy that you enjoyed our R Club concierge level on the 7th floor and the tranquility, amenities, and premium guest service that comes with it. Also, we’re glad that you and your friends really enjoyed the “palatial environment” of the hotel, but we’re sorry that PJ’s Coffee Café and Desire Bistro did not meet those same expectations. Thank you for recognizing our horticulturist Rod, and we look forward to seeing you ladies again around the exciting opening of our new fine dining restaurant, Restaurant R’Evolution in June!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta for St. Patrick's Day weekend, and what a pleasure! To our surprise, we were upgraded to a balcony room (2nd floor, above Conti St.). This was a first for us, and it was amazing. While enjoying our balcony, we were graced with a solo bagpipe performance from a gentleman on his way to the parade. Only in N'Awlins! If you are concerned about noise and/or a light sleeper, request an interior courtyard room. The room had all the amenities, ie., flat screen tv, mini bar, generously sized toiletries, amazing bedding, iPod docking station. The hotel is clearly not "new" but well-maintained. We did not order room service, so I cannot comment to that, but it was offered, 24 hours. There is a coffee shop, Desire Bar, and jazz club in the hotel. The pool was open and there is a bar at the pool also which must open in warmer weather. Our first night we ate at Desire, it was fantastic.Open to Bourbon street, it is great for people watching as well.
The location of this hotel is great, even if you don't plan to spend much time in the Quarter, it is a great jumping off point. Taxi's are always available. Service (housekeeping, bellman) was outstanding.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are a great experience, but a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PittsburghBeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

We’re thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your upgraded accommodations with balcony perfect for viewing the St. Patrick’s Day festivities, like your solo bagpipe performance, haha. Thank you for recognizing our convenient location, outstanding guest service, and all the outlets our hotel offers: locally roasted coffee at PJ’s Coffee Café, fresh Gulf seafood at Desire Bistro & Oyster Bar, and authentic New Orleans Jazz at Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,908 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,052 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,718 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,391 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £150 - £492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing