We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, visually stimulating hotel smack in the middle of it all!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun, visually stimulating hotel smack in the middle of it all!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed here with my husband for a weekend on business. We arrived very late on a Thursday night (due to never ending air delays) and were buzzed in immediately. Check in was very fast and our room was spotless! While the rooms are a little small, the ambience was so great! We always had hot water and housekeeping arrived each day without fail. I was afraid that being right on Bourbon would mean tons of noise while trying to sleep but we never heard anything. The pool isn't anything out of this world but the water felt great and the bartenders are so friendly, fast and had a great attitude all day. We had great luck and were able to attend a party on the balcony overlooking Bourbon one evening and if you get the chance, I highly recommend it! The bellmen at the front doors are hilarious and get their advice on the best places to go..they were spot on! If you get the chance, go to Desire (connected to the hotel) for breakfast. It's awesome and has the friendliest wait staff. The one downside I would say for this place is that it's very pricey! Rooms are quite expensive, waters in the room are $7, a single Nutrigrain bar was $4, the coffee shop downstairs charge $4 for a soda but just across the street are plenty of stop and go places to grab drinks. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in New Orleans and want to be right in the midst of the action. Fun place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden...we never heard a sound from the action downstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpoiledOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Reading your review really made our day! We are so excited that you chose the Royal Sonesta Hotel on your recent visit to New Orleans and it’s a pleasure knowing that our staff delivered such a great experience. Thank you so much for your review and please remember your fun stay with us when planning future trips to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,203
    1,094
    324
    111
    95
See reviews for
487
1,679
112
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed at the Royal Sonesta over the weekend and I was not impressed. The hotel overall is in need of an overhaul. Once we got up to our room, I noticed an incredible amount of noise coming from the window. After further inspection I realized that the bottom of the window was completely rotted out! There was a massive gap in the window that opens to Bourbon Street. Noise from Bourbon Street, Smells from Bourbon Street and the Room was hot! Not a good combination.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davquigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
We hope to express our sincere apologies for the unsatisfactory room condition you experienced. Please be assured that a full window audit has taken place and we have found all windows to be compliant with our safety and four-diamond standard. The condition of the window was an isolated incident. Please also keep in mind that we will be renovating the hotel in 2014 with the goal of becoming the finest hotel in the area. We hope you decide to stay with us again, as we are confident your next experience will meet or exceed your expectations. Again, we apologize and thank you for taking the time to write and allow us to continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel in July for 3 nights. It was a great location on Bourbon Steer. Had a pool view due to reading other reviews that said the street view was noisy. Room was large and comfortable. Nice pool area and staff was courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lholdeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
What a great way to start our day reading your comments on our pool patio guest rooms! Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback of your stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. We hope that you will come back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

What a great place! Room was great and you can't beat the location. Our room faced the courtyard and was as peaceful as can be. Outside the lobby we stepped right into the middle of the wild and crazy action of Bourbon Street. This hotel has nice restaurants and a jazz club, so if you wanted, you wouldn't have to venture out at all (but why would you do that).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnt Hills, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

My friend and I stayed at this property on Memorial Day weekend, May 2013. We had a beautiful room that had french doors that open up to a balcony overlooking the pool. You are literally right on Bourbon Street so you are right near all of the action. We walked everywhere except for the ride to and from the airport. The pool area gets crowded, but everyone was just in the mood to party.

I felt safe at night as there was a security guard checking to see if you were a guest of the hotel in the lobby before you can get on the elevator.

Desire is a restaurant that is famous in its own right. It is just downstairs from your room and you don't need a reservation! At least we didn't on Memorial Day weekend. Don't miss the shrimp and grits. It was the best dish I had while visiting NO this time around! The oysters were amazing as well.

If you don't like a lot of noise at night avoid the rooms that are right on Bourbon. The action in this town keeps going all night. I would imagine it could be really noisy in those rooms on Bourbon, especially with the rooms having a balcony, but if that is your thing you will love it! Our room was in a courtyard by the pool and we were never disturbed. The beds were so comfortable. I am still thinking of that bed!

We had room service for breakfast three days and each day the food was delightful.

We had a problem while staying there. My friend got ill the evening before we were to leave New Orleans. The hotel management was extremely helpful in keeping her in the same room at the rate she had originally booked the room for an extra night. The staff was very understanding and very accommodating! The customer service was phenomenal.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Great rooms on Bourbon Street with balconies if you are the bead throwing types!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrigetteB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Brigette, we are so happy that you chose to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel this Memorial Day! We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your interior balcony room and your meals at Desire Oyster Bar & Bistro and hotel room service. We take safety and security very seriously here and are glad that you felt safe during your stay. We hope that your friend is feeling better and we wish that you’ll both be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband surprised me with a birthday trip this past weekend to this hotel. He purchased 3 nights with a wagjag, 2 nights just a regular room on the third floor with double doors leading right out to the pool! The third night he purchased the RClub room. We didn't bother changing the rooms, Marcel just gave us the pass to use the lounge for breakfast and drinks at 5. Very nice.
The rooms on the third floor have been renovated which was nice. The bed and pillows were unbelievably comfortable! Check in was easy, with super friendly Marcel.

Every night after dinner and a walk, we headed to Ivan Mayfields, the lounge in the hotel. Friday night was a burlesque show at midnight and the other nights had various bands and singers.

The second night we ate at R'evoloution restaurant in the hotel. Pricey but good. Our last day we ate at Desire in the hotel. Lunch was a dozen oysters (huge), crab cakes and creole gumbo to share.

I would highly recommend this hotel. It best part was coming in from the super hot day and heading to the pool. Saturday was crowded by the pool but Sunday was nice.

Enjoy!

Laura

Room Tip: We were on the third floor overlooking the pool and we did not hear any noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buxomeblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Laura, happy belated birthday! We are honored that your husband chose the Royal Sonesta Hotel for your special birthday celebration and that you both thoroughly enjoyed an authentic New Orleans experience all within our doors. Please come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
covington, tn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Everyone, from the front desk to the cleaning service personnel, was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well maintained. Conveniently located for walking through the Quarter. Even the cab drivers were friendly! We took the train from Memphis and took a cab to the hotel. Cab ride was about $10. The check in was fast. From the time we walked into the hotel to the time we were in the room was no more than 15 minutes.Loved the place! Will definitely stay there when we go back to NOLA!

Room Tip: Best rooms are 2113 to 2117. They open onto a large 2nd floor patio overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Chuck, thank you so much for staying with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel on your visit from Covington by way of Memphis. We’re so pleased that our courteous staff made you feel so welcome and that your check in was efficient. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,203 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,815 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,065 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing