We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$243
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$518
US$468
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Pavillon Hotel(New Orleans)
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Windsor Court Hotel(New Orleans)
US$903
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$370
US$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mazarin(New Orleans)
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Staybridge Suites New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$752
US$331
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$427
US$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$435
US$255
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,588)
Filter reviews
4,588 results
Traveller rating
2,669
1,258
395
141
125
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,669
1,258
395
141
125
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsr clubjazz clubbourbon streetdesire oyster bardesire restaurantfrench quarterbalcony roompj's coffeebeautiful hoteloysterspeople watchingclub levelthird floormardi grasstreet noisethe location is perfectjackson square
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,207 - 3,212 of 4,588 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2013

My wife and I just returned from a Fantastic Trp to New Orleans - the accomodations at the Royal Sonesta (right in the French Quarter on Bourbon St) were Top Shelf. The entire Staff at the hotel were so very Welcoming, Friendly and Professional during our entire stay. From the time we checked in until we (regretfully) departed, we were treated wonderfully -Laura at the Front Desk was just Great as was Ashley! Dan, Cheri & Kristin in the R Club were Super ! We took full advantage of their great Oyster Bar (Desire), enjoyed a very delicious meal for our anniversary at their upscale resturant (Revolutions) and were delighted by the sensational Jazz singer Germaine Bazzle in the on-site Irvin Mayfield Jazz Playhouse.
Would definitley stay at the Royal Sonesta the next time we go to New Orleans !!

Room Tip: Try the R Club - great value for the rooms, service & convinience.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveVickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Loved this hotel: great service, comfortable beds, good room layout, great bathroom & conveniently located. Best of all is a whole floor for smoking rooms and a huge balcony for sitting outside with morning coffee...it faced inside rather than Bourbon Street, so was very peaceful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

If you want to live the life and you can keep up with the action then New Orleans is the place to be! Everything about this City is just amazing, the multiple choices of food,the many varied attractions and the super weather plus the night life.And everyone here is so friendly in what must be the most laid back atmosphere anywhere in the U.S.A. All you need to top it off is the comfort and service of a superb hotel and you will find exactly that at the Royal Sonesta. Situated on Bourbon Street right in the centre of the French Quarter you will find first class professional service in every department.The rooms are comfortable and spacious and many overlook the open air swimming pool and pool bar.There is also a pretty courtyard garden, a good coffee shop,the Oyster Bar restaurant and Le Booze bar where you can sit and watch the world go by while sipping your favourite cocktail.All the staff here genuinely believe the customer is king and will bend over backwards to ensure your holiday is an enjoyable one. There is a saying here that" New Orleans calls you back". It certainly does and you will want to return time and again - and you will want to stay at the Royal Sonesta!

Room Tip: Central rooms overlooking the pool are mostly away from the noise in Bourbon Street at night and therefore quiet and peaceful.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronald m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Beautifully maintained old hotel captures the charm and character of the French Quarter. This is the place to stay if you want to experience the New Orleans French quarter culture. Located right in the heart of Bourbon St. Request an inside room if you don't want to hera the party goers all night. Great Jazz bar and restaurant. Extremely helpful concierge drew me a walking map to use view the sights, and recommended Royal House Restaurant, I'm still dreaming about the dinner I had. When visiting N.O. you can stay in another glitzy new hotel chain high rise, but why would you? You can stay in those anytime. In my opinion this is the place to stay. My only regret I was only there for 1 night.

Room Tip: Decide if you want a louder room overlooking Boubon St. or a quieter inside room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

You cannot beat the location of the Royal Sonesta. It is located on the corner of Bienville and Bourbon and extends east to Conti Street. Just one block south is Royal Street where the atomsphere is sophisticated with lovely shops. Leave Bourbon Street, unless you are just wanting to see if you still have that college stamina and stupidity. This place has a stunning lobby, a quiet courtyard and two wonderful restaurants. For breakfast and lunch eat at Desire, where there are excellent examples of souther cuisine and oysters. For elegance have dinner at the Revolution. Both are attached to the hotel. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and the service is par excellence. I like the fact that if you drive, you pull off of the street and park under the hotel, where there is an elevator to take you to the lobby at street level. I would recommend that you get an interior courtyard balcony room, so that you will not hear the noise. It is a beautiful hotel. I loved the service.

Room Tip: Get an interior courtyard room to avoid the street noise.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sooner78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews