We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$483
US$468
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Pavillon Hotel(New Orleans)
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Windsor Court Hotel(New Orleans)
US$903
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$370
US$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mazarin(New Orleans)
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Staybridge Suites New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$746
US$331
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$427
US$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$435
US$255
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,588)
Filter reviews
4,588 results
Traveller rating
2,669
1,258
395
141
125
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,669
1,258
395
141
125
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsr clubjazz clubbourbon streetdesire oyster bardesire restaurantfrench quarterbalcony roompj's coffeebeautiful hoteloysterspeople watchingclub levelthird floormardi grasstreet noisethe location is perfectjackson square
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,643 - 3,648 of 4,588 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was my first trip to New Orleans and the staff at the Royal Sonesta Hotel were very friendly and approachable. From the front desk to the Bellmen to housekeeping, everyone took the time to acknowledge you, ask "How can I help you?" and answered with a smile. My room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The location was right in the middle of Bourbon street so the action was there when you walked out the door. I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed in the Royal Sonesta for the wife and I's 18th anniversary over the Easter Weekend. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. First, the hotel is right on Bourbon street so you are in the center of all of the action. Next, we stayed on their R level floor which offered us a small breakfast in the morning and evening cocktails. The room was very nice and the bed and pillows were exceptionally comfortable. We sat in their jazz playhouse site in the evenings and enjoyed the music. They have a lovely courtyard to relax in and have an outdoor pool which was always filled with guests. We ate in their casual restaurant, Desire, and had some of the biggest and best oysters that we ever had
Best of all was the way that we were treated by the staff who always had a smile on their faces and helped us with everything that we needed. Darin, our concierge, helped with places to go, dinner reservations, and even had our room specially setup on our anniversary night with flowers, candy, etc.
We had an exceptional stay and highly recommend The Royal Sonesta to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuburnBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had a wonderful 3 night stay. The hotel was beautifully located, close to everything and the staff were excellent. Malcolm, the day doorman, was exceptionally helpful and kind. The concierge (Russell) was also very helpful in suggesting things appropriate for our 4 person group. Our rooms were immaculate and had everything you could want. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Royal Sonesta Hotel on Bourbon Street is an absolutely awesome place to stay. The staff was very professional and helpful, from the Registration on down the line. Bellmen, housekeeping, bartenders even the valet was top quality. The hotel is beautifully appointed. Our room was immaculate. Much to our surprise, we opened the French doors expecting a balcony only to find ourselves poolside. It is right in the middle of all the French Quarter action and very easy to get to all of the other New Orleans attractions. The beds were unbelievably comfortable. We did not eat there, but I am sure it would have been as fantastic as the rest of the place. You won't go wrong staying at the Royal Sonesta, everything about the place is fabulous

Room Tip: Parking is a bit of a hassle, however parking anywhere in New Orleans is a pain. Use the valet, it is your best bet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thanks for sharing this feedback of your most recent stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel! We are so pleased that all of our teams and your comfortable poolside accommodations managed to exceed your expectations. And we’re glad that our convenient location in the heart of the French Quarter enhanced your visit to New Orleans. Please come back to see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located right on Bourbon Street, so at the end of the night you have a short walk home. The hotel does a great job controlling non guests entering the hotel.

The location of the hotel is great, the rooms are excellent, and the staff is very friendly.
The pool is located in the inner court yard of the hotel. You have to get there early if you want a deck chair.

I have stayed at the R.S. 5 times and never had a complaint.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen02116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thanks for recognizing how dedicated our team is to our guests, especially our security team. We work very hard to make sure our guests feel safe within the hotel, in the French Quarter, and during big events in the city. And, we’re delighted that our convenient location enhanced your stay in New Orleans. We greatly appreciate your feedback and thank you for your loyalty to the Royal Sonesta over the past five years. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews