We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #28 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
holland landing, ontario, canada
1 review
“Great Hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had a wonderful 3 night stay. The hotel was beautifully located, close to everything and the staff were excellent. Malcolm, the day doorman, was exceptionally helpful and kind. The concierge (Russell) was also very helpful in suggesting things appropriate for our 4 person group. Our rooms were immaculate and had everything you could want. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,263
    1,115
    330
    113
    97
See reviews for
499
1,728
115
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Royal Sonesta Hotel on Bourbon Street is an absolutely awesome place to stay. The staff was very professional and helpful, from the Registration on down the line. Bellmen, housekeeping, bartenders even the valet was top quality. The hotel is beautifully appointed. Our room was immaculate. Much to our surprise, we opened the French doors expecting a balcony only to find ourselves poolside. It is right in the middle of all the French Quarter action and very easy to get to all of the other New Orleans attractions. The beds were unbelievably comfortable. We did not eat there, but I am sure it would have been as fantastic as the rest of the place. You won't go wrong staying at the Royal Sonesta, everything about the place is fabulous

Room Tip: Parking is a bit of a hassle, however parking anywhere in New Orleans is a pain. Use the valet, it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thanks for sharing this feedback of your most recent stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel! We are so pleased that all of our teams and your comfortable poolside accommodations managed to exceed your expectations. And we’re glad that our convenient location in the heart of the French Quarter enhanced your visit to New Orleans. Please come back to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located right on Bourbon Street, so at the end of the night you have a short walk home. The hotel does a great job controlling non guests entering the hotel.

The location of the hotel is great, the rooms are excellent, and the staff is very friendly.
The pool is located in the inner court yard of the hotel. You have to get there early if you want a deck chair.

I have stayed at the R.S. 5 times and never had a complaint.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen02116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thanks for recognizing how dedicated our team is to our guests, especially our security team. We work very hard to make sure our guests feel safe within the hotel, in the French Quarter, and during big events in the city. And, we’re delighted that our convenient location enhanced your stay in New Orleans. We greatly appreciate your feedback and thank you for your loyalty to the Royal Sonesta over the past five years. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Room was immaculate - housekeeping was wonderful. Ate meals from Desire (next door and also provides food for room service). We had a balcony room but we came prepared with ear plugs. Very loud at night, but to be expected.

Room Tip: If you are with children or need to sleep do not get a room on Bourbon Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyMcHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Kathy, we’re delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel! We’re glad that you rested well, but please know that only 20% of our guest rooms face the street; the rest are quiet interior rooms facing our plush tropical courtyard or poolside. And for optimum privacy, the R Club concierge level on the 7th floor overlooks the city skyline and is accessible by keycard in the elevator. If you’d like to share more about your experience at Desire Bistro & Oyster Bar, their Trip Advisor profile at http://bit.ly/yeAYbQ also welcomes your feedback. We greatly appreciate your recommendation, and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel is in the French Quarter on Bourbon street and has beautiful lobby, rooms and the fantastic staff! We stayed two nights here! The bed and the pillows were the most comfortable I had ever slept on. Complimentary Robes for your stay! Will insist on staying next visit. The breakfast at the Desire restaurant was delicious, the service very friendly, recommend the biscuits and gravy, the crab cake eggs, (spicy).
Front desk provided our group with Umbrellas when the rain hit during our stay.
Great job Royal Sonesta!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoWinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
We really appreciate this wonderful review! It was our pleasure having your group stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel, and we’re so happy that you enjoyed our “fantastic staff,” complimentary robes and the most comfortable pillows you’ve ever slept on, and delicious meals at Desire! If you’d like to share more about your experience at Desire Bistro & Oyster Bar, their Trip Advisor profile at http://bit.ly/yeAYbQ also welcomes your feedback. Thanks for your recommendations; we hope you’ll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Royal Sonesta was the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at and who would think it would be on Bourban Street. What a great location! You have the convenience of the French Quarter and all it has to offer and then the sophistication of the Royal Sonesta. When you walk in the front door of the hotel, you immediately forget the craziness of Bourban Street. Everyone was really nice and we especially found Darren very helpful. Will definitely be going back to stay there.

Room Tip: We stayed on the club level on the 7th floor would recommend it. A little bit more to pay but wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Amy, thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and for sharing your experience! We’re pleased that you found our location so convenient and something that enhanced your trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you recognizing our friendly team, especially Darin, and we’re couldn’t be happier knowing that you’d definitely stay with us again! Until then…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at Royal Sonesta during the NCAA championship games because our usual hotel picks (Ritz Carlton and Waldorf) were booked. Loved the location. The courtyard and pool areas were beautiful. The room was very very small when compared to the previously mentioned hotels for the price. Nice enough staff but customer service matters when you really need it. With 2 hours to the start of the game and a monsoon occurring in New Orleans.. Not a single staff member attempted to help us get a taxi.Overall the opinion of every staff member I asked was " not our problem.. Walk 1 to 2 blocks that way and maybe you will get lucky" .. We were soaked within half a block and almost missed tip off. We were unsuccessful at getting a taxi. I've never stayed at a hotel that couldn't assist with getting a taxi, even in the French Quarters. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunkissed1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel during the NCCA Final Four games. We appreciate you complimenting our convenient location, courtyard, and pool area, but we’re very disappointed to learn that our team did not meet your expectations, especially in calling you a taxi. We do in fact appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously. Please know we would be delighted to have you reach out to our Director of Hotel Operations, Jay Wiendl at (504) 586-0300 to discuss the challenges and to regain your confidence in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,913 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,256 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,965 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing