We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, jazz club, balcony view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
234 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Location, jazz club, balcony view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

The positives: The staff was helpful and consistent, from check-in to housekeeping. I had a balcony room overlooking Bourbon street and it was very loud in terms of sleeping quality, but the people-watching and the view were very worth it. The French Quarter location of this hotel is prime. On both sides, you have wonderful restaurants, such as Arnaud's (on the Bourbon street side) and Oceana (more casual, on the Conti side). The hotel itself has the Desire Oyster Bar which is quite good for those who like seafood. For me, the Irwin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse housed inside the hotel is its hidden gem. What spectacular music...and the drinks weren't bad either.
The negatives: It was $20 to access the Internet in the business center. I think this sort of thing should be complimentary. I will say the same for the bottled water in the room, which was $6.50 each. There was also no coffee maker in the room. At least you can print your boarding passes for free in the lobby.
Overall: I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. PJ's Coffee Shop has a nice selection of coffee, which is more appreciated with no coffeemaker in the room (and is probably the reason for it). The positives far outweighed the negatives. Next time I probably would try a courtyard room, since the Bourbon Street noise did continue into the wee hours of the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room if you want quiet. The balcony rooms on Bourbon Street are noisy into the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank radiowitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
We’re thrilled that you chose to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel! Thank you for your comments on your stay. We’re sorry the outside noises disturbed you, but thankfully did not ruin your visit. Please know that 80% of our rooms are not on Bourbon Street. We’re glad you enjoyed PJ’s locally roasted coffee, Desire’s fresh Gulf seafood, and the Playhouse’s authentic New Orleans jazz. If you’d like to share more about your experience at the Playhouse or Desire, their Trip Advisor profiles at http://bit.ly/x2jnOA and http://bit.ly/yeAYbQ also welcome your feedback. We greatly appreciate your recommendation, and we’re very excited that you’d stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,204
    1,095
    324
    111
    95
See reviews for
487
1,680
113
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We have stayed here several times while in New Orleans. Our most recent visit was in April 2012 and it was as great as all the previous times. The Hotel is central in the heart of the French Quarter and is walking distance to everything. Although it is an old Hotel is has been rennovated many times and is currently undergoing rennovations in the meetings area. The rooms are very clean and they do not have that old hotel musty feel or smell. The carpets in some of the halls will need to be replaced shortly but all else is fine. The Staff understands what Service means and will go out of their way to accomodate your request. There is a fantastic pool and bar at the pool area. A beautiful French QUarter courtyard with a fountain. This place is a GEM! You cannot find a better place to stay during a New Orleans visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking Bourbon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smervin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans time and time again. We’re very happy to learn that you enjoyed your most recent stay because of our prime location in the middle of the city’s legendary French Quarter, clean accommodations, and a service team that works their hardest to enhance each guest’s experience in New Orleans. Thanks for your loyalty and feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Inside room is key to a pleasant stay. Staff is very helpful. All requests were honored. 2nd floor allows smoking,avoid this floor unless you are a smoker. Rooms are spacious .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreamtNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
It was a pleasure having you stay with us, Andrea, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for recognizing our outstanding team and comfortable accommodations. Please come back to visit us next time you’re visiting New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I was already in New Orleans for a conference and had my husband fly down to meet me after it ended to celebrate my birthday. We had reserved a club level room, which I highly recommend. The room was elegant, clean, and quiet and being on the club level was worth it: Complimentary breakfast, bottled water, chocolates at turndown, fresh flowers in the room, concierge with great dinner recommendations, and much more!

The hotel was very stately, and the staff were friendly and accomodating. It is convently located on Bourbon Street - directly across from Jazz Legends Park with Cafe Beignet and live music daily. Although it can get crowded on that part of Bourbon, it is also accessible from the side streets, so the crowds are avoidable.

Room Tip: The Club Level is worth it! Very quiet, nice complimentary breakfast, free bottled water, free wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
We are so pleased to know that our management team exceeded your expectations so much during the conference you attended at our hotel, that you invited your husband down to extend your stay with him! It just goes to show you that New Orleans offers the best for both business and pleasure. Thank you for your recommendation and for sharing the wonderful experience you had in our R Club Concierge level. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

My wife and I spent one night at the Royal Sonesta on our return trip home from a reunion in Galveston. The hotel has a great location on Bourbon Street, in the center of all the French Quarter activities and attractions. Nearly everything you would want to see is within easy walking distance and when you need a break from all of the action the hotel provides an oasis of quiet in luxurious surrondings. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet ask for a courtyard room. For those wanting to check the action on Bou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for choosing the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans on your way back from Galveston! We greatly appreciate your feedback about our convenient location in the city’s legendary French Quarter where all the world’s best restaurants and entertainment are right out our front door! Please come back to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
192 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Royal Sonesta is a wonderful oasis in the middle of the slightly tacky French Quarter. Much has changed on Bourbon Street since I visited the first time many years ago.

We had a beautiful room (somewhat small) with a shared balcony overlooking the courtyard. You would never know what was just beyond those walls! It was heavenly quiet, clean, cool. The balcony was a great place to sit and read a book with my feet propped up. The staff was great. Desire Restaurant and Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse - - don't miss either! Also good music right across the street at Cafe Beignet.

One single, teeny-tiny complaint/suggestion - - please add in-room coffee/tea maker!!! The coffee shop in the lobby was fine, but I think they would frown if I wore jammies down to get my tea.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrssimptom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
We’re glad you chose to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans on your first visit back after many years. It’s a pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations with how “quiet, clean, and cool” the hotel is, an oasis in the heart of the French Quarter. If you’d like to share more about your experience at the Playhouse or Desire, their Trip Advisor profiles at http://bit.ly/x2jnOA and http://bit.ly/yeAYbQ also welcome your feedback. Don’t’ worry about coming to the PJ’s Coffee Café in your pajamas; PJ’s Coffee is also available through Room Service and in-room coffee makers are available by request! We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We had to wait until after 4:00 before we could get into our room. The service was good. Several at the desk were very helpful. Our room was tiny but comfortable. I think that if a business is in the heart of such a historic place, it should reflect the history in many respects.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mar p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,206 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,819 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,068 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing